Audi R18 e-tron quattro On Pole At Le Mans Photo:
audi_r18_e_tron_quattro_kers_hybrid_racer_03a Photo: tmr
audi_r18_e_tron_quattro_kers_hybrid_racer_04 Photo: tmr
audi_r18_le_mans_2012_victory Photo: tmr
audi_r18_e_tron_quattro_kers_hybrid_racer_01 Photo: tmr
audi_r18_e_tron_quattro_kers_hybrid_racer_06 Photo: tmr
audi_r18_e_tron_quattro_kers_hybrid_racer_02 Photo: tmr
audi_r18_e_tron_quattro_kers_hybrid_racer_07 Photo: tmr
audi_r18_e_tron_quattro_kers_hybrid_racer_03b Photo: tmr
audi_r18_e_tron_quattro_kers_hybrid_racer_05 Photo: tmr
audi_r18_e_tron_quattro_kers_hybrid_racer_03c Photo: tmr
audi_r18_e_tron_quattro_kers_hybrid_racer_03 Photo: tmr
Peter Anderson | Jun, 15 2012 | 0 Comments

2011 Le Mans winning driver Andre Lotterer secured pole position for the Audi R18 e-tron quattro. The #1 Audi is the first hybrid to take pole at the prestigious event.

Lotterer drove the pole lap, setting a superb 3m23.787s.

The German and his winning co-drivers from last year will head the field, with another Audi R18, this time the lightweight Ultra, sharing the front row.

Returning entrant Toyota claimed third place, with its trio of ex-F1 drivers of Antony Davidson, Sebastien Buemi and Stephan Sarrazin.

The next three places on the grid are filled by another e-tron Audi (Capello, Kristensen and McNish), the second Toyota (Wurz, Lapierre and Nakajima) and the second Audi Ultra (Bonanomi, Jarvis, Rockenfeller).

The curiosity of the field, the Nissan-powered DeltaWing, qualified 23rd, despite a hiccup in Wednesday night's qualifying when driver Michael Krumm hit the kerbs a little too hard, sending the fire extinguisher into the electrics.

The DeltaWing crew qualified well within the times of LMP2 cars and ahead of of the entire GTE class, dominated by Astons, Ferraris and Corvettes.

In that class, AF Corse managed to return the #51 Ferrari to the track 30 minutes from the end of the session to qualify 49th. Giancarlo Fisichella had crashed the car at the Porsche curves on Wednesday, the impact destroying the chassis.

The race will begin at 11pm AEST on Saturday 16th April.

TMR Comments
Latest Comments
The size of your tyre is located on the sidewall of your tyre.
It will be similar to the sample below.