2013 Volkswagen Golf 7 Review: 90TSI, 103TSI and 110TDI

Tim O'Brien | 38 Comments

2013 VOLKSWAGEN GOLF 7 REVIEW

What’s Hot: New low pricing, new edgier style, new engines, more features.
What’s Not: Not greatly differentiated visually from Golf 6.
X-Factor: Classy German elegance in an affordable small car, plus brisk on-road performance.

For Volkswagen, that Golf badge is surely priceless – instantly recognisable, fashionable, youthful, accessible and, yes, desired.

So there’s a lot at stake, a lot of ‘brand value’ to protect when a new model is in the offing.

Like, you wouldn’t want to get it wrong. Especially not with Ford’s Focus hitting its straps, fast improving challengers from Korea, and Japanese giant Toyota hatching a good one with the new Corolla.

So here’s Volkswagen’s new Golf – the Golf 7. How much better is it than the Golf 6? Is it better, or is it just different?

It certainly doesn’t look greatly different: a little sharper, bigger wheels, nice blistered wheel arches, a bit more ‘tuck’ to the rear, a more-steeply raked nose and a little less slab to the sides.

But that’s what you’d expect with such a recognisable brand to protect. If it was yours, you’d want it to be recognised - the ‘proven product’ that everyone knows so well - but newer and fresher, and thus even more desirable.

Underneath though, the Golf 7 is different. It’s sitting on an all-new platform; a bigger and better one, as we discovered, but lighter and leaner; and the underpinnings – they’re also better.

And the engine choices, they’re new. The capacities are familiar, but the ‘twin-charging’ has gone, and outputs are both up, and down.

We drove three models over the day of the launch – the new entry level 90TSI petrol, the 103TSI and the 110TDI.

And we like what we found. Quiet, comfortable, sporty and fun, every model in the range: how many cars offer that as a baseline?

So, yes, better in nearly every way.

Even in style. The new Golf 7 does look better, it’s certainly more sporty, and the style differences become more obvious and the subtleties more apparent the more familiar you become with it.

With a $21,490 entry point for the 90TSI (or $23,990 with DSG), which lacks for nothing in verve and dynamics, the new Golf range is surprisingly good buying value.

It is also – with VW’s fixed price servicing offer – not going to break the bank in ownership costs.

And crikey it’s a good drive.

THE INTERIOR

It might be the sauerkraut, or maybe the accordions, jolly songs and thigh slapping, but there is something in the German character that makes them masterful interior designers.

This interior is so beautifully understated, so cleanly executed and just so pleasing to the eye that, in this segment, it’s surely the benchmark.

The driving position is nicely square, everything precisely to hand, and a near perfect relationship between pedals, wheel and controls.

There is a cockpit feel to the interior; at the workbench, everything is angled slightly to the driver – the screen, controls and centre stack.

The new multi-function steering wheel, flat on the bottom, feels slightly narrower. But is direct and comfortable, and reach and rake adjustable.

For surface textures, trim and material quality, the interior of the new Golf is as good as you’ll find.

Everything fits snugly, the tactile surfaces, controls and switchgear feel right, and everything is beautifully aligned.

The seats seem a little thinner than the previous model. The Highline and Comfortline models get more upmarket trims, but across the three-model range they’re nicely shaped with a wide base, deep bolsters and firmly supportive.

There is also nothing stingy about the feature list in any model.

The entry 90TSI gets a brushed alloy centre stack and garnishes; move up to the Comfortline and you get a better-looking polished metal throughout; and piano black and carbon-fibre in the top-dog Highline.

But once upon a time, and not so long ago, when you bought a German car you accepted that it had the creature comforts of a roller skate.

There was no shortage of available features, but you had to pay for everything.

But we’ve had a GFC since then, and now everyone is trying harder to win customers, even the Germans. So now the Golf comes with a feature-list to rival any in the segment… and mostly all standard.

Like a touchscreen that senses your movement to it, and pops up a menu under your fingers. Like Bluetooth, USB and aux-input, cruise control, air-con, electric park-brake, stop/start, pre-crash system, city emergency braking, driver alert system, and a whole host more.

Click through to our Golf 7 product information piece for a full list of features across the model range.

ON THE ROAD

Engines choices are what we expected them to be: petrol and diesel, and mated to either a six-speed manual transmission or DSG.

And they're all-new, with only the 82mm cylinder spacing of the 'old' engines maintained in the new mills.

The 90TSI, with 1.4 litres, replaces the previous 77TSI 1.2 litre. It’s bigger and more powerful but uses less fuel.

And it is, as we found, delightfully responsive. In fact, except in rolling acceleration, you’d barely pick it from the more powerful 103TSI.

The 103TSI replaces the discontinued twin-charged 118TSI.

It too is a beautifully crisp unit; perfectly mated to the DSG, it pulls eagerly from any speed, and makes a nice brattish rasp when at work.

With a sublimely balanced chassis underneath, either of these engines puts ample verve under the toe to make the new Golf a hoot on a twisty road.

The 110TDI diesel is possibly among the best small diesels I’ve driven. With integrated contra-rotating balance shafts, it will happily spin its head off without a tremor of complaint.

Smooth? Only the deeper diesel groan under hard acceleration is the giveaway that there’s an oiler under the snout. And strong? Its 320Nm come on like a stream for effortless overtaking, and it simply swallows hills.

The MacPherson strut front end, and multi-link rear - lighter front and back - a longer wheelbase and wider track, provide exceptional handling and control.

And, thanks to a lighter unsprung weight, and the larger footprint on the road, it is noticeably more compliant and comfortable on road.

Neither of the models we drove were at all troubled by the varying surfaces on the looping runs we did around the Yarra Valley and into the surrounding hills.

At speed, the nose tucks in eagerly, there is no bump-steer when cornering nor jitteriness on broken surfaces, and, even when pressing on, the new Golf sits tenaciously flat.

Impressed? How could we not be? The new car is yet another step-up from one of the best handling small hatches in the segment. (Or any segment for that matter.)

And it’s also quiet; even with the bigger 17-inch alloys road roar is nicely muted and wind-noise all-but absent.

VERDICT

Yes, the company that gets it right has got it right again. Any manufacturer would give their eye-teeth for a badge with the recognised qualities of the Golf.

It has not done that reputation any harm with the Golf 7. Every model we drove – from the entry 90TSI, to the Highline 110TDI – had us scratching our heads: how does Volkswagen do this so consistently?

This is one very fine car. And with VW fixed-price servicing ($2112 for the petrol models over 72 months, or $2371 for the diesel over 72 months), and a pricing spread beginning from the low ‘twenties’, it’s got one heck of a proposition to put to buyers.

Should you have a look? Of course you should.

Your only difficulty will be choosing between them. And I reckon you’ll be most surprised by the 90TSI.

Pricing (excludes on-road costs)

  • 2013 Golf 90TSI 6 Speed Manual - $21,490
  • 2013 Golf 90TSI 7 Speed DSG - $23,990
  • 2013 Golf 90TSI Comfortline 6 Speed Manual - $24,990
  • 2013 Golf 90TSI Comfortline 7 Speed DSG - $27,490
  • 2013 Golf 103TSI Highline 7 Speed DSG - $31,990
  • 2013 Golf 110TDI Highline 6 Speed DSG - $34,490

Options

  • Metallic / Pearl Effect paint - $500
  • Driver assistance package - Comfortline & Highline - $1300
  • Discover Media satellite navigation system - Comfortline (Std Highline) $950
  • Panoramic electric glass sunroof - Highline - $1,850
  • Bi-Xenon headlights with LED daytime driving lights - Highline - $2,150
  • Vienna leather appointed upholstery - Highline - $2,950
  • Anti-theft alarm system - Comfortline & Highline - $600

Filed under: Volkswagen, Featured, review, volkswagen golf, petrol, diesel, hatch, automatic, Manual, small, family, Advice, special-featured, 4cyl, 5door, 6m, 7a, tim o'brien, 2013 volkswagen golf, 5seat, available, 2013my

Leave a comment:

Required
Required
Enter comment here.
  • Kermit says,
    1 year ago
    2 likes
    Fantastic car. As someone fortunate enough too have already driven them, the benchmark is even higher now.
  • Yetiman says,
    1 year ago
    2 likes
    Is it made in Germany?
    • clark kent says,
      1 year ago
      1 like
      Aust delivered Golfs, come from Thailand or Mexico. The wagon and performance variants are German built, in Mk6 anywaysmile
      • KD says,
        1 year ago
        3 likes
        All Mk6 & Mk7 hatches come from Wolfsburg Germany. The Wagon is built in Mexico. Volkswagen Aus do not important any cars from Thailand!
    • FrugalOne says,
      1 year ago
      2 likes
      Is it made in Germany?


      Get over it, where does it say that if its Made In german it will be better/superior than another vw plantrolleyes

      The current german built vw's have REALLY covered themselves in glory lately.... biggrin

      • Yetiman says,
        1 year ago
        2 likes
        If I paid a Euro price, I want a made in Germany.
        • CAZZO says,
          1 year ago
          2 likes
          If I paid a Euro price, I want a made in Germany.


          Yeah because german made vw's have covered themselves in glory,laugh

          I would go out on a limb and say they are THE WORST built cars with multi-issues in europe, pay a premium and got the worst smile

          = marketing 101! laugh

          • Yetiman says,
            1 year ago
            "Rather a Porsche, has the label and the company does not have major fiscal problems...

            Plus females have never heared of a kit car company under the name of Lotus"

            This is your comment in regards to a Lotus Exige.
            I think you have an Image problem.
  • BH says,
    1 year ago
    damn you VW!!!..
  • Michael L says,
    1 year ago
    Will they be releasing a 118TSI replacement?

    Also cant wait for the GTD. This might be a real option for me in the next 18 months.
    • Ian says,
      1 year ago
      They just canned the GTD coming to AUS. Only GTI is coming
  • MotorMouth says,
    1 year ago
    3 likes
    Wait on, I thought the Golf 7 was going back to a torsion-beam rear end in their mainstream models?

    And I really don't understand journalists' obsession with Golf interiors. I think they are bland and this one seems to continue the tradition. Seriously, look at the instrument binnacle - a Holden Cruze has a way nicer design. When I test drove a Mk V Golf against an Astra, I thought they were very similar in most respects, except the interior gave the Astra a big leg-up (price was also a big factor).

    It is also strange that they have ditched the multi-award-winning twin-charged engine completely (here and overseas). Maybe it was too expensive to produce?

    Fixed price servicing costs are still a joke. My Astra cost $280 per service, one service a year. Over 72 months that works out at $1680 so $2112 just seems like a guarantee you will be ripped off. In fact it is not much cheaper than the servicing was on my Brera ($350 a year).

    Overall, I can't see any compelling reason to choose this over a Cruze. For just a grand more than a base-model 90TSI you can have an SRi with 132kW and 17" alloys (the 90TSI has steel wheels).
    • Jackal says,
      1 year ago
      2 likes
      Motor Mouth.... you just don't get it do you! If you are trying to compare a Cruze against a Golf, there is no comparison. Tacky hard plastics compared to soft quality interior in the Golf, 25 million people cant be wrong! How many Cruzes are sold a year?
      • MotorMouth says,
        1 year ago
        3 likes
        If anyone doesn't get it, honey, it's you. Both are priced in the same region, both are small segment hatches with similar utility. Anyone considering one who didn't at least look at other is an idiot.

        But I sure as hell don't get the concept of hard vs soft plastics. It's all just plastic to me and, if anything, harder plastics will be more durable. If you have kids that could be really important. I am much more interested in design and whilst the Cruze's interior has quite similar design to several other small cars, I'd rather spend a day behind the wheel of it than a Golf.

        As for sales, in 2012 VW sold 699,148 Golfs, while GM sold 661,325 Cruzes. They were the 7th and 8th best selling cars globally.
        • Damian says,
          1 year ago
          2 likes
          MotorMouth, the Cruze does seem competitive on paper, with the SRI being particularly good value. However, there's more to it than the specifications sheet, being:

          1) Resale value - the Volkswagen has slightly stronger resale values than the Holden, hence the price gap is not as big as initially perceived.

          2) Fuel efficiency - The Golf consumes 5.5L/100km in 90TSI guise and 5.2L/100km in 103TSI guise. The Cruze 1.6 turbo is rated at 7.9L/100km, which is almost a 3L/100km difference.

          3) Suspension - Cruze is still using a torsion beam rear end, whilst the Golf employs a multi-link set up.

          4) Transmission - 7 speed DSG in both 90TSI and 103TSI, as opposed to conventional 6-speed auto in the Cruze. Many will argue that the reliability of DSG is questionable, but that's what the 5 year transmission warranty is for.

          No doubt, the Cruze is really good value for money and at $22,490 (manual), Holden deserve to sell bucket loads. However, one cannot discount the value of the Golf, which has many merits its competitors just can't replicate.
          • MotorMouth says,
            1 year ago
            3 likes
            1. 3 year residuals on each are within a few percent of each other and are almost certainly a case of no-one paying full retail for a Cruze and everyone paying full retail for a Golf. i.e. the actual trade-in value of each compared to the price paid will be similar and, therefore, a non-issue.

            2. The 1.6 turbo is not Cruze's only engine choice. The 1.4 iTi returns 6.9 l/100km, a figure which should improve with the new slushbox. It's prices start at $21,290 so you'd have a good job ahead of you trying to make up the price difference in petrol savings, unless you keep the car for 20 years.

            3. Megane RS265 also employs a torsion beam rear end that is even less sophisticated than Cruze's Watts Link, yet it is widely acknowledged as the best hot hatch chassis of all time. i.e. Who cares? Not VW because they are offering torsion beam rear-ends on some Golf 7 models, presumably because they don't think customers will notice the difference.

            4. DSG's are notorious for their jiggly low-speed performance, where most of us will use them most, whereas Cruze's new Gen II auto has been universally praised. Autos are also lighter than DSGs, which is why high performance brands like Lamborghini prefer a single clutch set-up.
    • RhysH says,
      1 year ago
      your meant to get your car serviced every 6 months your comparing a once a year service compared to 2 services every year. it should be $3360 to $2112 works out heaps cheaper.
    • Wheresbear says,
      1 year ago
      3 likes
      I tend to agree about the Golf interior - it is very subtle and some would say underdone. However if you see one in the flesh it does come across as being very well finished, fits together beautifully and is generally classy (particularly the Highline black piano finish). However I would really, really disagree about the Holden Cruze! I drove an update model 1.6 turbo SRi-V recently and I just can't get past the cheap,crappy interior which really gives away it's Daewoo heritage. It doesn't fit together well, looks like a 80's video game arcade and to completely kill it is in spray paint silver which rubs off and wears in no time. A sad effort for what is otherwise one a very, very good car.
    • Will says,
      6 months ago
      Could not agree more with motormouth.

      The Golf does not actually excel in anything. It will do everything at a satisfactory level which suits buyers who want an all-rounder car.

      Cost/Value, options, exterior, interior, reliability, comfort, performance. You can name several other car makes/models that will beat the Golf at one or more of these categories at the same or even lower price.

      I would not mind the Golf as much if the patriotic owners and journalists would be more humble and realistic in their opinions and how the car compares to its competition. It's just a Volkswagen, a well-sorted car, but hardly a benchmark setter.

      It is mildly amusing watching proud Golf owners panic when the warranty is nearing its end after they have had their share of openly badmouthing the all the other great options out there.
  • Amber says,
    1 year ago
    Only thing that I don't like is if you want to get the Driver's Assist Package you have to order and wait until August. Going to test drive tomorrow and buy one within the next week after calling many dealers and VW HQ to try and get a Comfortline with DA but to no avail. Ugh!
    • Useless Golf says,
      1 year ago
      1 like
      Amber, Think twice before you buy. I owned a (2009) MK VI Golf 118 TSI with DSG. The car blew an engine at 24,000km's followed by a gearbox 4 months later. Hundreds of owners of the same vehicle have experienced exactly the same problems and VW do nothing to solve the problems. They replace the engine, fix the gearbox and hope they last long enough for the car to be out of warranty. I know of one owner that has had four engines so far and the vehicle has travelled 44,000kms. If you go ahead good luck I believe you'll need it.
      • Sam says,
        1 year ago
        2 likes
        I have owned a 2009 MK VI Golf 118 TSI with a manual gearbox. So far have done 75,000kms with absolutely no problems; not one. Have test driven new Golf and really like it, but I really want a manual so I don't know whether to switch to DSG after 25 years of driving manuals, or just wait for the GTI at the end of the year.
      • FrugalOne says,
        1 year ago
        3 likes
        Amber, Think twice before you buy. I owned a (2009) MK VI Golf 118 TSI with DSG. The car blew an engine at 24,000km's followed by a gearbox 4 months later. Hundreds of owners of the same vehicle have experienced exactly the same problems and VW do nothing to solve the problems. They replace the engine, fix the gearbox and hope they last long enough for the car to be out of warranty. I know of one owner that has had four engines so far and the vehicle has travelled 44,000kms. If you go ahead good luck I believe you'll need it.



        made in germany, german engineering? laugh
  • DS says,
    1 year ago
    1 like
    The service manager of a large dealership that has VW and Renault told me they get many warranty issues on VW's and far fewer on Renaults.
    • Chris says,
      1 year ago
      In order to make this statement have any relevance would be to compare the sales figures of the manufactures. I was a service advisor for a big Japanese manufacture for many years. I can tell you we had 0 Saab warranty claims. Must make them a very reliable car... My point is that I'm sure they would sell many many more VWs. National figures show that VW sold 11 times as much as Renault last year. So if the cars were on average equally as reliable as each other - there should be a ratio of 11 to 1 warranty claims. I'm sure that would be enough for a service manager to claim to have 'many more...'
  • John says,
    1 year ago
    3 likes
    I find it quite remarkable that you can claim that "Any manufacturer would give their eye-teeth for a badge with the recognised qualities of the Golf" These cars have given so many problems to so many people all over the world. Their DSG transmission is not only a joke, it's downright dangerous. I've driven one and have nearly been cleaned up at roundabouts when the car fails to respond when the accelerator is pressed. My friends golf, which has only been serviced at VW service centres, recently had its fuel injectors break down causing approximately $6,000 of damage to the engine. It's all very well to extol the virtues of its drive but in the real world its reliability is non-existent. What depresses me is that so many people buy cars based on the advice proffered by so called motoring journalist experts, who never seem to consider anything can go wrong under the bonnet. In the case of the VW just about everything that can go wrong under the bonnet, has. These days, if someone tells you "It goes like a golf" you should immediately think about buying something else.
    • Tim O'Brien says,
      1 year ago
      7 likes
      Yo John, not sure you make a fair point there about our role in providing a review of a car.

      We drive new or near new cars, and review them on that basis.

      And I don't think we can review them fairly any other way - that is, we provide an assessment 'as we find them' on the way they drive, the performance, handling, the overall feel of quality inside and out, the feature list comparative to competitors - all that stuff you know about.

      We also (in our longer format reviews here at TMR) provide information about warranty - ie. over what period the manufacturer will stand behind its product and guarantee its fitness for purpose.

      What might happen over the longer period of ownership of a car is not immaterial to the substance of the review, and, with the benefit of hindsight, can give the lie to comments we might make about a car, but I would argue we can only assess what is under our hands.

      Should we apply the crystal ball to those assessments? In other words, should we burn the witch before we know whether it's a witch or not?

      Beyond a commentary as to the apparent build quality, alignments, bad noises or shudders (etc), I'm not sure we can do much more than that fairly.

      It's up to consumer law to protect the buyer on "fitness for purpose", and up to the company to honour its commitments under that law, to respond appropriately to customer concerns or complaints, to act appropriately on those concerns and to attend fastidiously to their legal obligations.

      So, should we have warned readers that all was not well with DSGs, that you would seem to be arguing? (Note that the review above was written before the current recall and controversy that resulted from the case in front of the Victorian Coroner.)

      That's not quite so clear-cut as it might first appear.

      While I (personally) was aware of the recall in China, and also aware that DSGs had a ten-year warranty in the USA, I've not driven nor ever reviewed a Chinese-built DSG.

      While aware of anecdotal information (some of it coming in through the comments on TMR) that there were growing customer concerns, I know of only two instances of VW failures - one, a Mk 6 GTI that was off the road for a considerable period waiting on a part (that was eventually rectified), and, another, a friend's Mk 6 that suffered a catastrophic DSG failure outside of warranty.

      In the second instance, VW replaced the DSG free-of-charge despite it being outside of warranty (and before this current imbroglio).

      And, for the record, I don't doubt that there are more - perhaps significantly more - similar instances, nor do I doubt the reports of failures that people are making sincerely.

      But can I respectfully point out that you will notice your letter has been published.

      We happen to like seeing contrary views - not only challenging our opinions, but also challenging the products we review.

      We consider the comments on the ownership experience to be a key part of 'the body of information' that sits around a product. In the case of reviews on The Motor Report, to be an ownership forum.

      We see this as part of the strength of an independent site like TMR.

      With respect, we think your comments, and all the comments on each side of it, provide prospective buyers with collective additional reports from owners about their experience and recommendations they might wish to pass to others.

      We would hope that intending car buyers might weigh up those comments from our readers in deciding on their vehicle purchases.

      Isn't that fair enough?

      Also for the record, we don't mind comments critical of our parentage, pointing out our shortcomings, giving us a spearing every now and again or questioning which end of the gene pool we slithered out of.

      Tim





      • Reg Howes says,
        1 year ago
        2 likes
        Tim, you must not know how to use google. I did research prior to buying a new small car about 4 months ago. There a numerous forums detailing the horror stories about engine and gearbox failures in the small VW's I looked at dozens of reviews and comparisons, and sadly only a few reviewers warned potential buyers of the considerable reliability problems known to exist. I believe you could say to your readers that in view of problems with the previous model it might be wise to wait a little while before making a purchase. If this model is unreliable as the last it will not take long for the problems to surface.
        • Sue says,
          1 year ago
          I am feeling a little disappointed as I currently own a 2004 Comfortline V and was hoping that VW had solved all of the electrical problems 9 years later. I love my Golf as far as the handling and comfort but worry daily about the continuing electrical warnings I get e.g sunroof opens and closes by itself, engine light stays on for months on end then just goes out, temperature warning about coolant level beeps almost every morning even though I keep checking it, All the gear selections light up at once which results in no display of what gear you are in (automatic). Fan runs excessively cutting in and out (mechanic has assured me no damage is being done to the engine) and a few days ago while driving the gears changes were so jumpy I felt like a learner driver in a manual. So please tell me these problems have been rectified so I can confidently buy another Golf
          • CAZZO says,
            1 year ago
            2 likes
            I think you might need help!

            If you buy another golf after all those issues you are one brave girl smilei have a bridge you may well be interested in laugh

            Buy a Japanese brand, end-of-story biggrin

            U will see when you try to trade it in, they wont be all that keen to trade it, golfs are bad nobody bids on them at the wholesale auctions they just do laps week after week
      • Joe says,
        1 year ago
        I wanted to buy a VW Golf GTi or an Audi A3 but was convinced not to.

        Four people in the automotive business advised me that Golf (and its sister car Audi A3) has many build/reliability issues. Not just the DSG.

        The 4 people deal in the auto business on different levels but it amazed me that they all agreed...to a man!

        Their backgrounds:
        > A car broker
        > A car salesman (my nephew so no ulterior motive)
        > My European car service firm - they only service Euro cars
        > A technical advisor at RACQ

        There is much more than anecdotal evidence of the problems with VW and I think it's remiss of motoring journalists and publications to ignore it.
        • David says,
          1 year ago
          You have been advised well.
          I bought a brand new 2007 VW Golf R32 DSG back in Nov 2007. It was great for the first few months and then problems started to surface. Various problems with DSG (no surprises here), the engine randomly over-revving to 1500rpm at idle for no reason (this should only happen when engine is cold), broken steering mount, suspension creaking like a 20 year old bed, unexplained increase in fuel consumption, rattles from various places etc
          That's all I can remember for now given that I got rid of it 2.5 years ago.
          Stay well away. They are the most poorly designed and built cars by miles. Easy to fool people with attractive pricing, supposedly better "German engineering" and fancy interior.
          Ownership of my $10K second-hand Ford Fiesta has been far more pleasant than the $55K rip-off that my VW turned out to be. Glad I got rid of it and I don't miss it a single bit.
  • Paul says,
    11 months ago
    1 like
    Hi guys.
    I've got a VW-Golf MK6 2011 and not happy at all.
    This is not a car made in Germany because it has mechanical problems: DSG started shuddering at 20.000 klm and the dealer changed full pack clutch after few months of driving about 7.000 klm the the car started again showing shudder in DSG.The second time has been changed another full pack clutch and the car still has shudder,because the guys from the dealer service centre don't know how to adgust the software right. Now I'm driving a car not Germany made maybe it was made in 3rd country Mexica,Africa with cheap parts from China.My car still has a clutch vibration and none will fix only the robot maybe.A lot of people when their car have problems with DSG,clutch,brake discks, made from cheap stuff.No more VW only Japanese cars
    • golf118tsidsg says,
      10 months ago
      1 like
      Hi there, I have a golf 118 tsi dsg

      1 X Blown engine, 2 clutch packs, due to shuddering, new tires on delivery due to a fault, a mechatronic recall, turbo cooling pipe leaking, limp home mode, 5 software recalls, pinging and smoking, cutting out from time to time... and the car has not even done 50k kms, replacement throttle body wiring, and warning lights up the wazoo - I had enough and complained to VW and called them daily


      anyway, VW made me an offer to hand in my car and get a new golf 7 but I had to pay in some money...

      thoughts?

  • Barry in Caloundra says,
    8 months ago
    I own a BD2012 CD2013 Czech built Skoda 1.4 Special 90TSI 7dsg. Almost identical specs to the Golf. With 6000kms I am happy so far. I'm surprised the test Golf delivered only 7.7 l/100. I get well under 6 l/100 on the hiway and about 6.5 combined. Far better than my old 2008 i30. Up to 1000kms on a 55 litre tank. I'm aware of the DSG beat up but suspect a lot of media hype. I have no shares in Skoda but encourage more interest since they are basically VW clones- and a lot cheaper.
  • Powerglide says,
    2 months ago
    We just bought a Gen 7 basic model - Wife's choice. I love it. Almost as much as my C-classe Merc, and at 23k versus about 90k (all the boxes ticked), I just can't see the $67k difference. The Golf goes, it stops, it handles, comfy seats, good audio, all the IT interfaces, cruise, etc, etc. But hear this: it is a HOOT to drive! The dynamic handling quality is exceptional - and this is a BASE model: heaven knows what the GTi ($50k), the Performance ($55k), and the R32 (60k) are like. I suppose to be fair the Golf should be compared with the Merc B-classe base model, and then it still wins out at about half the cost. I'm just emphasising what a really GOOD car it is. And the ergonomics, both physical and functional, are copy-book perfect. The interior smacks Corolla and Mazda 3 right out of the stadium. It comes with 3 years' roadside service (no RACV needed), and fixed-price servicing for 6 years. I think the warrantee is 3/50. Can't believe the performance from a 1.4l motor with a single turbo - and NO turbo lag, lads. Tell my why anyone would want to buy some Korean bean can when you can have this for the same or cheaper?

    Best car I ever owned prior to this was a Peugeot 504, and the Merc is nice, but it really is still over priced in Oz - have a look on the web at what they cost in Euro and the US compared with OZ.

    But I'm still going to keep the Merc.

    - Powerglide
    • Powerglide says,
      2 months ago
      ... I should add that I drove a Gen 6 Golf when it was released a few years back, as well as a runout Gen 5, and bought neither. This, with a Polo already in the family very happily, it having replaced a much loved Peugeot 306. The Gen 7 is an entirely new car; however, the four-door sedan version, although new on the outside, still uses the Gen 6 platform, so, as always, caveat emptor. I didn't buy the Gen 6 because I didn't like it; all those posts about quality control and the 'DSG' auto gear box came later. Mind you, I was warned about variable build quality going back to the Gen 4 model. Also, I wouldn't have an auto, given the choice (no manual option in the W204 Merc), and other family members have much the same view. Another family member, quite independently, purchased a Passat - mit auto (their choice), and after nearly a year's driving have find it to be faultless.

      Remember Daimler-Benz went through a bad period in the late nineties-early noughties with cars built in the third world, and Lexus killed them (BMW also, but I can't understand why, BMs being so unreliable - but that's another story). So what did they do? - they went back to German manufacture and at-home quality control, replacing or fixeing ANYTHING that went wrong without question. They even recalled ALL the early W204s following a batch with faulty injectors that was delivered to the UK market only. VAG may by now have learned that lesson, too.

      I notice that all the negative posts on the Golf relate to Gen 6 and earlier models, and I think that the Gen 7 car is a fresh start over. Time, of course, will tell, but it has been out for almost a year now, and I have heard NO bad reports, much less anything like experiences with Gen 5/6.

      Were I to replace the Merc, it would be a choice between another Merc, or a GTi (maybe a Performance), and at a savings of $30k +, the Golf would probably win. The Lexus IS is nice, but it is SO expensive, and much less fun to drive than the Golf. I repeat, in its class, and for the money, who would buy anything else? I'd recommend either the base model (GREAT value!), or a GTi - the intermediate models offer extra bits and pieces that you really don't need, and at a very solid price hike.

      Powerglide.
Get the Latest

advertisement