V8SC 2012 Round 12: Davison Ends 888’s 11-Race Streak Photo:
Malcolm Flynn | Oct, 22 2012 | 0 Comments

Will Davison has reversed his run of recent misfortune by taking out Race 23 with co-driver Mika Salo, following a typically eventful Gold Coast 600 round in Surfers Paradise this weekend.

The round’s unique international co-driver policy added a further challenge for teams, in addition to the traditionally damage-heavy Gold Coast circuit.

Controversy also surrounded the circuit’s notorious chicanes, with significantly enlarged apex kerbs splitting opinion among the drivers and shaping the results of many cars.

Saturday’s Race 22 was taken out by Jamie Whincup and Sebastien Bourdais, ahead of Jonathon Webb/Marc Lieb and Winterbottom/Power after a shortened 79 lap race.

The Saturday race was shortened 23 laps by officials after start-line incidents prompted two red flag delays, which saw the cars of Tony D’Alberto/Tonio Liuzzi, Karl Reindler/Franck Montagny and Greg Ritter/Ricky Taylor unable to be repaired for the Sunday race.

Michael Patrizi’s Tekno Holden also failed to start the final race after crashing heavily during the Sunday morning qualifying session.

Whincup qualified on pole for both races, but was pipped by Davison/Salo’s FPR Ford by just 0.5 seconds after 102 laps on the Sunday.

Davison/Salo’s Sunday win ended TeamVodafone’s 11-race winning streak, with the second Triple Eight car of Craig Lowndes and Richard Lyons finishing sixth in both races.

The FPR Falcon of Mark Winterbottom and Will Power finished third in both races, with the consistent podiums returning Winterbottom to second place in the championship - displacing Lowndes after just one round.

Winterbottom now trails championship leader Whincup by 218 points, but sits 27 points ahead of Lowndes.

The 2012 V8 Supercar Championship will continue in two weeks, supporting the 2012 Abu Dhabi F1 round at the Yas Marina circuit.

Related News:


Top Ten V8SC Series Race 23 results - Gold Coast 600

  1. W.Davison/M.Salo
  2. J.Whincup/S.Bourdais
  3. M.Winterbottom/W.Power
  4. T.Slade/D.Brabham
  5. G.Tander/R.Briscoe
  6. C.Lowndes/R.Lyons
  7. R.Ingall/P.Dumbreck
  8. L.Holdsworth/S.Pagenaud
  9. S.Van Gisbergen/J.Bleekemolen
  10. F.Coulthard/N.Minassian

Top Ten V8SC Points Standings

  1. Jamie Whincup 3060
  2. Mark Winterbottom 2842
  3. Craig Lowndes 2815
  4. Will Davison 2503
  5. Shane Van Gisbergen 2182
  6. Tim Slade 2085
  7. Garth Tander 2030
  8. David Reynolds 1746
  9. James Courtney 1725
  10. Lee Holdsworth 1719

TMR Comments
Latest Comments