V8SC: Volvo Celebrates First Australian Touring Car Win In 17 Years Photo:
2014_volvo_s60_polestar_06 Photo: tmr
2014_volvo_s60_v8_supercar_01 Photo: tmr
2014_volvo_s60_polestar_13 Photo: tmr
2014_aus_f1_gp_v8supercar_volvo_victory_01 Photo: tmr
2014_volvo_s60_polestar_03 Photo: tmr
2014_volvo_s60_polestar_08 Photo: tmr
2014_volvo_s60_polestar_10 Photo: tmr
2014_volvo_s60_v8_supercar_05 Photo: tmr
2014_volvo_s60_polestar_01 Photo: tmr
2014_volvo_s60_polestar_05 Photo: tmr
2014_volvo_s60_polestar_12 Photo: tmr
2014_volvo_s60_v8_supercar_04 Photo: tmr
2014_volvo_s60_polestar_07 Photo: tmr
2014_volvo_s60_polestar_09 Photo: tmr
2014_volvo_s60_v8_supercar_03 Photo: tmr
2014_clipsal_500_adelaide_volvo_01 Photo: tmr
2014_volvo_s60_polestar_02 Photo: tmr
2014_volvo_s60_polestar_11 Photo: tmr
2014_volvo_s60_v8_supercar_02 Photo: tmr
2014_aus_f1_gp_v8supercar_volvo_victory_02 Photo: tmr
2014_volvo_s60_polestar_04 Photo: tmr
Trevor Collett | Mar, 16 2014 | 13 Comments

Volvo Polestar Racing has given Volvo its first Australian Touring Car win in 17 years, with victory in Sunday’s V8 Supercar support race at the Australian Formula 1 Grand Prix.

Kiwi driver Scott McLaughlin crossed the line 1.1 seconds ahead of Craig Lowndes’ Red Bull Holden Commodore, with Michael Caruso’s Nissan Altima finishing third.

The non-championship race victory comes two weeks after the S60 Polestar racer finished second in Race Two at the season-opening Clipsal 500 in Adelaide.

McLaughlin said he expects a degree of backlash from the fans, as the Volvo team continue to develop their race package.

"There is always going to be haters but bring it on," McLaughlin said.

"I am driving the thing as hard as I can and that's what happens; we are going good. There's always going to be doubters.”

Holden Racing Team drivers Garth Tander and James Courtney finished fourth and eight respectively, while Fabian Coultard rounded-out the top five for Lockwood Racing.

All of V8 Supercar racing’s five manufacturers were represented in the top ten for Race Four.

Fellow Kiwi Shane van Gisbergen dominated the race weekend, winning the first three races before a broken roll bar saw him finish 14th in the fourth race.

Round Two of the 2014 V8 Supercar Championship will be held at Tasmania’s Symmons Plains Raceway, from March 28-30.

TMR Comments
Latest Comments
The size of your tyre is located on the sidewall of your tyre.
It will be similar to the sample below.