2014 Toyota Prado Review: GX, GXL, VX And Kakadu

Tim O'Brien | 36 Comments

TOYOTA PRADO REVIEW

What’s hot: Proven performance, comfortable on-road, brilliant off it.
What’s not: There is too much moulded interior plastic for a car in this class.
X-FACTOR: It will tow your Collins Class sub to the Gulf and back without raising a bead of sweat.

Vehicle style: Large 4WD SUV Wagon

Price: $55,990 - $92,590
Engine/trans: 3.0 litre diesel, 4.0 litre petrol V6 | 5spd auto, 6spd man
Power/torque: 127kW/410Nm diesel; 202kW/381Nm petrol
Fuel consumption diesel, listed: 8.5 l/100km tested: 12.1 l/100km
Fuel consumption petrol, listed: 11.5 l/100km tested: 13.4 l/100km

OVERVIEW

Toyota’s updated Prado is what Toyota - the brand - is all about. It’s sensible, solid, conservative and immensely capable.

There are few things to point at in the Prado that can be described as cutting-edge. Perhaps the KDSS suspension, but little else.

But that’s a Toyota thing: it rarely sits at the edge of the blade, more often at its solid centre.

And this is where the Prado sits. It is Prado, not Prada, and it is neither the last word in style nor in on-road dynamics.

But it is a very compelling purchase. It’s hard to imagine any Prado buyer being disappointed. That said, there are, nonetheless, a few debits that take the sheen off things.

So what about this updated model?

It’s little changed from the model it replaces; it is mostly just ‘a new look’. It sports a new face, revised taillights and some suspension refinements. Nothing changed here for the sake of change alone.

After all, it’s the best-selling four-wheel-drive wagon in the country; so why mess with it?

We drove most variants of the updated Prado at launch (there are 11 variants in all). Here’s our report.

THE INTERIOR

Again little changed, but certainly a snug, comfortable and robust fit-out. The seats are good, upright and a little flat, but rightly comfortable and with good under-thigh support for long-distance driving.

The wheel falls nicely to hand (electrically adjustable in the VX and Kakadu), and there is a real ‘command’ position from the captain’s chair.

Importantly, in seven-seat models (only the GX misses out), access to the rear third row is really good. Even with a dodgy back I could get in and out easily.

The instruments are clear and legible, and controls are well laid out and with a ‘solid to the touch’ feel.

On the downside, the painted silver faux-metal highlighting looks a bit naff, and there is too much plastic moulding for my liking, especially in the top-spec Kakadu.

When you’re spending the best part of 100-large ($91,590), you might be looking for a dash of leather; somewhere on the doors, for instance.

It’s not such a disappointment on the lower-specced and vastly less-expensive GX and GXL models, of course, which are trimmed as you’d expect.

That aside, there is a soft quality-feel to all plastics, especially on touchpoints like the dashboard, armrest and door grab-handles.

The biggest interior styling flaw is the ghetto-blaster emerging from the top of the dash.

It is unusually clunky, looks incredibly cheap and is a real design gaffe. God alone knows what it’s doing there, and why it was carried over from the previous model.

It holds the air-con outlets, audio and heater controls and large screen display. It’s certainly easy to reference when driving, but it really mars what is an otherwise mostly appealing interior.

It’s the feature-list though that appeals most in here. Even lower down the model range, the GX and GXL are pretty well-kitted.

Standard across the range is cruise control, smart entry and smart start, 220-volt rear accessory socket, Bluetooth, USB aux-in, iPod connectivity, multi-function steering wheel, side mirror-mounted indicators, UV glass and conversation mirror. Automatic models also get hill-start control and downhill assist.

The GXL adds third-row seats and a third-row side curtain-airbag, climate-control three-zone air-con, rear parking sensors privacy glass, two additional cup holders, heated and power-retractable exterior mirrors, plus alarm system, roof rails, side steps and other dress-up bits.

It starts getting serious in the Prado VX, which adds rain-sensing wipers, leather-accented seats (heated front and second-rows), power adjusting tilt and telescopic steering, power-folding third-row seat, parking sensors, auto LED headlamps, 17-speaker premium JBL audio with DAB+ radio, touch-screen sat-nav and multi-info display.

It also adds the ‘biggie’, the incredibly capable Kinetic Dynamic Suspension System (KDSS) suspension.

For the Kakadu add Optitron dials (with multi-information display), blind-spot monitor, radar cruise control, Blu-ray rear-seat entertainment system, five-mode CRAWL control, four-camera terrain monitor, Multi-Terrain Select (MTS) traction-control switch, moonroof, cool box, electronic rear diff-lock, and height-adjustable rear air-suspension, among a longer list of premium features.

Kakadu gets a pre-crash safety system but all models get seven airbags, vehicle stability control, traction control, ABS with electronic brake-force distribution (EBD) and brake assist (BA) and emergency brake signal.

The big-ticket safety item for those who tow is trailer sway control, now standard across the range.

ON THE ROAD

There is little to report here if you’re familiar with the previous model.

The engines, petrol and diesel, and transmissions are the same: the 127kW/410Nm 3.0-litre turbo-diesel engine or the 202kW/381Nm V6 petrol engine with variable valve timing.

That diesel’s peak torque is on tap from a very wide 1600 to 2800rpm.

For towing, there’s nothing quite like a wide torque band for ‘settled’ driving. It also feels stronger than a peakier diesel; in other words, it does more with less.

But both engines are easily up to the task. The Prado V6 can show a very rapid turn of speed if asked, and both are effortless cruisers.

Prado GX and GXL models offer the choice of a six-speed manual, otherwise, a five-speed auto sits across the range.

2014 toyota prado launch review 13
With peak torque sitting across such a wide 1200rpm band, there is little point in a sixth gear for the auto.

We didn’t drive the manual, but the auto slinks crisply between gears, downshifting for corners and downhill inclines.

The Kakadu we drove in fact downshifted and held gears too long on some descents (could have had a mapping glitch); we resorted to the shift lever to upshift a couple of times.

All models are pretty impressive on road. The VX and Kakadu are slightly better ‘anchored’ at the front-end thanks to the KDSS system operating on the stabiliser bars, but all models have a bit of body roll.

On bitumen, the Prado is ‘taut’ down below - there is a firm elasticity to the suspension feel - but the ride is very good. It’s not up to Range Rover standards, but it soaks away bumps and broken tarmac effortlessly.

Even on dirt and gravel, the Prado is untroubled by ruts and corrugations and can thump through washouts and gullies without getting anywhere near the bump stops.

We found each model a tad noisier than expected. While wind noise is quite low (the Prado has a drag co-efficient of 0.35), mechanical noise can intrude, especially from the diesel. Not loud, but ‘there’.

OFF ROAD

Point it off the tarmac and the Prado really shines. You get a sense it will scale almost anything.

Down below is a full-time four-wheel drive system with a lockable Torsen centre differential and two-speed transfer case. (The Kakadu boasts rear diff locks and ‘crawl-control’ as standard.)

2014 toyota prado launch review 10a
We put it across Wodonga TAFE’s off-road DECA training centre (they train army drivers from Puckapunyal there).

On a cobbled-together route, it challenged barely part of the Prado’s off-road traction and suspension technologies.

There is a dial (rather than a lever) to control the high/low transfer case and there’s a button to activate the centre Torsen diff lock.

We tried the hill-start assist on a 30 degree slope, no problem. The descent control - feet ‘off everything’ - similarly, no problem.

For traction control in the rough, all models come with Toyota’s multi-terrain select system (MTS). With it, you can select via a rotary dial ‘rock’, ‘loose rock’, ‘mud and sand’, and ‘moguls’ modes.

It provides electronic assistance to keep things moving if the beaten track disappears.

If you get stuck in a Prado, you’ve driven off the end of a pier.

In the top-tier Kakadu, there is also a forward camera to show the road down below, and the positioning of the wheels, when the nose is pointing at the sky. It is, as an understatement, very useful.

Lastly, it will tow 2.5 tonne (braked capacity).

TMR VERDICT

With the Prado you pay most for what you don’t see: robust engineering and the deserved reputation that goes with it.

The fact that this Toyota does so many things capably and without fuss, is the secret to its success.

You’ll never see a Prado with its tongue hanging out by the side of the road, with a caravan in tow. You can thank the safety margins engineered into engines, drivetrains and tow ratings for that.

If you’re thinking of ‘the big trek’, or thinking of towing something big to somewhere else, there can be few safer bets than the Prado.

For what it can do, on road and off, for its reputation and the high trade-in values that come with it, it’s a blue-chip buy.

Pricing (excludes on-road costs)

TURBO-DIESEL

  • GX 5 manual - $55,990 ($0 change)
  • GX 5 auto - $58,690 (up $436)
  • GX 7 manual - $58,490 (up $236)
  • GX 7 auto - $61,190 (up $1,013)
  • GXL manual - $61,490 (up $355)
  • GXL auto - $64,190 (up $555)
  • VX auto - $78,990 (up $1,355)
  • KAKADU auto - $92,590 (up $1,455)

PETROL

  • GXL auto - $63,190 (up $555)
  • VX auto - $77,990 (up $1,355)
  • KAKADU auto - $91,590 (up $1,455)

Filed under: Featured, review, wagon, Toyota, toyota prado, suv, Toyota Landcruiser Prado, 4wd, Toyota Landcruiser, family, large, Advice, special-featured, 5door, tim o'brien, 5seat, available, 55-60k, 65-70k, 90-95k, 2014my, 60-65k, 75-80k, 70-75k

Leave a comment:

Required
Required
Enter comment here.
  • Honza says,
    9 months ago
    4 likes
    " It will tow your Collins Class sub to the Gulf and back without raising a bead of sweat " i couldn't find any reference in the article of an attempt to tow something to back up that claim? Not to mention anywhere in the article about a front end only a mother could love.... I find it hard to believe that such an underpowered heavy 4WD wouldnt raise a bead of sweat. Must be Toyota miracle work... My next door neighbour has one (a VX diesel 1 year old) and i went on a camping trip with him... i have to be honest i wasnt impressed. Thirsty, rattles and squeaks coming from everywhere and slow with a capital S (but i guess thats the whole point of Toyotas is to not derive any driving pleasure).
    • Tim O'Brien says,
      9 months ago
      16 likes
      Yo Honza, I will grant you the reference to the 'the Collins Class sub' was a bit of hyberbole, a gag that missed (it would seem from your comment).

      But ask a grey nomad about how well a Prado drags a caravan around Australia. Don't be fooled by power and torque figures (and the chest-beating and schlong-waving that's going on in the light commercial market).

      A wide strong-enough torque band is much better than a narrow sometimes-very-strong torque band.

      A wide band is more effortless (for both driver and vehicle) on a constant velocity long haul, and less likely to end up - as I mentioned in the piece - by the side of the road with its tongue hanging out.

      "Rattles and squeaks", crikey, that's new.

      I've had Prados out on some pretty marginal tracks and fire trails; if you don't get a squeak out of them from time to time, you're not trying (but struggled to bash a rattle into any of them).

      And you might be guilty of a bit of hyperbole yourself in that last line... (maybe you should have a quiet chat to someone with an 86).

      But no worries, we enjoy the banter.

      Tim
      • Honza says,
        9 months ago
        5 likes
        Fair call on the wide flat torque band but an Audi sq5 has a wider torque band 650Nm @ 1450-2800rpm. Ml350 diesel has 620Nm @ 1600-2400rpm (yes 400 less than prado but haveing 620Nm im sure at 2800 RPM would still have more than 410Nm. X5 40d 600Nm @ 1500-2500rpm. I think that if you looked at most if not all euros over a 1200 RPM band they would all be better off... maybe im wrong im not an engineer. I know that the prado base models are priced at a lower point but Kakadu is approaching some serious crust. Seeing as though 95% of prados are school taxis (in the big smoke anyway) seems Kakadu money should be spent elsewhere? Disco would be my pick
        • Phil says,
          9 months ago
          It is pointless that compares the spec of euro 4wd with Prado. It doesn't tell you anything about the it. Please tell me how much better can 180kw suv do in city drive with 60kmh, and how well the bmw 40d and ml350 can do in somewhere doesn't have a track for you. besides, 95% of the prado sales are gxl and gx. kakadu only for some fans, similar to the top range of disco'4. It costs $140k, i would rather to spend this money on range over sport or Porsche. Jesus, it is prado, not prada, man.
  • Lewey says,
    9 months ago
    4 likes
    It's bemusing that Toyota can continue to get away with this level of mediocrity on all fronts (except reliability and resale?). Massively behind the pack in drivetrain, chassis and aesthetics inside and out but hey it's a Toyota and is likely to maintain its dominance. Possibly more of a reflection on the customer base and its priorities than on Toyota who are clearly very canny in reading and accommodating their market.
  • SamK says,
    9 months ago
    5 likes
    Ugly and boring! Next please.
  • ian medhurst says,
    9 months ago
    6 likes
    hi im a retired diesel fitter i have bought new model prado kakadu,why,one reason reliability, tough,comphy to drive,i love it the key word reliability, smilesmile
    • sam says,
      9 months ago
      4 likes
      What a load of bollox. There is plenty of other cars that fit that criteria or are better for less coin - and none of them look like a Ssangyong with a Toyota badge slapped on the front.
      • Sunny Coast Prado Owner says,
        9 months ago
        6 likes
        I took delivery of a new VX a week ago and couldn't be happier. This is my 6th Prado having had every series from the my first GX 90 series to the 120 series Grande and a 150 series for a work car. All have never been into the workshop apart from the regular servicing.
        Can't say that about Landrover. So all you knockers out there obviously don't own one so your opinion matters little.
        And every time I've traded I've done very well. My 2006 120 series Grande petrol with 160000km was still worth 28K .
        The standard 150l fuel tanks are just another practical feature that set the Prado apart from the wanna be's. An extensive dealer network great range of aftermarket accessories make it a truly great vehicle.
        • matt says,
          9 months ago
          5 likes
          of course Toyota gives you a good trade in if you are a returning customer, most manufacturer's do that. Also how can you knock land rovers when you have bought nothing but prado's for years?
          • Axe Togrind says,
            9 months ago
            6 likes
            Actually Matt, they are so desirable on the second hand market that any dealership would be happy to have one on their lot. As for some other makes, it's often a case of "oh, we aren't buying any of those right now". Landies are excellent for a few years but Prados twice as long so hands up who wants to buy a used Landie and have a guess about how it's going to fare? Loyalties aside the Prado's the market leader still because it covers the basics very well.
          • Sunny Coast Prado Owner says,
            9 months ago
            2 likes
            Yes nothing wrong with a landrover whilst under warranty... you better own a gold mine if something happens after the 3 years. Talk to any dealer and they'll tell you the same story about Volvo's as well . Because they need to cover the warranty they need to buy them cheap in case. Many a story of a simple bit costing $1000's That means that there is no value in a used LR .
            You don't see Toyota offering the kitchen sink to sell a Prado. Take a look at the finance offers and free servicing all the others offer. My other car is a Lexus CT200 paid $56K 18 months ago the best trade was mid 20's I'll be holding onto it for many years to come. It does have a 4 year 100000k warranty and uses bugger all fuel. 35l tank gets me 650-750km
        • Navigator says,
          9 months ago
          2 likes
          Hi Sunny Coast, Went for a test drive of the New Prado VX on the weekend and really enjoyed it above the Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland. I am negotiating an order with my company on a new one. I think of the range, it's the best value for money. How much did you get yours for?
        • Navigator says,
          9 months ago
          1 like
          Hi S-C-P-O, we went to test drive a Toyota Prado VX and a Grand Cherokee Overland over the weekend. The Prado felt better. I am negotiating placing an order for a VX within the next week. How much did you pay for yours?
          • Sunny Coast Prado Owner says,
            9 months ago
            $76000 with no extra's you could probably get better but I was trading and they gave me a little more than I'd been offered else for my 6 year old Mazda CX7 with 180000k on the clock and it was the TD so I was happy to offload and do the deal.
            I've heard Sci Fleet Brisbane is about the same.
            Averaging 9.6l /100km at the moment still running it in. Putting tow bar etc on next week as I didn't want to pay the LCT
            • Sunny Coast Prado Owner says,
              9 months ago
              1 like
              $76000 with no extra's you could probably get better but I was trading and they gave me a little more than I'd been offered else for my 6 year old Mazda CX7 with 180000k on the clock and it was the Turbo Petrol Thirsty machine so I was happy to offload and do the deal.
              I've heard Sci Fleet Brisbane is about the same.
              Averaging 9.6l /100km at the moment still running it in. Putting tow bar etc on next week as I didn't want to pay the LCT


              • Navigator says,
                9 months ago
                Hi, I'm getting the VX with mats and tint for $72,300 and the Kakadu for $86,000 with the same. Tossing in between whether I need (want) the Kakadu or not if the plan is to have it for a number of years. These prices are under fleet discount for the company I work for.
  • Peter says,
    9 months ago
    smile all looks and sounds good. please give it a much powerful engine 127kw is not enough. A V6 diesel would do much better, all the rivals in the same segment have more power, check Landrover Discovery SDV6 for example.
    • Lightning Rod says,
      9 months ago
      Ugly grill, slow and thirsty. Jeep Grand Cherokee CRD is way better value for money.

      Just it's a Toyota dont mean you gotta empty your pockets for one.
  • Navigator says,
    9 months ago
    3 likes
    I've had a 2011 Disco 4 SE and carried on 12 warranty claims in 24 months. Sold it with 1 yrs warranty left as I was just fed up. Not major stuff but just couldn't trust the car anymore and decided to get rid of it before warranty expired. I want a car that will not leave me stranded by the side of the road. Comfortable ride: absolutely, unreliable: that too.

    Go Prado
  • Jb says,
    9 months ago
    2 likes
    I was laughing the whole time, while reading this article. Toyota might have been reliable years ago, But in recent years, they have recall more cars than any other manufacturer. Plus all modern cars are pretty reliable.

    Toyota is only selling off a reputation for reliability gained years ago. They make the ugliest cars on the market. Just look at the front of this prado. They are massively under powered and have a lazy 5speed changer. 410nm is pathetic for a suv at this price and age.

    Land rovers and other euros (merc Bmw VW) have 600+ nm from smaller and similar sized engines and 8 speed refined gearboxes, and their fuel economy is twice as good. My 2001 Discovery has tow sway control. Thats 12 years ago, and toyota tries to use it as a selling point now. its also has downhill decent control. self levelling air suspension and traction control and never misses a beat. Toyotas Rotary terrain response dial is a weak copy of what landies had 8 years ago. 2.5 tonne towing is good for a joke only. The disco will haul 4 tonne, and the discos aren't that much more expensive. The Prado is so basic its a joke. The discoverys have more kit in them than the top model land cruiser. The new range rover leaves the land cruiser for dead.

    Also, the 86 might be Toyotas least boring car, thats because its a Subaru brz

    Anyway, people will still by Toyota, because of the ugly badge on the front

    • Leo says,
      4 months ago
      1 like
      Yeah my series 2 disco has the same or more features than my brand new GXL Prado. But to that - the landy has cost me more money than I originally paid for it to keep it in its current condition. Its a fantastic performer especially on sand, great suspension and good power but I almost always break something each trip. End of the day a workforce of disciplined Japanese will build a higher quality product then a bunch of drunken poms - Jokes but you know what I mean. Bought the Prado because it makes good business sense.
  • D jones says,
    9 months ago
    Thats one ugly front end,would not buy one for this reason
  • craigbriz says,
    9 months ago
    1 like
    STILL 5speed auto?Surely should have moved to six speed by now Toyota!?
    • Sep says,
      9 months ago
      1 like
      Hideous front end , ugly centre dash, outdated auto transmission,inadequate towing capacity and over priced.
  • Prado says,
    7 months ago
    7 likes
    Why do these toyota prado haters keep on checking these reviews? Must be feeling bitter and regretful?.. i think..... do yourself a favor and get a Landcruiser Prado!
  • Peter Baker says,
    7 months ago
    3 likes
    I have had a Prado's as a company vehicle for the last 8 years, the only time they go into the shop is for a service and tyres, I average 80,000km's a year. I am up for a replacement vehicle and it's Prado again for me, stick with what works and is reliable.
    • Brissy Dan says,
      7 months ago
      Hi
      Looking at getting a new car now - had a V6 Prado for five years and its been superb. Its petrol, but Im yet to find terrain it cant cover. Huge suspension travel keeps wheels in traction whereas the Disco bottoms out. Really like the disco too, great car, but it cant match reliability or resale value. Paid $56k for th Prado Grande V6 petrol in 2008, done 150000km, never had anything break at all, and its been throught the mill a few times, and I get $36k back after 5and half years. Less than $4k/yr depreciation. Disco cant get near that.
      Disco is a different car, but not as reliable and just more expensive with lower resale. But, both great cars
  • andrew says,
    6 months ago
    2 likes
    My advice would be to buy a 120 series and spend the money you save upgrading yourself. Mandrel bent exhaust, set of rear drawers, dual battery, roof racks, 2 inch lift new tyres, sideawning, bullbar, winch, spotties and airlockers. You will have an awesome reliable long range tourer and still have heaps of change.
    • Harry Melbourne says,
      4 months ago
      1 like
      Just done most of that, instead of the winch I went for a Steinbauer module amazing difference.11.8 ltrs 100Ks in town 10 ltrs 100Ks on my walkabout trips fully loaded. I agree that Toyota do take Aussie customers for granted with others putting pressure things will change which will make it better for future Toyota buyers.
  • Brad says,
    6 months ago
    1 like
    Why do people buy Toyota's? Because they last. I work in the mines and the only cars that can stand up to the abuse we put them through are Toyota's. The company I work for started buying rangers, didn't last, they then tried amaroks, even worse, but the old 70 series, hilux's and prados keep going and yes I have a 150 vx sitting at home.
  • Cyris Lesser says,
    5 months ago
    All of the review is sound, but doesn't highlight the backward steps between 120 and 150 series: 30L reduction in fuel capacity, lower ground clearance, serious loss of vertical height in cargo compartment as well as loss of one seat position - all due to those silly third row seats that store in the floor space that was previously cargo space, more sluggish, loss of numerous storage nooks, replacement of the 12V rear outlet by a 220V 100W limited outlet that is too weak to run anything but a light bulb! My inverter does much better!

    The removal of third row access from the driver's side is a huge issue for anyone like us that has to park with a wall on the passenger side of our garage.

    Capable? Of course! But very disappointing if you've 'upgraded' from the 120 to the 150 series and were used to carrying bikes upright in the cargo space for example, or lots of kids and friends including three in the thgird row, and the ability to simply fold the third row seats OR remove them entirely. All of these features have disappeared!
  • Trevor Basset says,
    5 months ago
    1 like
    Have been lucky to have had 12 company cars in my working life and countless private cars, my last 2 company cars have been Mitsubishi Pajeros. Took delivery of a 150 series upgrade in December having completed 12500ks. Last week had an ARB Bullbar fitted and had a Work mates Pajero for a day. It was unbelievable how good a Prado really is, remember one thing that makes something memorable, it's not how fast something is if you want that buy a HSV Holden. 4wd are about reliability and comfort with the added bonus resale value. My location is the Riverina of NSW not Tarmac City will continue to purchase Toyota Prados whilst l can afford them. There is now 3 guarantees in life 3rd being you will not find a better balanced 4WD in a Prado.
    • BM says,
      3 months ago
      I'm new to the whole Prado thing - hell it's my first ever Toyota for that matter! We have a couple of kids and just recently bought a jayco van so were looking for something that we could do our long driving camping trips in comfort in, that was economical, reliable and with room for all our gear. We had a Kia Sorrento that towed the van really well but after 4 1/2 years was starting to make weird noises and the kids were outgrowing it so thought time to upgrade. The difference between the two in driving was amazing. The Sorrento felt every bump on the road (bitumen included) whereas our 2013 GXL was so much smoother and an alround nicer/firmer drive. We're rapt with our purchase and considering it was only $56k for the dealers' vehicle with 2000kms - I think it was good value for money. Couldn't care less about sunroofs/sat/navs etc -that's not why I buy a car. I want something that serves our needs and doesn't cost a bomb if it breaks down. From the threads I've read, the chances of it breaking down seem very remote so even better! I'm 43 at the moment and could envisage still towing our van when I'm a grey nomad with the same car! Couldn't necessarily say that about the other ones we looked at.
  • Trev says,
    2 months ago
    2 likes
    Guys,
    I spent many Months driving, inquiring, reading forums etc before finally buying my 2013 VX Diesel Prado as new. I gave everything a fair go before making my decision. I have driven many 4WD's for work and pleasure and you simply cannot go past the reliability, strength, resale value and overall long term performance of a Toyota. I have NEVER heard any stories about them breaking down....ever? Who cares about the Eoro's that have piles opf torque and Kw's, they are all pretty crap off road (except the Landy of course!)I nearly bought a Disco 4 but the reliability stories scared me off in the end, not to mention costs for out of Warranty repairs. I work with a guy who has owned a 120 series Diesel since new, over 350k on the clock and has not ever done anything except get it serviced. You simply can't beat that in my opinion. Anyway with a national speed limit of 110kph who needs 600 Nm of torque and hundreds of Kw, what for??
  • Rodney Dittman says,
    8 days ago
    I have a 2011 Prado Kakadu V6 with 64000klm on it it is the best car I have ever had but when you go to trade it in they don't want to know you because it is petrol and I can tell you I get 15lt to the 100k towing my caravan which is 21ft towing length.I wen to Toyota to trade it in and they offerd me 45000 trade on a new one if it was diesel they would give me more so I wont be bying another one.

advertisement