Hyundai Wins 2008 Australian Manufacturers' Championship Photo:

Sell your car without the hassle.
Get an instant offer from areyouselling. FIND OUT MORE

Steane Klose | Dec, 12 2008 | 0 Comments

Hyundai Australia, with the help of some talented drivers and the Kangan Batman TAFE motor sport division, has taken out the 2008 Australian Manufacturers' Championship.

The Kangan Batman TAFE Hankook Hyundai Sonata driven by Jamie Augustine and Brett Youlden, and the Victor Chang Cardiac Institute Hyundai Tiburon driven by young up-and-comer George Miedecke, have proven to be quick and reliable performers, both winning 6 out of 10 races. The final race of the 2008 season took place at Sandown in Victoria.

"We are delighted by the Hyundai win. The car finished every race including the Bathurst 12 hour race. It is a credit to the TAFE team and testament of the quality of the Hyundai Sonata product. They have given us a car that handled predictably and consistently throughout the season," Greg Moulden, the head teacher of the Kangan Batman TAFE motor sport division said.

Over the course of the season, both cars performed strongly with the Sonata and Tiburon each winning 6 of the 10 races that they competed in.

"Driving the Tiburon has been so much fun. The racing was close through most of the season and the Tiburon performed extremely well, especially in the wet. We dominated the majority of the season, including two outright wins, demonstrating the balance and excellent set-up of the car. I am really proud to have been a part of Hyundai's first ever Australian Manufacturers Championship title," George Miedecke said.

TMR Comments
Latest Comments