Australian Motorsport Hall Of Fame Launched With First 30 Inductees Photo:

Sell your car without the hassle.
Get an instant offer from areyouselling. FIND OUT MORE

Trevor Collett | Mar, 24 2016 | 2 Comments

Australian motorsport has a new honour roll designed to recognise the sport’s greatest stars in all of its forms on both two and four (or more) wheels.

Launched to coincide with the 2016 Australian Formula 1 Grand Prix, the Australian Motorsport Hall Of Fame has seen its first 30 inductees honoured during a black-tie ceremony.

Fans who may have confused the new Hall Of Fame with the existing V8 Supercars Hall Of Fame (established in 1999) will soon spot the differences, although several names will inevitably appear in both lists.

Among those names, naturally, is the ‘King Of The Mountain’, Peter Brock, and the man who gave Brock his first start in the Great Race at Mount Panorama - Harry Firth (pictured, top of page).

Brock’s teammate on several occasions, Colin Bond, also appears in both lists, as does Dick Johnson, Allan Moffat and Bob Jane.

Fans both old and new will easily recognise several of the other inductees, including World Driver’s Champions, the late Sir Jack Brabham and Alan Jones, rally ace Ross Dunkerton, Redex legend ‘Gelignite’ Jack Murray and, flying the flag for the current generation, James Courtney - who was recognised for his karting achievements.

Sir Jack Brabham and Alan Jones
Sir Jack Brabham and Alan Jones

Inductees Lionel Van Praag, Jack Young and Jason Crump were recognised for Australian motorcycle speedway racing, while Garry Rush represents speedway on four wheels.

Mark Burrows was recognised for off-road racing, and Ash Marshall was inducted for his drag racing successes.

The remaining four-wheel members included Norm ‘Wizard’ Smith, Ray Revell, Frank Matich, engineer Phil Irving and Donald ‘DKT’ Kingsley Thompson for services to motorsport administration.

On two wheels, World Champions Wayne Gardner, Mick Doohan, Casey Stoner, Troy Bayliss and Kel Carruthers were all inducted.

Motocross riders Jeff Leisk and Stephen Gall were recognised, as was Gregg Hansford, with his achievements on two wheels prioritised over his four-wheel racing.

MORE: NRMA Celebrates 90 Years With Museum Exhibition
MORE News & Reviews:
Racing | History | Awards

TMR Comments
Latest Comments