2015 International Engine Of The Year: BMW Ends Ford Domination Photo:
2015_bmw_i8_australia_01 Photo: tmr
2015_bmw_i8_australia_05 Photo: tmr
2015_bmw_i8_australia_10 Photo: tmr
2015_bmw_i8_australia_06 Photo: tmr
2015_bmw_i8_australia_11 Photo: tmr
2015_bmw_i8_australia_04 Photo: tmr
2015_bmw_i8_australia_08 Photo: tmr
2015_bmw_i8_australia_02 Photo: tmr
2015_bmw_i8_australia_13 Photo: tmr
2015_bmw_i8_australia_07 Photo: tmr
2015_bmw_i8_australia_03 Photo: tmr
2015_bmw_i8_australia_09 Photo: tmr
2015_bmw_i8_australia_12 Photo: tmr
Trevor Collett | Jun, 18 2015 | 6 Comments

BMW has won the International Engine Of The Year award for 2015, with the petrol powerplant from its i8 performance car taking the top gong.

The win ends a three-year streak from Ford’s 1.0 litre three-cylinder EcoBoost engine, which took out the award in 2012, 2013 and 2014.

But the judges still showed their preference for small three-cylinder engines, voting in 2015 for the 1.5 litre turbocharged unit from BMW’s i8 hybrid system.

The BMW engine amassed 274 points to take the win, ahead of Ford’s triple-winner in the EcoBoost engine on 267 and another three-cylinder engine - the 1.2 litre unit from PSA Peugeot Citroen - on 222 points in third.

Ferrari’s 4.5 litre V8 from the 458 was fourth and just one point behind the PSA Peugeot Citroen engine on 221, winning the Performance Engine and Over 4.0 Litre categories in the process.

While placing second to the BMW 1.5 litre engine for overall honours, Ford’s sub-1.0 litre capacity for its EcoBoost engine (available in the Fiesta and EcoSport in Australia) means it still won the Under 1.0 Litre category for 2015 - making it four wins in a row.

BMW’s overall victory also translated into a class win for the 1.4 to 1.8 litre category, along with the award for Best New Engine.

Likewise, PSA Peugeot Citroen’s third overall for its 1.2 litre unit (best known for powering the European Car Of The Year: Peugeot’s 308) saw it win the 1.0 to 1.4 litre category.

BMW dominated the 2.5 to 3.0 litre category with its 3.0 litre twin-turbo six-cylinder engine taking the win. This unit powers the M3 and M4 performance siblings, but BMW also filled positions two through to four in this category with other engines in its range.

Other category winners included Mercedes-AMG, which won the 1.8 to 2.0 litre class with its 2.0 litre turbocharged engine as found in the A 45 hero and others.

Audi won the 2.0 to 2.5 litre class with its 2.5 litre five-cylinder turbocharged engine (think TT RS and RS Q3), while McLaren’s 3.8 litre twin-turbo V8 from the 650S and 12C won the 3.0 to 4.0 litre category.

The award for Best Green powerplant went to Tesla’s electric unit from the Model S.

MORE: Volkswagen Unveils New 1.0 And 6.0 Litre Engines In Vienna
MORE News & Reviews:
BMW | i8 | Engines



Sub 1.0 litre
Ford 1.0 litre three-cylinder EcoBoost (EcoSport, Fiesta)

1.0 - 1.4 litre
PSA Peugeot Citroen 1.2 litre three-cylinder (Peugeot 308)

1.4 - 1.8 litre, overall winner and best new engine
BMW i8 1.5 litre hybrid

1.8 - 2.0 litre
Mercedes-AMG 2.0 litre four-cylinder turbocharged petrol (A 45, CLA 45)

2.0 - 2.5 litre
Audi 2.5 litre five-cylinder turbocharged petrol (TT RS, RS Q3)

2.5 - 3.0 litre
BMW M 3.0 litre in-line six-cylinder twin-turbo petrol (M3 and M4)

3.0 - 4.0 litre
McLaren 3.8 litre twin-turbo V8 petrol (650S and 12C)

Above 4.0-litre and best performance engine
Ferrari 458 4.5 litre V8 petrol

Green engine
Tesla Model S electric drivetrain

TMR Comments

Finance Calculator

Repayment is : $

Latest Comments
The size of your tyre is located on the sidewall of your tyre.
It will be similar to the sample below.