V8SC 2012 Round 7: Whincup Still On Top After Townsville Clean Sweep Photo:
v8sc_2012_round_7_townsville_06_whincup Photo: tmr
v8sc_2012_round_7_townsville_19_supercheap Photo: tmr
v8sc_2012_round_7_townsville_07_whincup Photo: tmr
v8sc_2012_round_7_townsville_16_supercheap Photo: tmr
v8sc_2012_round_7_townsville_18_supercheap Photo: tmr
v8sc_2012_round_7_townsville_03_whincup Photo: tmr
v8sc_2012_round_7_townsville_15 Photo: tmr
v8sc_2012_round_7_townsville_17_supercheap Photo: tmr
v8sc_2012_round_7_townsville_05_whincup Photo: tmr
v8sc_2012_round_7_townsville_14_supercheap Photo: tmr
v8sc_2012_round_7_townsville_11_winterbottom Photo: tmr
v8sc_2012_round_7_townsville_02_whincup Photo: tmr
v8sc_2012_round_7_townsville_09_winterbottom Photo: tmr
v8sc_2012_round_7_townsville_08_lowndes Photo: tmr
v8sc_2012_round_7_townsville_10_winterbottom Photo: tmr
v8sc_2012_round_7_townsville_01_whincup Photo: tmr
v8sc_2012_round_7_townsville_13_winterbottom Photo: tmr
v8sc_2012_round_7_townsville_04_whincup Photo: tmr
v8sc_2012_round_7_townsville_12_winterbottom Photo: tmr
Malcolm Flynn | Jul, 09 2012 | 0 Comments

Jamie Whincup has extended his lead in the 2012 V8 Supercar Championship, after taking out both Round 7 races in Townsville at the weekend.

Former leader Will Davison has now slipped to third position in the championship behind FPR teammate Mark Winterbottom, after a twelfth place result in the Saturday race being somewhat balanced by a credible third place on Sunday.

Winterbottom eclipsed Davison’s championship tally after finishing second on Saturday, and holds onto this despite a fifth placing on Sunday.

Despite the lack of outright race results, FPR were the team to beat in qualifying, with Winterbottom and David Reynolds sharing the front row for both races.

Reynolds’ Sunday qualifying pole was a career-first for the 27-year-old driver, and came as no surprise after four front-row appearances in the preceding five races.

This qualifying success failed to guarantee finishing results however, with a lack of race pace and a Sunday pit delay contributing to sixth results in both races.

Craig Lowndes was disadvantaged in the Saturday race when he was forced to queue in pit lane behind Whincup during his second stop, but the perennial crowd favourite recovered more than 15 positions to finish a credible fifth place.

Lowndes’ determination continued in the Sunday race, working his way from fifth on the grid to lead Whincup (who’d qualified ninth) for much of the race, ultimately losing the top podium spot through an unintended activation of his pit lane speed-limiter.

The VIP Petfoods Racing Falcon of Steve Owen exploited a regulatory loophole during the Saturday race, which saw the car fitted a unique combination of hard and soft compound tyres.

This combination helped Owen achieve unprecedented pace, and looked set for a podium finish until a failed shock absorber caused him to fall back to seventh position.

V8 Supercars officials amended the rules for the Sunday race to prohibit further combination of tyre compounds.

Townsville also marked the V8 Supercars return of former Formula One World Champion Jacques Villeneuve, who was this round’s guest driver in Greg Murphy’s Kelly Racing Commodore - with Murphy still recovering from back surgery.

Despite having co-driven at the Gold Coast round in 2010, Villeneuve struggled at the unfamiliar Townsville circuit - retiring with engine problems in the Saturday race, and finishing a lap down in 24th position on the Sunday.

In a rare occurrence for modern motorsport, the Sunday race remained uninterrupted by the Safety Car for the first 59 (of 72) laps, treating spectators to racing that was only hindered by the obligatory pit stops.

Whincup’s dual victories see him now leading Winterbottom in the championship by 100 points, with Will Davison a further 40 points behind.

Lowndes retains his fourth rung on the ladder, though now trailing Whincup by 298 points.

TeamVodafone cars have now won six races this year, and currently four in succession.

The 2012 V8 Supercars Championship will continue at Queensland Raceway in one month’s time.


2012 Championship Standings

1 Jamie Whincup 1794
2 Mark Winterbottom 1694
3 Will Davison 1654
4 Craig Lowndes 1496
5 Shane Van Gisbergen 1280
6 Garth Tander 1239
7 Lee Holdsworth 1190
8 Tim Slade 1170
9 Fabian Coulthard 1030
10 David Reynolds 951
11 Todd Kelly 885
12 Jason Bright 882
13 James Courtney 866
14 Rick Kelly 844
15 Steven Johnson 815
16 Michael Caruso 810
17 Jonathon Webb 808
18 Steve Owen 742
19 Michael Patrizi 727
20 Russell Ingall 704
21 Dean Fiore 659
22 Tony D’Alberto 641
23 Taz Douglas 518
24 Karl Reindler 479
25 David Wall 454
26 Alexandre Premat 448
27 James Moffat 446
28 Greg Murphy 315
29 David Russell 42

Links contained in this article
TMR Comments
Latest Comments
The size of your tyre is located on the sidewall of your tyre.
It will be similar to the sample below.