First Formula E Series Concludes, Piquet Junior Champion Photo:
2014_15_formula_e_championship_london_09 Photo: tmr
2014_15_formula_e_championship_london_05 Photo: tmr
2014_15_formula_e_championship_london_02 Photo: tmr
2014_15_formula_e_championship_london_11 Photo: tmr
2014_15_formula_e_championship_london_06 Photo: tmr
2014_15_formula_e_championship_london_10 Photo: tmr
2014_15_formula_e_championship_london_03 Photo: tmr
2014_15_formula_e_championship_london_08 Photo: tmr
2014_15_formula_e_championship_london_04 Photo: tmr
2014_15_formula_e_championship_london_01_1 Photo: tmr
2014_15_formula_e_championship_london_12 Photo: tmr
2014_15_formula_e_championship_london_07 Photo: tmr
Trevor Collett | Jun, 30 2015 | 0 Comments

The inaugural FIA Formula E Championship has reached its conclusion, following the final two races at the London ‘ePrix’ over the weekend.

First announced in 2012, Formula E was designed as a preview of what could become the future of motorsport using all-electric race cars, and its first season has been declared a success by organisers and fans.

The series has featured some well-known drivers, with Sebastien Buemi, Jean-Eric Vergne, Nicolas Prost and Bruno Senna among the names taking part in the last two races, along with points-leader Nelson Piquet Junior.

Buemi took the chequered flag after 29 laps around the Battersea Park circuit to win the first race and Round 10 of the series, with Jerome d'Ambrosio and Vergne filing the other two steps on the podium.

Piquet was fifth as he looked to consolidate his points lead following a last-start win at Round 9 in Moscow, while Prost’s seventh place was enough to clinch the team championship for ‘e.dams-Renault’ with the final race still remaining.

Buemi’s win narrowed the points-gap to Piquet, putting Buemi just five points behind but the two combatants started ten spots apart on the grid for Round 11. Buemi was sixth on the grid, and Piquet started from a lowly sixteenth.

Piquet charged through the field in the early laps of Round 11, and a neat first stint saw him exit the pits in tenth following a stop.

After progressing to eighth position, Piquet only needed to hold on upon learning that rival Buemi had spun and given up his place to Senna. Buemi and Senna collided during a thrilling last lap, but Senna crossed the line first and Buemi lost the championship by one point.

The Round 11 race win went to Sam Bird, who was followed home by d'Ambrosio, Loic Duval, Senna, Buemi, Lucas di Grassi and inaugural champion Piquet in seventh.

The 2015/16 calendar has yet to be finalised, but expect another start around September as per the just-completed first season.

MORE: Formula E Teams Take Deliver-E
MORE News & Reviews:
Formula E | Racing | EV


Final Standings - 2014/15 FIA Formula E Championship

  1. Nelson Piquet - 144 points
  2. Sébastien Buemi - 143
  3. Lucas di Grassi - 133
  4. Jerome D'Ambrosio - 113
  5. Sam Bird - 103
TMR Comments
Latest Comments
The size of your tyre is located on the sidewall of your tyre.
It will be similar to the sample below.