VACC's Target 2020 'Design The Car Of The Future' Winners Announced Photo:
vacc_target_2010_secondary_model_winner_chris_hayward Photo: tmr
vacc_target_2010_secondary_essay_winner_daniel_romano Photo: tmr
vacc_target_2010_tertiary_design_winner_bryan_lee Photo: tmr
vacc_target_2010_secondary_design_winner_tom_grech Photo: tmr
vacc_target_2010_jacinta_allan Photo: tmr
vacc_target_2010_tertiary_essay_winner_minh_huynh Photo: tmr
vacc_target_2020_chaoyi_li Photo: tmr
Mike Stevens | Sep, 16 2010 | 0 Comments

The Victorian Automobile Chamber of Commerce (VACC) has this week announced the winners of its Target 2020 competition, a project that challenges secondary and tertiary students to create their vision of how cars might look in the now not-so-far-off future of 2020.

There are three categories in the Target 2020 competion: essay, design and model-making. The students and their school, college or university can win cash prizes of $500 for the essay category and $3000 for the design and model-making categories.

At a special awards night that included Holden design boss Richard Ferlazzo and Victoria's Minister for Industry and Trade Jacinta Allan among the event's 120 guests, the competition's winners were presented.

“Judging for the competition was in early July, at VACC House. However, the entries were of such high standard that we wanted to show them off to a wider audience, hence the Awards Night. The hard part was keeping the winners names a secret until the presentations,” VACC Executive Director, David Purchase, said.

“The level of detail, care and innovation that has clearly gone into this year’s Target 2020 entries is staggering. What struck us most was the degree of professionalism. We had to remind ourselves that the entrants were students.

The competition saw Daniel Romano from St Joseph's Collage take out the Secondary Essay category, with Minh Huynh of Monash University landing the prize for the Tertiary Essay category.

In the Design category, Woodleigh School's Tom Grech won the prize for Secondary Design. Monash University scored again with student Bryan Lee winning the Tertiary Design category.

The prize the for Secondary Model category went to Scotch College's Chris Hayward, while Monash University made a clean sweep of the night with student Chaoyi Li winning the Tertiary Model category.

TMR Comments