V8SC: Davison Takes First Bathurst 1000 Pole Photo:
Malcolm Flynn | Oct, 07 2012 | 0 Comments

Will Davison’s Falcon will start at the front of the grid for tomorrow’s 50th running of the Bathurst 1000, posting a 2:08.0693 qualifying time in a challenging Top Ten Shootout at the Mount Panorama circuit.

The FPR driver will be joined on the front row by the Commodore of championship leader Jamie Whincup, who set a time just three hundredths of a second behind Davison.

Whincup’s lap was the last of the session, and looked set to pip Davison with faster first and second sector times, but lost ground in the run to the finish.

The grid’s second row will be occupied by the Falcons of Shane Van Gisbergen and Mark Winterbottom, with Coulthard, Tander, Reynolds, Lowndes and Owen rounding out the top ten positions.

Davison’s pole-setting lap was more than three tenths of a second behind Whincup’s Friday qualifying time, after a classic Bathurst weather change in the leadup to the session.

Earlier sunshine and favourable track temperature made way for a significant temperature drop and looming cloud cover, threatening havoc for the shootout.

Fortunately the session remained dry, but the falling track temperature resulted in all drivers posting slower times than the Friday qualifying session.

Further cool weather is forecast for the 161 lap race tomorrow, but predicted sunshine should make for consistent racing during the milestone event.

TMR will bring you updates live from the track via Twitter, plus a full wrapup after the race.


Qualifying Results

1 Will Davison Ford Falcon FG 2:08.0693
2 Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE2 2:08.1008 0:00.0315
3 Shane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG 2:08.1391 0:00.0698
4 Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 2:08.1963 0:00.1270
5 Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE2 2:08.3385 0:00.2692
6 Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE2 2:08.4755 0:00.4062
7 Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG 2:08.5995 0:00.5302
8 David Reynolds Ford Falcon FG 2:08.6221 0:00.5528
9 Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE2 2:09.0997 0:01.0304
10 Steve Owen Ford Falcon FG 2:10.0723 0:02.0030

Top Ten V8 Supercar Championship Points Standings

  1. Jamie Whincup, 2472 pts.
  2. Mark Winterbottom, 2440 pts.
  3. Craig Lowndes, 2353 pts.
  4. Will Davison, 2236 pts.
  5. Shane Van Gisbergen, 1882 pts.
  6. Garth Tander, 1764 pts.
  7. Tim Slade, 1662 pts.
  8. Fabian Coulthard, 1541 pts.
  9. Lee Holdsworth, 1449 pts.
  10. David Reynolds, 1404 pts.

Links contained in this article
TMR Comments
Latest Comments
The size of your tyre is located on the sidewall of your tyre.
It will be similar to the sample below.