V8SC: Nissan Claims First Australian One-Two Finish In 21 Years - Video Photo:
360_rear_3_4_left Photo: tmr
1a_nissanmotorsport_group_crop Photo: tmr
nissan_v8sc_2013_winton_02 Photo: tmr
1a_nissanmotorsport_group Photo: tmr
360_front Photo: tmr
360_norton_team_front_1 Photo: tmr
2013 Norton 360 Nissan Altima V8 Supercar Photo:
7_jack_3_4_front Photo: tmr
nissan_v8sc_2013_winton_01 Photo: tmr
360_front_3_4_left Photo: tmr
360_norton_team_fr_1 Photo: tmr
michaelcaruso_36 Photo: tmr
rickkelly_15 Photo: tmr
nissan_v8sc_2013_winton_05 Photo: tmr
360_norton_profile_left Photo: tmr
360_norton_team_front Photo: tmr
jamesmoffat_360 Photo: tmr
toddkelly_7 Photo: tmr
nissan_v8sc_2013_winton_04 Photo: tmr
360_front_3_4_high Photo: tmr
360_norton_team_front_2 Photo: tmr
7_front_jack Photo: tmr
nissan_v8sc_2013_winton_03 Photo: tmr
360_norton_rear Photo: tmr
Trevor Collett | Aug, 26 2013 | 8 Comments

Nissan has claimed its first one-two finish in Australian touring car racing since the days of the all-conquering ‘Godzilla’ Nissan GT-R.

James Moffat and Michael Caruso led the field home in Race 25 of the V8 Supercars Championship at Winton Raceway in Victoria on Saturday, which also marked the Nissan Altima’s first win in the series.

The last one-two finish for Nissan in Australia was achieved by Mark Skaife and Jim Richards at Oran Park Raceway (which is now a housing estate, sadly) in 1992.

It was Jamie Whincup who initially led the 40-lap race - split into two 20-lap sprints under the 60/60 Super Sprint format - in his Red Bull Racing Holden Commodore, only to retire with mechanical dramas.

Moffat led all of the 20-lap second race stanza.

“I’ve worked hard to get to this point in my career and to breakthrough for my first win means a lot,” Moffat said.

“Naturally, if we were going to go well at any circuit, this was the one. It’s our test track, and I was very happy with the way we ended our test day, but I wasn’t getting carried away, because we know how finicky this track can be.”

Race 26: None of the four Nissan drivers could repeat the brilliance of race 25 on Sunday, with Moffat being the best placed driver in eleventh. Team Nissan brothers Todd and Rick Kelly were 14th and 21st respectively, while Caruso failed to finish.

The race was won by Ford Performance Racing’s Mark Winterbottom, followed by Jason Bright and James Courtney in Holden VF Commodores.

Race 27: Moffat lifted the team to eighth in race 27, but it was a miserable event for the remaining three Nissan drivers, with Todd Kelly, Rick Kelly and Caruso all failing to finish.

James Courtney won the race in his Holden Racing Team Commodore, with Fabian Coulthard bringing his Commodore home second and Chaz Mostert third for Ford.


1. Jamie Whincup, Holden Commodore, 1847
2. Craig Lowndes, Holden Commodore, 1800
3. Will Davison, Ford Falcon, 1792
4. Mark Winterbottom, Ford Falcon, 1777
5. Fabian Coulthard, Holden Commodore, 1709
6. James Courtney, Holden Commodore, 1687
7. Jason Bright, Holden Commodore, 1649
8. Shane Van Gisbergen, Holden Commodore, 1632
9. Garth Tander, Holden Commodore, 1602
10. Scott McLaughlin, Holden Commodore, 1318
13. James Moffat, Nissan Altima, 1155
22. Michael Caruso, Nissan Altima, 809

TMR Comments
Latest Comments
The size of your tyre is located on the sidewall of your tyre.
It will be similar to the sample below.