1 Comment
Electric Car Breaks Through For First Pikes Peak Win, Driven By Rhys Millen Photo:
2015_pikes_peak_hill_climb_01_1 Photo: tmr
2015_pikes_peak_hill_climb_04 Photo: tmr
2015_pikes_peak_hill_climb_07 Photo: tmr
2015_pikes_peak_hill_climb_05 Photo: tmr
2015_pikes_peak_hill_climb_03 Photo: tmr
2015_pikes_peak_hill_climb_02 Photo: tmr
Trevor Collett | Jun, 30 2015 | 1 Comment

After trying for a number of years, an electric vehicle has broken through to win the Pikes Peak International Hill Climb.

This year's race was won by veteran hillclimber Rhys Millen, the Drive eO PP03 (no, that's not a typo) racer set a new record for electric cars of 9m07.222s, with Millen leading home another electric-powered entrant in second.

That spot was claimed by Pikes Peak stalwart Nobuhiro "Monster" Tajima, who completed the course in his e-Runner concept around 25 seconds slower than Millen with a time of 9m32.401s.

Close behind in third place was the first petrol-powered entrant, a PVA open-wheel special driven by Paul Dallenbach in a time of 9m36.496s.

This time set a new benchmark for open-wheeler entrants, and put Dallenbach ahead of Time Attack 1 class winner Jeff Zwart’s Porsche in fourth.

While EV racers claimed the top two steps on the podium, the winning time was an age away from Sebastian Loeb's record run of 8m13.878s in the 208 T16 of 2013 and the next EV to finish was the winner of the Electric Modified Bike class - Yoshihiro Kishimoto - in 29th overall.

The fastest bike overall was a Honda CBR 1000 ridden by Jeffrey Tigert, which finished in seventh place in a time of 10m02.735s (the first entrant slower than ten minutes).

Other class winners included Dominic Dobson in a Radical SR8 in the Unlimited Class, who finished eight with a time of 10m15.289s, and Codie Vahsholtz in the Lightweight Class with a time of 10m50.421s (24th overall).

Mitsubishi went close to claiming the first win for an EV in last year’s event, but its MiEV Evolution III could only manage second in its class.

This year saw the Pikes Peak hill climb run for the 99th time, and more than 40,000 spectators were trackside to witness the event.

MORE: First Formula E Series Concludes, Piquet Junior Champion
Racing | Pikes Peak | EV

TMR Comments

Finance Calculator

Repayment is : $

Latest Comments
The size of your tyre is located on the sidewall of your tyre.
It will be similar to the sample below.