ANCAP - 5-Stars For Fiat 500X | Subaru Impreza And Mercedes-Benz E-Class Photo:

Sell your car without the hassle.
Get an instant offer from areyouselling. FIND OUT MORE

Trevor Collett | Dec, 15 2016 | 0 Comments

A trio of new models has been gifted the maximum 5-star safety rating from the Australasian New Car Assessment Program (ANCAP) just in time for Christmas.

Fiat’s 500X SUV and the Mercedes-Benz E-Class are flying the 5-star flag for Europe, while Subaru’s Impreza is doing likewise for Japan. Each has met the 5-star safety requirements under 2016 testing regulations.

“The release of these ratings sees a diverse spread of models meet the highest safety standards,” ANCAP CEO, James Goodwin, said.

“The Small Car and Compact SUV categories are highly competitive and the Impreza and 500X carry the 2016 date-stamp providing consumers with a leading choice in their respective categories.”

While the 500X and Impreza impressed ANCAP with their strong showing during crash testing, Mr Goodwin expressed disappointment that autonomous emergency braking (AEB) was only available in upper-spec variants.

2016 Mercedes-Benz E-Class
2016 Mercedes-Benz E-Class

The 500X received an overall score of 36.12 out of 37 points, with the score and 5-star rating applying to both front- and all-wheel-drive variants built after July of this year.

Subaru’s Impreza wasn’t far behind the 500X, with an overall score of 35.8 points. The E-Class was scored using Euro NCAP’s ratings, with scores of 95 percent for adult protection, 90 percent for child protection, 62 percent for safety assist systems and 77 percent for pedestrian safety.

“The E-Class has been awarded a 2016 date-stamp and provides a long list of standard safety features and technologies including all three grades of autonomous emergency braking, an active bonnet for increased pedestrian protection and pre-crash systems which prepare for an impact in order to minimise occupant injury,” Mr Goodwin said.

As mentioned, the 5-star rating applies to Fiat 500X models built after July of this year, while the same rating applies to all current Impreza and E-Class variants.

MORE: Holden Astra Scores 5-Star ANCAP Safety Rating - Except Entry-Level Astra R
MORE News & Reviews:
Fiat | Subaru | Mercedes-Benz

TMR Comments
Latest Comments