1 Comment
2014 'World Car Of The Year' Candidates Announced Photo:

Sell your car without the hassle.
Get an instant offer from areyouselling. FIND OUT MORE

Mike Stevens | Feb, 12 2014 | 1 Comment

The list of potential winners for the annual World Car of the Year award grows shorter this week, ahead of the big announcement at April's New York Auto Show.

The WCOTY programme has been running since 2005 and has since become one of the most prized awards in the global automotive industry.

Judged by a panel of journalists from around the world, the 'of the year' award covers five categories: overall Car of the Year, the enthusiast-focused Performance Car, the high-rolling Luxury Car, the future-focused Green Car and, finally, Car Design.

The criteria for eligibility is long and varied. Crucial among them is that the cars must be available in at least five countries on at least two continents, before January 1 of the year of the award.

Volkswagen has won World Car Of The Year in three of the last four years, including last year’s award for the Golf. Who will win in 2014?

From all of the cars that fill that bucket - and there are many - the WCOTY panel has compiled the following lists.


World Car of the Year candidates

Audi A3
BMW 4 Series
BMW i3
Cadillac CTS
Citroen C4 Picasso
Ford Fusion / Mondeo
Infiniti Q50
Jeep Cherokee
Lexus IS
Peugeot 308
Skoda Octavia


World Luxury Car of the Year candidates

Bentley Flying Spur
Cadillac ELR
Cadillac Escalade
Maserati Ghibli
Maserati Quattroporte
Mercedes-Benz S-Class
Porsche Macan
Range Rover Sport
Rolls-Royce Wraith


World Performance Car of the Year candidates

Alfa Romeo 4C
Audi RS 6 Avant
BMW M6 Gran Coupe
Chevrolet Corvette Stingray
Ferrari 458 Speciale
Ford Fiesta ST
Lamborghini Aventador LP700-4 Roadster
Mercedes-Benz A / CLA 45 AMG
Porsche 911 GT3
Porsche 911 Turbo
Volkswagen Golf GTI


World Green Car of the Year candidates

Audi A3 Sportback e-tron
BMW i3
Honda Accord Hybrid
Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV
Volkswagen XL1


World Car Design of the Year candidates

BMW i3
Cadillac CTS
Citroen C4 Picasso
Lexus IS
Mercedes-Benz C-Class
Volkswagen XL1

From the above groups, the top three finalists for each award will be announced at next month's Geneva Motor Show.

The following month, the final winners of the 2014 World Car of the Year Awards will be announced at the New York Motor Show.

TMR Comments
Latest Comments