BHP Billiton Announces 5-Star Safety Requirement For Entire Fleet

Malcolm Flynn | Jun 1, 2012

Resource giant BHP Billiton is the latest company to stipulate a minimum 5-Star NCAP safety rating across its vehicle fleet.

Applying to its global operations, the new policy covers both passenger and light commercial vehicles (LCVs).

The move surpasses the Australian Federal Government’s fleet-purchase rules, which last year mandated a 5-Star rating for its passenger fleet vehicles, but is only increasing its LCV policy to 4-Stars from July.

Manufacturers of Australia’s top four selling LCVs - Toyota HiLux, Nissan Navara, and Mitsubishi Triton (each with only 4-Star ANCAP ratings) will be concerned with BHP Billiton’s policy change, as each depend heavily on sales to such fleet operators.

Speaking with GoAuto this week, Toyota Australia's Mike Breen confirmed that the carmaker will respond with a 5-Star upgrade for its HiLux in 2013.

To achieve a 5-Star ANCAP rating, changes will likely include stability control and curtain airbags as standard across the range instead of just high-end models as present.

2012 ford ranger 01 xl xlt 01

The lesser-selling Ford Ranger, Mazda BT-50 and Volkswagen Amarok are likely to benefit in the short term at least, as each already carries a 5-Star safety rating.

A safety rating is yet to be applied to Holden’s new Colorado range of LCVs, but five stars are expected.

Also set to benefit are the locally produced Holden Commodore and Ford Falcon ute models, which were among the first LCVs to earn 5-Star status.

Currently, just 18 percent of LCV models on the Australian market qualify for a 5-Star safety rating, and such policy changes will encourage this percentage to increase.

“This announcement will serve as added impetus for manufacturers to include higher levels of safety not only in passenger vehicles but in particular the light commercial market segment which is lagging behind in terms of safety implementation.” ANCAP CEO Nicholas Clarke said in a recent release.

He also stressed the significance to employers of such policies:

“With one third of compensable work related fatalities involving a vehicle, vehicle safety is paramount in protecting employees, and investing in safer vehicles is an investment in the safety of these employees.”

Filed under: Toyota, ancap, Triton, hilux, toyota hilux, mitsubishi triton, News, nissan navara, pickup, Navara, bhp billiton, bhp

Leave a comment:
Enter comment here.
  • Martin says,
    3 years ago
    For a company who pride themselves on their safety record, it seems like a gross oversight that BHP would allow light vehicles that did not have the highest safety rating onto their sites.

    Also, how disgusting is that Toyota are only choosing to finally supply all of their hilux vehicles in a state that would qualify them to be 5-star vehicles based on one companies requirement? What about the tens of thousands of other hilux utes on the roads that still only meet 4 star safety? Why are they considered less important than a mining company?
    • jesse says,
      3 years ago
      1 like
      cause people would still buy them when they were 4 star... and until recently ALL the cars in that market were 4 star. something like 60% of sales go to fleets like BHP, if they all follow suit then toyota have no choice but make the car 5 star or lose sales.

      whats worrying is that this may just be an on-paper safety move like many of BHP's initiatives. the effectiveness of stability control and abs is dubious on gravel and particularly on constantly wet slippery haul roads leading into pits where you dont want to understeer. and 5 star vehicles like the Amorok that aren't designed to take a bullbar wont last long on the roads from camp to the mine in the dark with roo's jumping out...
  • Roger says,
    3 years ago
    Bad news for Landcruiser too, that is only 4 star. Luckily Prado could take up the slack. In order to get a heavy duty off road wagon they would need to go Landrover or Mercedes and lose reliability.
    • jesse says,
      3 years ago
      particularly the 70 series cruiser and upcoming dual cab 70 series.... both of which are current mine favourites.
  • Smart us says,
    3 years ago
    biggrinbiggrinbiggrinbiggrin 5 stars??? the 5th star is for pedestrian safety... whats the point in bushland for that???bleh
  • Tocam says,
    3 years ago
    A 5-star vehicle is nothing when unsafe drivers are behind the wheels.

    Vehicle safety star-ratings never concerned me, because they imply only up to 3-4 stars for the vehicle's core structure safety integrity, that one last star is an enabler interference to help/assist protect the idiots who can't drive.
  • njk says,
    3 years ago
    really im just wondering what and this affects does that just mean rio fleet or any one/ sub contractors that drive on there sites im confused
Get the Latest