Subaru Gets Top Marks In IIHS Collision Avoidance Tests, Euro NCAP To Come Photo:
subaru_eyesight_liberty_outback_01 Photo: tmr
subaru_eyesight_liberty_outback_02 Photo: tmr
TMR Team | Sep, 30 2013 | 2 Comments

Subaru has beaten out 73 rivals in a series of new collision-avoidance tests conducted by the US Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS).

The Institute, America's equivalent to the Australasian New Car Assessment Program (ANCAP), announced the results this week.

The new tests will factor in the safety ratings given to all new models sold in the US, replacing a program that, as it does in Australia, rates whether various pre-collision systems are installed - but not how well they perform in tests.

The Institute's European counterpart (and 'sister' program to the local ANCAP), Euro NCAP, has also confirmed it will announce the results of its own new collision avoidance tests on October 29.

In both programs, the collision avoidance systems of new cars are tested against a rapidly decelerating and then braking vehicle - revealed in the below as a mockup of a small SUV.

The top-scoring technology in the IIHS tests was Subaru's Eyesight system, featured in the Liberty and Outback, and available in Australia.

The tests saw the Eyesight system achieve the highest possible score of six points - the only tested model to do so.

Other high achievers - all achieving the same 'Superior' rating - fitted with auto-brake and forward collision warning systems were the Cadillac ATS sedan and SRX SUV, Mercedes-Benz C-Class, Volvo S60 sedan and XC60 SUV.

The Superior rating is given to vehicles that have an autobraking system, such as EyeSight or Volvo's City Safety - and can avoid a crash or substantially reduce speeds in both tests.

A handful of other models achieved the one-step down score of 'Advanced', including the Acura MDX SUV, Audi A4 sedan and Q5 SUV, Jeep Grand Cherokee SUV, Lexus ES sedan and the Mazda6 sedan.

Advanced rating applies to vehicles with autobrake that can avoid a crash or reduce speeds by at least 8 km/h in one of two tests.

A further 25 models achieved scores of 'Basic', and the remaining 36 models - all forming part of the latest regular IIHS safety tests - were not equipped with relevant systems.

Basic rating is for vehicles with a forward collision warning system that meets U.S. National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) performance criteria.

In 2014, carmakers hoping to achieve a Top Safety Pick Plus award will need to offer a front crash avoidance system that has earned at least a Basic rating.

TMR Comments
Latest Comments