1 Comment
ANCAP: 5-Star Safety For A-Class Hatch, 86 Coupe, Range Rover SUV Photo:
2012_toyota_86_australia_00b Photo: tmr
2012_toyota_86_australia_15 Photo: tmr
2012_toyota_86_australia_03 Photo: tmr
2012_toyota_86_australia_00t Photo: tmr
2012_toyota_86_australia_01 Photo: tmr
2012_toyota_86_australia_00h Photo: tmr
2012_toyota_86_australia_24 Photo: tmr
2012_toyota_86_australia_11 Photo: tmr
2012_toyota_86_australia_00m Photo: tmr
2012_toyota_86_australia_03d Photo: tmr
2012_toyota_86_australia_00c Photo: tmr
2012_toyota_86_australia_18 Photo: tmr
2012_toyota_86_australia_00u Photo: tmr
2012_toyota_86_australia_05 Photo: tmr
2012_toyota_86_australia_00g Photo: tmr
2012_toyota_86_australia_23 Photo: tmr
2012_toyota_86_australia_10 Photo: tmr
2012_toyota_86_australia_00l Photo: tmr
2012_toyota_86_australia_08a Photo: tmr
2012_toyota_86_australia_00d Photo: tmr
2012_toyota_86_australia_14 Photo: tmr
2012_toyota_86_australia_00q Photo: tmr
2012_toyota_86_australia_04 Photo: tmr
2012_toyota_86_australia_00e Photo: tmr
2012_toyota_86_australia_19 Photo: tmr
2012_toyota_86_australia_08 Photo: tmr
2012_toyota_86_australia_00k Photo: tmr
2012_toyota_86_australia_25 Photo: tmr
2012_toyota_86_australia_03a Photo: tmr
2012_toyota_86_australia_17 Photo: tmr
2012_toyota_86_australia_00r Photo: tmr
2012_toyota_86_australia_00f Photo: tmr
2012_toyota_86_australia_21 Photo: tmr
2012_toyota_86_australia_06 Photo: tmr
2012_toyota_86_australia_07 Photo: tmr
2012_toyota_86_australia_00j Photo: tmr
2012_toyota_86_australia_22 Photo: tmr
2012_toyota_86_australia_03c Photo: tmr
2012_toyota_86_australia_12 Photo: tmr
2012_toyota_86_australia_00p Photo: tmr
2012_toyota_86_australia_00a Photo: tmr
2012_toyota_86_australia_16 Photo: tmr
2012_toyota_86_australia_02 Photo: tmr
2012_toyota_86_australia_00s Photo: tmr
2012_toyota_86_australia_09 Photo: tmr
2012_toyota_86_australia_00i Photo: tmr
2012_toyota_86_australia_20 Photo: tmr
2012_toyota_86_australia_03b Photo: tmr
2012_toyota_86_australia_13 Photo: tmr
2012_toyota_86_australia_00o Photo: tmr
TMR Team | Apr, 10 2013 | 1 Comment

A new round of crash-safety testing from the Australasian New Car Assessment Program (ANCAP) has seen top scores handed down to a trio of vastly different offerings.

Buyers considering the small new Mercedes-Benz A-Class hatch, the big Range Rover SUV and the light-footed Toyota 86 coupe can now tick off '5-Star ANCAP safety rating' on their shopping lists.

"It doesn't matter what type of car consumers are looking to buy. There's now a multitude of makes, models and car types which have achieved the maximum 5 star ANCAP safety rating," ANCAP Chairman, Mr Lauchlan McIntosh said.

All models in the A-Class and 86 ranges carry the top rating, while the Range Rover's score applies to models equipped with the TDV6 engine - TDV8 and petrol variants remain 'unrated'.

Standard safety features with the A-Class hatch include nine airbags, collision warning, fatigue detection and Mercedes' Pre-Safe system, designed to prepare the vehicle for an imminent collision.

The little Merc also features an 'active bonnet', designed to raise slightly when a pedestrian impact is detected, creating a buffer zone between the person and the engine below.

Safety features available with the 86 include dual frontal, side chest and side head (curtain) airbags and a driver knee airbag, and emergency brake assist.

The 86's sister model, the Subaru BRZ, also holds a 5-Star ANCAP safety rating.

For the Range Rover, standard safety equipment includes dual frontal, side chest and side head airbags (curtains), along with antilock brakes, electronic brake distribution and electronic stability control. Advanced seat belt reminders are fitted to all seats.

TMR Comments
Latest Comments
The size of your tyre is located on the sidewall of your tyre.
It will be similar to the sample below.