1 Comment
V8SC 2013 Round 2: Brad Jones Racing Cleans Up At Symmons Plains Photo:
2013_v8sc_symmons_plains_00a Photo: tmr
2013_v8sc_symmons_plains_00f Photo: tmr
2013_v8sc_symmons_plains_00i Photo: tmr
2013_v8sc_symmons_plains_00h Photo: tmr
2013_v8sc_symmons_plains_00c Photo: tmr
2013_v8sc_symmons_plains_00m Photo: tmr
2013_v8sc_symmons_plains_01 Photo: tmr
2013_v8sc_symmons_plains_00g Photo: tmr
2013_v8sc_symmons_plains_00k Photo: tmr
2013_v8sc_symmons_plains_00o Photo: tmr
2013_v8sc_symmons_plains_00b Photo: tmr
2013_v8sc_symmons_plains_00d Photo: tmr
2013_v8sc_symmons_plains_00n Photo: tmr
2013_v8sc_symmons_plains_00e Photo: tmr
2013_v8sc_symmons_plains_00j Photo: tmr
2013_v8sc_symmons_plains_00l Photo: tmr
Malcolm Flynn | Apr, 08 2013 | 1 Comment

Brad Jones Racing drivers Fabian Coulthard and Jason Bright have built on the team’s success in Melbourne by taking out all three Symmons Plains championship races at the weekend.

Coulthard won the Saturday race (championship Race 3) ahead of Triple Eight’s Jamie Whincup, after starting behind pole-sitter Whincup on the grid.

Ford Performance Racing’s Mark Winterbottom rounded off the podium, ahead of Bright in an impressive fourth place for the Albury-based team.

Saturday’s race introduced a new race format to the V8 Supercar formula, comprising two 60km sprint races, with a 15 minute service break and double-file restart in between.

The two Sunday races (championship Race 4 and 5) were both 100km races, and included individual qualifying sessions.

Bright won the first Sunday race from pole, leading each of the race’s 42 laps to be joined by the Holden Racing Team’s Garth Tander and Coulthard on the podium.

David Reynolds was forced into the Turn 4 armco on the second lap as Michael Caruso, David Wall and he attempted to exit the corner three-abreast, with the resulting damage ending the races of Reynolds and Wall.

Reynold’s FPR crew impressively managed to repair the car in time for the second Sunday race, but finished 24th after a mechanical black flag to fix minor damage.

In the final race (Race 5 of the championship), Coulthard narrowly pipped Winterbottom at the chequered flag, ahead of the Holden Racing Team’s James Courtney.

This race was marred by a huge crash involving Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport driver Scott Pye, who collided head-on with an armco barrier at Turn 2 after brake failure.

The main-game rookie sustained a fractured wrist in the incident, and the significant damage to his Holden racer will rule it out of competition at next week’s Pukekohe round in New Zealand.

After the safety car period brought on by this incident, a ten lap dash to the finish remained for the pole-starting Winterbottom and Coulthard, which included an ambitious overtake by Coulthard at the Turn 4 hairpin.

The best ‘new manufacturer’ result of the weekend belonged to Lee Holdsworth’s Erebus Racing AMG Mercedes-Benz E 63, finishing an impressive 13th in the final race.

His teammates Tim Slade and Maro Engel’s best results were 18th and 23rd in the same race, with all three cars battling for pace on top of several minor incidents.

James Moffatt’s 15th placing in the first of the Sunday races was the best Nissan result, after he and Todd Kelly both required engine swaps after failures in the Saturday race.

Todd Kelly retired with further engine trouble in the final Sunday race, which could leave the team with a shortage of spare engines for next week’s Pukekohe round.

Whincup’s second, fourth, and fifth placings proved enough to push him to the top of the championship standings, some 63 points ahead of Will Davison, and James Courtney a further 52 points behind.

Craig Lowndes finished the Saturday race in 26th after an early puncture and gearbox troubles, and despite fighting back to record tenth and 11th placings in the Sunday races, he now sits one point behind Courtney in the championship standings.

The 2013 V8 Supercar Championship will continue in just one week, with the ITM 400 Auckland round at Pukekohe in New Zealand.


Top Ten V8SC Race 3 Results - Symmons Plains

  1. Fabian Coulthard
  2. Jamie Whincup
  3. Mark Winterbottom
  4. Jason Bright
  5. Garth Tander
  6. Will Davison
  7. Shane Van Gisbergen
  8. Scott McLaughlin
  9. James Courtney
  10. Jonathon Webb

Top Ten V8SC Race 4 Results - Symmons Plains

  1. Jason Bright
  2. Garth Tander
  3. Fabian Coulthard
  4. Jamie Whincup
  5. Will Davison
  6. Mark Winterbottom
  7. James Courtney
  8. Scott McLaughlin
  9. Dean Fiore
  10. Craig Lowndes

Top Ten V8SC Race 5 Results - Symmons Plains

  1. Fabian Coulthard
  2. Mark Winterbottom
  3. James Courtney
  4. Jason Bright
  5. Jamie Whincup
  6. Will Davison
  7. Jonathon Webb
  8. Scott McLaughlin
  9. Shane Van Gisbergen
  10. Garth Tander

Top Ten V8SC Points Standings - After Symmons Plains

  1. Jamie Whincup 513
  2. Will Davison 450
  3. James Courtney 398
  4. Craig Lowndes 397
  5. Scott McLaughlin 366
  6. Mark Winterbottom 357
  7. Fabian Coulthard 334
  8. Jonathon Webb 332
  9. Shane Van Gisbergen 316
  10. Garth Tander 314

TMR Comments
Latest Comments
The size of your tyre is located on the sidewall of your tyre.
It will be similar to the sample below.