2012 Subaru XV Launch Review

Tony O'Kane | 120 Comments

2012 SUBARU XV REVIEW

Bigger, bolder and brimming with equipment, the new 2012 Subaru XV is now in Australia - and it’s gunning for a significant slice of the compact SUV market.

Previous iterations of the XV existed only as variants within the Impreza hatchback range, but for the 2012 model year, Subaru has launched the XV badge as a separate, standalone offering.

The 2012 XV’s sheetmetal, engine and many suspension components may be shared with the Impreza hatchback (due to launch here next month), but there are now six XV variants to choose from, rather than just two.

Starting the range is the $28,490 XV 2.0i manual, which costs $1000 more than the outgoing 2011 Impreza XV manual, but packs more standard equipment like engine start-stop, a reversing camera and driver’s knee airbag.

The flagship is the XV 2.0-S with the optional CVT automatic. It costs a substantial $36,990, but comes standard with dual-zone climate control, satellite navigation, HID headlamps, leather upholstery, a sunroof and heated front seats.

All models get a drastically-improved interior, which is intelligently laid out and features a soft-touch dash, window sills and padded door armrests.

A stretched wheelbase has also done wonders for the XV. The back seat now features loads of legroom for adults, and there’s ample headroom even on sunroof-equipped models.

The centre seatbelt spool has been relocated to improve rearward vision, however the boot capacity of 310 litres is well under that of many other small hatches. The latter can be blamed on the space-saver tyre, which is larger than typical space-savers and pushes the boot floor up.

Sales strategy

Compared to some in the segment, the XV is expensive, however every XV variant has AWD as standard (and most competitor's entry-level offerings are 2WD).

According to Subaru’s marketing chief, Andrew Caie, when the XV's pricing is adjusted for spec, it represents better value than key rivals Nissan's Dualis, the Mitsubishi ASX and Hyundai ix35. That's something for you to judge against your budget.

Also a plus, it’s more fuel efficient than those competitors, despite being AWD.

The CVT-equipped XV consumes just 7.0 l/100km on the comined cycle, and the manual uses 7.3 l/100km. For comparison, the 2WD Dualis ST CVT drinks 8.2 l/100km.

The XV is lighter than most of its rivals, in some cases by up to 240kg. It rides higher too, and can go further off the beaten track thanks to its 220mm of ground clearance

With this combination of fuel efficiency and versatility, Subaru believes the XV will sell in healthy volumes in Australia - especially the highly-specced SV 2.0i-S.

Around 500 sales per month are expected, and with sales in the sub-compact SUV segment nearly doubling in the past two years Subaru expects there’s plenty of opportunity for the XV to capture a significant slice of that market.

The XV is also expected to attract a different buyer to the Subaru brand. The age of the typical Subaru buyer tends to range between the mid-40s and mid-50s, however the XV is targeted at a younger crowd.

Although there’s some significant price overlap with the Forester (which starts at $30,990), Subaru doesn’t expect the arrival of the XV to cannibalise Forester sales. The difference in size sets the two apart, with the Forester pitched squarely at families rather than young couples.

The Drive

The XV’s powertrains and transmissions are all-new, although you’d be forgiven for thinking the XV’s 2.0 litre flat-four is a carryover unit.

Power and torque figures for the new FB20 engine are exactly the same as the preceding EJ20 (110kW, 196Nm), however internal measurements have changed to give the FB20 a longer stroke and the camshafts are now chain-driven instead of belt-driven.

There are friction-reducing measures designed to improve the mechanical efficiency of the engine, and lighter components to boost engine response. The FB20 wasn’t designed to chase bigger power numbers, but rather to improve fuel economy.

On the road, there’s a clearly discernable difference between the FB20 and the old-tech EJ20. The new engine revs more freely right up to its 6500rpm redline, and the low-rpm torque hole of the outgoing EJ20 is nowhere to be found in the FB20.

It does, however, feel a bit sluggish - particularly up hills. The gearing in the six-speed manual transmission is quite tall, and there’s a big gap between second and third gear.

Coupled with the engine’s lowish torque output, the result is slow acceleration and a significant loss of momentum up moderate inclines when in higher gears at highway speed.

The engine is much perkier above 4000rpm though, so dropping back a gear or two and feeding in more revs helps get around the XV’s torque deficiency.

While the engine might not excite much, the chassis is more than entertaining.

The use of STI-sourced ball-joints in the rear lower suspension-arms improves handling precision, and the XV feels a lot more alert and agile than its competitors.

In other words, while it might look like a jacked-up crossover, it definitely doesn’t handle like one. It was particularly competent on the gravel roads we sampled at the XV’s Tasmanian launch.

Stability and braking performance is good on both sealed and unsealed roads, and the VDC cuts in as soon as any slip is detected.

The manual feels more neutral thanks to its 50:50 torque split, while the front-biased 60:40 split of the CVT tended to induce more understeer - particularly on gravel.

We also noticed that deep corrugations induced a fair amount of rack rattle in the CVT-equipped XV we drove; it was absent however in the manual cars.

That aside, the CVT dealt with inclines better and had a spread of ratios more suited to the XV’s output, however it emitted a constant whine whenever the engine was under any load.

The engine start-stop feature works a charm in the city, with a quick start-up time regardless of transmission (CVT or manual).

A screen in the XV’s multi-function display also displays how long the start-stop system has been active, and on a typical workday commute the system could save a substantial amount of fuel.

TMR VERDICT | OVERALL

Subaru might be onto a winner with the XV - on this first look, we’d rate it one of the best of the sub-compact SUVs.

It’s not the cheapest, but every model in the range soundly beats its competitors for value-for-money. There’s plenty of equipment in the XV that simply isn’t available in other small SUVs at the same price point.

It could definitely do with more torque or shorter gearing (we think a turbocharged or diesel variant would make sense), but it handles, brakes and steers well, and the interior is a significant step up compared to the old Impreza XV.

Follow Tony O'Kane on Google+

Filed under: Featured, review, Subaru, petrol, crossover, awd, suv, hatch, compact suv, CVT, small, family, Advice, special-featured, 4cyl, 5door, subaru xv, 2012 subaru xv, xv, xv 2.0i, xv 2.0i-s, xv 2.0i-l

Leave a comment:

Required
Required
Enter comment here.
  • Balthazaaaaaargh says,
    3 years ago
    4 likes
    Looks a million times better inside, looking forward to sitting in one. Still reckon it looks bloody weird on the outside though...
  • Lotus says,
    3 years ago
    6 likes
    The XV looks great! Just wondering where those prices apply to though - the prices on the Subaru Australia website are quite different??
    • robert johnson says,
      3 years ago
      4 likes
      I bought one yesterday, I think its a great car inside and out, handles wonderfully and engine does a great job of being efficient, whilst not lacking in power.
      • Andrew Andreou says,
        3 years ago
        7 likes
        Picked mine up last Saturday.
        Very impressed but I am a bit biased as this is my 23 rd Subaru.
      • Tony says,
        2 years ago
        Did you get manual or automatic?
        • Jason(ScoobyXV-L) says,
          2 years ago
          1 like
          CVT
    • Tony O'Kane says,
      3 years ago
      Hi Lotus

      Pricing on Subaru's consumer website is inclusive of on-roads costs, and as such is substantially higher than retail pricing.

      Because on-road costs can vary from state-to-state, all new car pricing on TMR is for retail price only.

      Hope this helps.
  • Lochie says,
    3 years ago
    1 like
    Great article, just wondering how this would go towing a trailer? I have driven one and loved it, but as the review said, it's a bit down on power. Although this will mainly be a city car and on-road weekend adventurer, I will need to tow a 800kg load from time to time (twice a year), over distances of 1000km and up some decent hills (like the Moonbi range near Tamworth and Cunningham;s gap, Qld). Any one with thoughts?
    • ben says,
      3 years ago
      2 likes
      lochie yeah buy a couple of camels, they only need a bottle a water every few hundred km's, and can go up any hill
      • Lochie says,
        3 years ago
        1 like
        lochie yeah buy a couple of camels, they only need a bottle a water every few hundred km's, and can go up any hill


        Haha, yeah Tom was thinking more mules or some kind of alpaca, camel might be a bit difficult to garage.
        • Lochie says,
          3 years ago
          lochie yeah buy a couple of camels, they only need a bottle a water every few hundred km's, and can go up any hill


          Haha, yeah Tom was thinking more mules or some kind of alpaca, camel might be a bit difficult to garage.


          Sorry, I meant Ben
      • Jason(ScoobyXV-L) says,
        2 years ago
        Be testing towing a trailer next weekend
        Towing a Camper Trailer on Easter Long weekend can't wait to test her out
    • Tom says,
      3 years ago
      hey lochie it says that on the subaru website that the xv can tow a 750kg trailer without brakes and with brakes can tow 1400. i reckon u could still tow 800 without brakes coz i think these are the safety requirements
      • Lochie says,
        3 years ago
        Thanks Tom, my trailer has brakes, so I will certainly be able to tow it safely over that 750KG mark. I was more concerned about the 2.0L engine and it's ability to tow something that heavy without causing it too much grief up a hill. On my test drive it seemed to like hanging in second gear up a 600m long but very steep incline and with a trailer I'm assuming this is likely to be first gear. Therefore, I'm wondering if anyone would consider this to be a deal breaker or if that's acceptable for towing.
        • Karl says,
          3 years ago
          I think you might be better off in something with a diesel engine. Depends if you need the AWD.
          From memory, the Cruze has a 1200kg braked towing capacity which was at the higher end of its class.
        • OutbackOZ
          OutbackOZ says,
          3 years ago
          Lochie, for the price u can jump into an ST X-Trail with 2000 towing, now if you read some of my post I'm not the biggest Nissan fan but that's mostly due to there diesels. I know that the X-Trail can tow very well and it's a good alround car plus it has very few problems (QR25 engine) just a thought mate
        • Chris says,
          2 years ago
          Hey Lochie, just wondering if you've found any answers to this question as mine is the same. I have a 700kg caravan, with brakes, to tow. My Impreza R can tow it fine, but it's slow on the hills and I wonder about the long term effects on the engine, not that I do that much towing, but... I'd like to know how the XV would go up the Moonbis and The Gap too!
  • Paula says,
    3 years ago
    1 like
    Given the retail price what is the drive away price in metro melb. Tks
    • Balthazaaaaaargh says,
      3 years ago
      1 like
      Hey Paula theres a price calculator on the subaru website eh smile
  • Deborah says,
    3 years ago
    1 like
    I bought the orange 2.0iS Auto, and I can't wait to pick it up next week! I'm very excited.
    I traded my 2011 Outback for it..
    The Outback was OK but I disliked the clunky manual gears, and hated that there was no lumbar support! (What a stupid thing to take away from a car...especially when the car makers slogan is "All for the driver")
    It was my second Outback but unfortunately I never really loved it. But I think I am going to LOVE this sporty little XV.
    Might take me a little while to get used to the size difference, but I'm sure all the 'fruit' will make that a bit easier smile

    A few people have asked about price...
    I got about $500 worth of extras on the car, and my drive away price for the 2.0iS auto was $40,000.
    One dealer wanted $41,500, and another wanted $41,000 for exactly the same thing. So it's always worth shopping around to compare prices.
    • Mike says,
      2 years ago
      Hi Deborah, congrats on new car! How do you like it so far? Do you mind me asking which dealership you got it from? I'm hopping around at the moment for best deal on 2.0iS Auto as well smile And what extras did you get with it?
      • Deborah says,
        2 years ago
        1 like
        Hi Mikesmile I haven't picked it up yet...I get it tomorrow morning, in 25 hours! (Yes, I'm counting down LOL)
        I've gotta say I'm not happy about one thing though, and I don't even have the car yet...
        The dealer didn't have the S model when we first went in to look at and test drive the XV. So we studied all the specs at the subaru.com.au site, and basically bought the 2.0i-S sight unseen.

        It clearly say's on the Australia Subaru website...Cupholders - centre console (with sliding lid)
        The brochure we were given after we purchased all shows a photo of a sliding lid over the cupholders in the centre console.

        But the car I am picking up tomorrow does NOT have the sliding lid, just holes, so I'm not particularly happy about that. I hope Subaru will rectify that for me asap.

        Yes, the extras I got were things like bonnet protector, the rear step panel, deep dish floor mats, dash mat and driver and passenger window tint.
        I bought it from the Bunbury dealership...it's the third new Subaru we've bought from them and they always look after us smile
        • Deborah says,
          2 years ago
          2 likes
          Just a follow up...
          I have my new orange 2.0i-S and OMG I LOVE it!!

          ...LOVE IT, LOVE IT, LOVE IT !!
          Actually tears of joy as I was driving it home smile

          Apart from that little thing with not have the sliding lid that Subaru Aust said it would have, I love everything about it.

          The reverse camera screen on the S model is the big screen where the sat nav is, and not the little screen up the top like on the L model.
          It's way better.

          The audio side of things is important to me, and I was actually shocked to see how easy the iPod controls are...and Oh My Goodness it's a touch screen! It almost feels like using an iPad.
          This is a 1000% improvement over the Subaru Media Hub I had in the '11 Outback.
          All the controls on the sat nav and audio are so intuitive and easy to use..I love it so much.

          Even all the dials and buttons have a really nice feel to them. I was a little worried going from my Outback (which has a lovely finish to the interior) to the XV, which I though might be slightly less in quality. But no, I'm really really happy.

          So glad I went for the S!
          The leather seats are fabulous, very comfy and the power controls add a little luxury.

          As for the driving side of it, both my darling husband and I are thrilled!
          Because I was going from a 2.5 Outback to a 2.0 XV I was a little concerned there might be a lack of power. But no, I am more than happy with how it drives...with how it overtakes, and feels on the road. There's plenty of power. It's great.
          Have I mentioned that I LOVE it?

          The on/off thing felt a little strange the first time it clicked in. But it works extremely well.
          We live in a rural area and are country drivers so maybe it won't be used much, but I can imagine this on/off feature would be perfect for city drivers.

          I am so glad now that I traded my '11 Outback for the XV...best move ever!

          While I'm here I just want to say a big thank you to Bunbury Subaru. It's always an absolute pleasure to deal with everyone there....they have our business forever smile

          • Mike says,
            2 years ago
            Wow! Congrats! Great to hear you are enjoying the new car so much. Are you driving the automatic, and if so how do you like it? Have you tried pairing the phone via bluetooth and streaming music? Would be great to hear from anyone who has done it (iPhone).

            Once more - congratulations on your new XV!

            P.S. What colour did you choose? smile
            • Mike says,
              2 years ago
              Oops, just noticed - you mentioned - Auto...
              • Deborah says,
                2 years ago
                Mike, it's Orange! Magnificent Orange!
                Beautiful smile
                Yes, I LOVE the auto!
                It's so smooth and I haven't noticed any noise that some reviews have said. I think the auto is perfect.

                No I haven't connected an iPhone, only because we don't own a mobile phone of any sort (live in a rural area that does not have mobile reception).
                But to set up everything else was SO simple...I can't imagine it would be difficult to set up bluetooth.
                All the buttons are there...I think it would be very straight forward.

                I plugged the iPod via a usb, that way it charges at the same time.
              • Jason(ScoobyXV-L) says,
                2 years ago
                The XV works excellent with a iPhone
                You just press the voice botton on your steering wheel and talk
                First say hands free
                Then you call the name of person you want to call
                And it calls
                Bluetooth with music is awesome too plays every song you have on your iPhone
                Love it
            • Rob says,
              2 years ago
              1 like
              Hi, I ordered an XV 2.0i-S two weeks ago and will not see the vehicle until the end of March. Apparently I was a little different by ordering the dark gray with the cream coloured leather interior. I did not know that the cream leather was available until I went in to order the vehicle and saw one that was being delivered to a customer. My concern is that I have not seen a full list of optional extras for the vehicle. My salesman did not mention tinted windows for the side windows.
          • Tony says,
            2 years ago
            Hi Deborah, glad you love the car despite the small annoying issues. I'm getting one 2.0i-S, sky blue but will not be hear until the end of May. Apparently no more sky blues in Australia. Yes, you mentioned you got the auto and there seems to be plenty of power. I'm getting the manual, so will have to see how it handles up an incline. They mentioned its a bit sluggish in the manual. How do you find the sun roof? The SatNav?
            All going great still I hope. Ta. Tony
            • Tony says,
              2 years ago
              Hi Deborah, glad you love the car despite the small annoying issues. I'm getting one 2.0i-S, sky blue but will not be here until the end of May. Apparently no more sky blues in Australia. Yes, you mentioned you got the auto and there seems to be plenty of power. I'm getting the manual, so will have to see how it handles up an incline. They mentioned its a bit sluggish in the manual. How do you find the sun roof? The SatNav?
              All going great still I hope. Ta. Tony


              • Deborah says,
                2 years ago
                1 like
                Hi Tonysmile
                Ah you are going to love your new sky blue XV!!
                End of may...long time to wait!
                Oh yes I still absolutely LOVE my orange XV.

                I think Subaru made it just for me!
                My heart still skips a little beat when I see it, and I still say "Ooo I love this car" every time I get in it.

                Yes Say nav is too easy, and works perfectly.
                It took us a little while to realise that when using the voice activation for the navigation side of things you first have to say 'Navigation'.
                It has a nice Australian ladies voice, and she tells me how to get to places.

                The sun roof is great...my husband likes to drive around with it open, with the wind blowing though what hair he has left.

                Can't wait for it to get cold enough to use the seat warmers....although we did try it once to see if they worked. (Feels a little like you've wet yourself though...a strange feeling)

                I'd be interested to know what you think of your manual, when you get it. Let us knowsmile
                • Tony says,
                  2 years ago
                  Thank Deborah....please keep me posted about your car to, as you get to know it better. What you notice under certain road conditions how the car perform...etc. Did you get any accessories when you purchased the car? Towbar, luggage pod, bike carrier...etc and how is it?
                  Is the insurance any cheaper with the orange colour?? lol wink
                  • Deborah says,
                    2 years ago
                    "Is the insurance any cheaper with the orange colour??"

                    bleh Cheeky bugger!! hehe..

                    What's wrong with the Orange? LOL
                    I think it's about time Subaru brought out an interesting exciting colour.. a nice change to their drab, boring, monotonous same ol' colour palate the last few years.
                    I love the orange...it suits me.

                    Yes, my XV recently had surgery. And now has a very solid bullbar!
                    We live in a rural area, and I feel so much safer driving roo-infested roads with a bullbar.

                    I was a little worried about how it would look, but I think because the back of the car is so high and the front so low, that the bullbar really seems to balance the whole look of the car.
                    She looks fierce now.

                    I don't know if this link will work, but here's a pic of her now with the bullbar.

                    flickr.com/photos/uniquedichroic/6873344610/in/photostream/
                    • Tony says,
                      2 years ago
                      Thanks for the link, Deborah, no problems opening it. Yes, great idea to have bullbar on our country road. I don't plan to do much driving at night on the country road. The extras I'd got were rubber mats, fog light and bonnet protector and a tow bar. Will most likely get a fitting on the tow bar for my bicycles.

                      I'd actually considered about getting orange as the colour was really growing on me. Then when I went to the dealer and saw the model in sky blue, well....orange took a second spot. smile
                  • Jason(ScoobyXV-L) says,
                    2 years ago
                    What colour are your dash board lights mine are all Red on the L
                    The S are supposed to be white?

                    How do you find your CVT box
                    I just love it sooo fast especially first gear
                    • Deborah says,
                      2 years ago
                      Yes, dashboard lights are white...it's exactly the same dashlights are my previous '11 Outback, so it feels very familiar to me.

                      Oh yes, CVT is fantastic! I'll never have another manual again. And even my darling husband (who is very biased towards manuals) agrees with me.
                      His next car will be a CVT too.
        • Alli says,
          2 years ago
          Let me know if you get an answer on the sliding console lid. Other than that it is perfect !!!
          • Deborah says,
            2 years ago
            Hi Alison,
            Ah I was not happy at all with the response I got from Subaru.

            I emailed them weeks ago and asked them about how their website said in the specs that my XV would have a sliding lid over the cupholder, but didn’t.
            I told them that I did not see a brochure before I ordered the car, and that I chose the car based on the specs on the Subaru website only.
            It clearly said at the time "Cupholders - centre console (with sliding lid)".

            Anyway, it took two weeks for someone from Subaru to get back to me....and he did not mention the subaru website at all.. or acknowledge any on my questions about the specs on the website. All he said was that the ‘The overseas model is shown in the brochure’ and that he was sorry I was disappointed.

            Huh?? I couldn’t believe it took two weeks for them NOT to answer the question why it says ‘sliding lid’ on their website when I didn’t get one.
            Then I noticed that they have now removed the sliding lid from their website. I do have a screen shot how it was when I ordered the car and first asked them about it though..

            You know, if they had just said to me ‘We are so sorry...it was a mistake. It’s a new model and we messed up, very sorry’ I would have said ’Fine, no problems...I understand. I still love the car anyway’.
            But I’ve gotta say I was pretty annoyed that they totally ignored my questions, and I feel like I’ve been fobbed off.

            Something else has happened since then that I am also not very happy about...
            Up until earlier today the subaru website said in the spec that my 2.0i-S XV has "Single CD/DVD player", and at the bottom of that specs page it said "~~ DVD only operates when vehicle is stationary."

            I’ve had my XV for a couple of weeks and I couldn’t get the DVD player to work.
            So I took it to the dealership to get it fixed. And I was very disappointed to learn that no, I don’t have a DVD player at all !!!

            So last night I wrote another letter to Subaru and told them how unhappy I was that their website said I had a DVD player in my XV, but it wasn’t there.
            And I said “I've got to tell you that when you spend $40,000 on a car you really do expect to get what the manufacturers website say's it will have!”

            They obviously got my letter... I haven’t had a response back yet, but tonight I notice that someone has changed the website and that there’s now no mention of a DVD player. (I got a screen shot of it, before it was changed though).
            Mmmm interesting!!
            I wonder what Subaru are going to say about that to me when/if they eventually get back to me about it.

            I don’t want this to sound like one big whinge about the XV... I totally LOVE that car!
            I just can’t get over how fabulous it is...I’ve called her ‘Lovely’ and she’s wonderful.
            And I also have to say that all the staff at my local subaru dealership have been wonderful too! They really look after me, and I have absolutely no problems with them at all.

            But I’m pretty disappointed with Subaru Aust. so far over their response to this issue.
            We’ve bought three brand new Subaru’s from them over the last 6 years, at an average of $40k each. I do love the XV, but this has taken just a little bit of the shine off the purchase, and makes me think a little differently about Subaru as a company now.

            Anyway Alison, I hope you enjoy your gorgeous XV as much as I enjoy mine smile
            I really is a fantastic car (even without the sliding lid and the dvd player that Subaru deceived us about...)


            • Sim says,
              2 years ago
              I asked the the same question about the sliding cup holder to my dealer who just responded with a blank look on his face. I have ordered the S model in white with black leather ,auto with tow bar, tinted windows and the black protective boot strip. Cant wait till it arrives, dealer said its at the dock at Port Kembla.
  • Alli says,
    2 years ago
    I picked up mine last night. Grey Auto S biggrin with cream interior. Totally in love. Does anyone know if the Australian model has the sliding cover for the cup holders? Mine sis not come with it?
  • Michael Smith says,
    2 years ago
    1 like
    I also bought the XV(s) a few weeks ago and wont come until end of March. Adding tinting, mats, plates swap etc, on road $41,700. Negotiated down to $38,000.

    Black exterior and interior. Originally I want to get the ivory but was persuaded not to.

    The test drive vehicle did not have a lid on the cup holders as many one said. It is not a concern for me.
    • Zofia says,
      2 years ago
      What an awesome negotiator, which dealer did you go to?
    • Mike says,
      2 years ago
      smile Hi Michael
      We are looking at purchasing a XV S auto and wondered which dealer gave you such a great deal.

      Michael
  • dave jolly albany says,
    2 years ago
    My mum and step dad brought their auto xv down from Mandurah to show me. I had a drive around the hills in Denmark and back to Albany , what a fantastic car. My four wheel drive diesel seems like an old chamberlain tractor. I don't want a noisy diesel ever again!
  • Jason(ScoobyXV-L) says,
    2 years ago
    I picked up my Satin White Pearl XV 2.0i - L in Febuary and I just L O. V. E
    her every time I drive her . I traded in a MY07 Forester XT Luxury and I havnt looked back, there is nothing I miss about the XT because what the FOZ could do the XV does better, I love the XV's Interier, Exterier, Power ( who needs a Turbo when you have a XV), handling (XV handles better then my XT), I have owned 3 Imprezas and 2 Foresters and the XV is the best Car I've owned or driven
    Well-done SUBARU the XV is infact the BEST thing they're ever done


    SUBARU XV - The Best Thing We Have Ever Done
    • Jason(ScoobyXV-L) says,
      2 years ago
      I picked up my Satin White Pearl XV 2.0i - L in Febuary and I just L O. V. E
      her every time I drive her . I traded in a MY07 Forester XT Luxury and I havnt looked back, there is nothing I miss about the XT because what the FOZ could do the XV does better, I love the XV's Interier, Exterier, Power ( who needs a Turbo when you have a XV), handling (XV handles better then my XT), I have owned 3 Imprezas and 2 Foresters and the XV is the best Car I've owned or driven
      Well-done SUBARU the XV is infact the BEST thing they're ever done


      SUBARU XV - The Best Thing We Have Ever Done


      The L model gets the same reversing camera setup as the S
      6.1 inch SatNav with blue tooth and iPod
      Here is my girl after a month of ownership
      [IMG]http://i1139.photobucket.com/albums/n560/scoobyxtlux/XV/eabe1a48.jpg[/IMG]
      [IMG]http://i1139.photobucket.com/albums/n560/scoobyxtlux/XV/33e0b840.jpg[/IMG]

      • Deborah says,
        2 years ago
        Hi Jasonsmile
        Wow, she's all tricked out...I love it!
        How cool is that bonnet protector!
        And where did you get that 'I love my XV' sticker? I want one!

        Yes I agree a thousand percent with you about how the XV handles on the road.
        This is our 5th Subaru...we still have an '07 Outback, and my previous car was a tank of an '11 Outback. And this XV just blows them all away for driving and handling and performance.
        It's the best thing we ever did toosmile
        Thanks for showing your pics
      • Tony says,
        2 years ago
        Hi Jason, was not able to open your link. Would have been good to see what the bonnet protector look like. Did you get a manual or automatic. If, manual, how is it? I took a manual for a test drive and didn't really noticed any significant lack of power as mentioned in reviews, but then again I didn't go up hills. How are you or anyone else finding the manual?
  • Jason(ScoobyXV-L) says,
    2 years ago
    Any XV owners should join
    www.subaruxvforum.com
    It's free
    • Deborah says,
      2 years ago
      Jason, I tried twice to join that forum, but it keeps declining me saying I'm a 'spammer'.
      So I give up...
      • Jason(ScoobyXV-L) says,
        2 years ago
        Weird it's awesome most members there are from Australia
        Ou should keep trying
        Try aI different user name
  • Ak says,
    2 years ago
    I have bought XV S(Top End) not more than one month ago. Touch Screen is freezing intermittently. When I am in Audio mode can not go to Sat Nav, when I am in Sat Nav can not accesses Audio. When it is freezing can not even turn off the audio using on off button. Blue tooth breaking up all the time. Have to restart the car to go get normal functions, but it only last for couple of minutes. Every day it is happening when I am driving the car or stop for a colour lights. Spoke to the dealer about this and he got no idea what is the heck is going on……Pretty disappointed.
    • Jason(ScoobyXV-L) says,
      2 years ago
      that sux ive has my XV L for about a month also and its perfect havnt had any problems at all
      hope you get it sorted mate
      should join
      www.subaruxvforums.com
      • Michael Smith says,
        2 years ago
        I had the same problem in start/stop. An error light flashed suddenly and said that start/stop has malfunctioned. There is also an "i" symbol appearing on the dashtop console where the clock is. It went away when I restarted the car.
    • Deborah says,
      2 years ago
      1 like
      Ak, Oh no!
      What you've described has also happened to mine!

      It happened three times in one day...first couldn't get the audio to turn off using the on/off button. The only way to turn it off was with voice command. And also couldn't access maps.
      So we pulled over and turned on and off the car and it was OK for a while. And then a little while later when we were on an unfamiliar freeway and really needed maps it happened again.
      And then a few hours later, on the same trip, it happened again, and I had to quickly turn the car off and then on again at a set of lights.

      It hasn't happened since. But I did take the car back to the dealership yesterday and had them look at it. They couldn't find a fault, but did remove and clean the SD card and the area inside where the SD card goes...so fingers crossed that was all it was.

      Makes me wary that you've experienced exactly the same thing though!
      • Alli says,
        2 years ago
        1 like
        I bought a new top model a month ago and have had significant problems as above mentioned with the sat nav and bluetooth.
        I have been back to dealer twice. Today Im booked in for a replacement unit.
        They tried to tell me it was my phone but this is happening with all phones we sinc.
        Hopefully the new one will be ok.
      • Tony says,
        2 years ago
        Hi Deb, It hasn't played up since they clean out the SD card slot?
        • Deborah says,
          2 years ago
          No Tony, it hasn't played up again... yet.
    • Tony says,
      2 years ago
      That is very disappointing to hear for a new car.
      It sounds like a computer software glitch; rather than hardware issues. Being such a new model, Subaru, one would think, will quickly work out what the issues are and get the "bugs" iron-out quick smart. I hope you will get this sorted out soon. Please keep us posted. Best
      • Jason(ScoobyXV-L) says,
        2 years ago
        means both of you have the S model i hope its not a fault in the s model would really suck
        i bought the L model which has same natnav ive been using it for 1 month nOW and no dramas i would take it back to subaru
        • Ak says,
          2 years ago
          Dealer reckons something worn with the SD Card.They going to replace my SD card to fix the issue....fingers cross ,hope it will work 100% after...
          • Tony says,
            2 years ago
            Fingers crossed!! smile Please keep us updated.
            • Ak says,
              2 years ago
              They replaced my SD card this morning and said all good. After 5 minutes I left from Dealer it Frozen .Had to pulled out the car on the freeway to turn off and turn back on the engine to restart the touch screen. Called the dealer again and he wants me to bring the car back………..bit pain in the back.
        • Tony says,
          2 years ago
          the subaruxvforum.com been shutdown?? Can't open that link anymore.
          • Jason(ScoobyXV-L) says,
            2 years ago
            Same here Sux must be updating te server or something
  • Kez says,
    2 years ago
    1 like
    I just purchase a Black L model in a Manual thanks everyone for the great feedback here after I paid deposit I read
    Some reviews that were not good to say the least. But I'm very happy now after reading all your reviews. I currently have an SS commodore
    So this is a very different car for me! Just hope that. 5L to 2L is not to much of a shock.

    can't wait just waiting on the dealer to let me know when ready smile
    • Tony says,
      2 years ago
      WOW finally someone who got a manual as well!
    • Jason(ScoobyXV-L) says,
      2 years ago
      I went from a XT Forester 2.5 turbo to a XV 2.0
      Believe me the XV will surprise you
      They are fun
      Fun enough that I don't miss the turbo
  • Kez says,
    2 years ago
    Hi Tony, I'll let you know how the manual goes just waiting on the idiot sales Guy says he's got one available but not sure if he's full of crap
    Going to speak with the manager tomorrow!
    • Tony says,
      2 years ago
      That will be great Kez. I think the majority of them are full of crap. When I signed the contract for mine early March, the agreed estimated delivery date was end of March, before April. Couple of weeks later after I signed the contract, the sales woman, I dealt with on the test drive date, called me and said they were unable to secure my car, no more sky blue colour anywhere in Australia. She said she will consult with the sales manager and get back to me, but she never did, cow. So I had to call the sales manager to find out exactly what was going on. Apparently, in April is when the next batch of XV will be produce and they will make more sky blues then and so I should have it end of May. The point is they should have made sure there was a car for me before making a promise on that contract. By rights I could demand my deposit back and cancel the contract, but I really haven't made a scene of it. Come end of May and if I still don't get it, I will just cancel the contract on principle. How hard is it to do what one said one would?
      Yes, please do let me know how you go. Very interested to know. Best.
  • Tony says,
    2 years ago
    Do let me know to how you go with the manager.
  • Kez says,
    2 years ago
    Wow Tony your dealer is a pain. I contacted my dealer yesterday and spoke with this fantastic lady who found out yeah there is a car even have the vin
    Numbers to prove it on my new contract. They now think it will be ready by about 20 April oh well have to wait but at least they have one!
    They are also throwing in The mats and side sill plate for free due to my troubles to keep my business. Still have my fingers and toes cross smile
    I will keep you informed.
    • Tony says,
      2 years ago
      at least it seems like they are trying to do the right thing.
  • Jana says,
    2 years ago
    Hi guys. My XV / L is 6 days old and 'Stop-Start' system is on the blink. Two days ago it stopped working completely. Took it back to the dealer and they are at loss - they re programmed the comp and it was working well for 12 hours or so and it then it froze again. Anyone else had similar problems?
    • Tony says,
      2 years ago
      You have taken it back to the dealer again?
    • Jason(ScoobyXV-L) says,
      2 years ago
      Is the start stop turned on
      There is a switch down low on drivers side
      And it only works when steering wheel in dead straight
      I've had my L for 2 months and still perfect
      Hope it gets fixed
      • Deborah says,
        2 years ago
        Jana, is yours a manual or CTV?
        Yes, I was going to say has the on/off switch accidentally been touched too? (But I'm sure that's the first thing the dealer would have looked at...)
        • Sarah Jones says,
          2 years ago
          1 like
          Hi There, I've had my XV for a few weeks and like most on the site I love it!! However, I found out that the stop /start wont always work if you have the air con on (or other demands on the battery).

          I'm generally pretty happy with it however,and love driving the car. Love the smoothness of the CVT transmission. Fuel economy was 5.2 litres/100 km on a trip into the country today, so no complaints there either. Can't wait to take it off road.
          • Jason(ScoobyXV-L) says,
            2 years ago
            Wow 5.1 already best I've had it down to is 7.0
            What colour did you get Sarah ? You should join
            www.subaruxvforum.com
            Free site
            Good luck hope u enjoy her
    • Photonion says,
      2 years ago
      Hi Jana,

      I got my XV only yesterday, and after the first 20 km the start stop system went off and the oil pressure lamp turned on the dashboard. The car went for an immediate fix and after 1 day at the dealer I took it for a ride today. After 30 or so km...disaster again. Start stop stops functioning, oil pressure lamp on, warning sign on the screen. Unfortunately, tomorrow is Saturday so the dealer is closed, so I'll have to wait for the whole W/E practically without car. I am HEAVILY disappointed with Subaru+my dealer (who also drove the car for 30 kms!) and I will give them a last chance for a repair, otherwise i will have to ask for reimbursement and give the car back. It would be a shame, because the car handles fantastically and it's a joy to drive, but its reliability for me has proven to be as good as 50kms.... it's a damn shame....
    • Felicia says,
      2 years ago
      I purchased a manual 2.0i model 3 weeks ago and after 6 days the stop start system failed. Computer was reset by the service centre but failed again within 24 hrs. I now have to wait 3 weeks for a replacement part. Seems like this is a common issue with the XV.
  • Kez says,
    2 years ago
    Thanks Jason joined the subaruxvforum. Great site. I love the pics of your XV Wow looks great in White!!!!!!!
    • Jason(ScoobyXV-L) says,
      2 years ago
      Thanks buddy I am sure the X V looks great in all colours
  • lux says,
    2 years ago
    hey guys im looking at buying a xv with cvt. What sort of fuel economy are you getting in real life?
    • Deborah says,
      2 years ago
      Lux, our average is just under 7...but on long runs we do about 6.5 or less. And considering the engine is not even run in yet I expect the economy to get even better.
      I'm impressed!
  • Zimgirl says,
    2 years ago
    Test drove the XV (L model) on Saturday and were very impressed with it. Likewise, the new Mazda CX5 Maxx Sport. Apples and Oranges maybe (esp price), but have any of you compared the 2?
    • Jason(ScoobyXV-L) says,
      2 years ago
      Why wild you compair SUBARU to MAZDA
      There is only one company to buy S. U. B. A. R. U
      All the way this XV is my 6th Subaru
      Subaru XV owners should join
      www.subaruxvforum.com
      • Zimgirl says,
        2 years ago
        Very taken with the XV but have lingering concern that reviews consistently say she's a bit timid on the inclines. Big adjustment after a grunty V6, you see! Mazda holds less appeal, except it offers the oomph associated with a diesel option.
        • Deborah says,
          2 years ago
          Zimgirl, we have not found the XV timid going uphill in any way. In fact we've found the opposite...we chew up the hills! What hills?
          We have a few big hills around here that with our previous bigger manual cars we always had to drop back a gear to get up them.
          But with this CTV XV you don't even know you're going up a hill!
          I don't understand these reviews that say's it's a bit gutless uphills...it's not true at all.
          • Tony says,
            2 years ago
            That's for automatic. I haven't got an anwser from anyone on how the manual handles on an incline. IE going up a steep hill. Steep, i refer to 35°degree plus gradient. Be interested to hear from the manual drivers. Ta.
            • Kez says,
              2 years ago
              Hi Tony, picked up my XV L Manual on Friday it has been fantastic so far not sure why everyone wines about the manual found hills not a problem. I went from
              A 5.7litre SS commodore to my new XV must say that it is so smooth and handles the corners very well. I am so happy with my purchase I think Subaru
              Have won me over nothing else as good. GPS and Bluetooth system A1...... By the way I got mine in Black looks hot!!!
              • Deborah says,
                2 years ago
                Kez, I'm really pleased for you! I was a little worried how you'd go going from such a powerful 5.7lt to a 2lt. But great to see you're so happy with your beautiful black XV smile
                Good on ya!
              • Tony says,
                2 years ago
                That`s great to hear Kez. Yes...black and grey looks great. But Sky blue still looks better! wink
          • Jason(ScoobyXV-L) says,
            2 years ago
            I agree 100%
            I don't know what is with these reviews
            I tow a camper trailer up big hills and the XV flys up them I even overtake slower cars lol
            I don't see any unpowered XV when I drive so quick and handles so well
  • Zimgirl says,
    2 years ago
    Thanks, everyonr for the feedback on the hills. Wow, Kez, here am I worrying about the change from only a 3lt! Salesman says the Sage Green is beaut with the contrasting trim. Anyone checked one out?
  • Maria says,
    2 years ago
    Hi guys,

    I want to buy a SUV, But I don't know which one is better. help me please:
    1- XV Subaru
    2- Mazda CX-5
    3- KIA Sportage

    Thanks
    • Deborah says,
      2 years ago
      Hi Mariasmile
      Obviously I'm a little bit biased towards the XV. I LOVE mine and I cannot recommend it highly enough!...(but I'd also put the Hyundai ix35 on your list as it's also a beautiful looking car)

      I'm not sure if any of those other cars are all wheel drive or only 2 wheel drive. But in all honesty, once you've driven an all wheel drive like Subaru you'll never want to go back to a 2 wheel drive.
      The feeling of safety and handling of an all wheel Subaru beats all others hands down!
      That really would be a major factor for me in choosing a new car
    • Adrian says,
      2 years ago
      Hi Maria,

      Have just come into this forum so guess my comments will already have been posted by someone else.

      For anyone considering the Mazda CX-5, just remember that its ground clearance is pretty low (around 155) compared to XVs 220 (same as Forester) and one of the reviews I read recently stated that a CX-5 which had been taken off road and thru sand came to a grinding halt and had to be towed out and taken to a Mazda dealer to be cleaned out in order to be running again!

      Also the CX-5 suffers from engine oil expansion which needs possible changing at 1000 k's. Just "minor" issues!

      Apart from that, I too am currently evaluating the XV to replace my current MY08 Forester XS which has just reached 95,000 k's. We do a lot of country driving (mainly up and down the Albany Hwy) every few weeks or so and usually get about 9L/100km on a good day.

      However, am a bit concerned reading all the issues others are having with
      "teething" problems with audio/nav/touch screen systems and most worrying of all the "stop/start" system.
      I really don't care what colour the car is or whether the cup holders suit BUT having an engine failure 50 ks out of town DOES worry me!

      We have now had 5 Subarus straight and the last 3 have been Foresters. With a combined total of over 400,000 ks, done quite a bit of off road driving, towing a boat and sometimes a camper and not a major mechanical problem. The XV (as nice as it sounds) seems to be off to a poor start.

      I think that some of these new tech computerised systems (great as they are!)
      are still in their developing stage and have caught some dealers flat footed.

      It's also disappointing to hear of the negative responses by Subaru Aust and some dealers regarding these issues. Iv'e not had this before!
      Just lucky I guess!

      Will watch further posts to see how others pan out with problems with their XV's...............
  • Kez says,
    2 years ago
    Hi Maria, I test drove all three and XV has far better ride and handling and loads of extra great features. I've had my Xv for 2 weeks now and love it more each day.

    Just go for it you will not regret your purchase smile

    Good luck!!!!!!!
  • Maria says,
    2 years ago
    Hi Deborah and Kez,
    Thank you so much for your help. I would like to get my car ASAP. How long do you think it would take to get my car? I want to order an orange XV 2.0L. and which one is better? A diesel or petrol?

    Thanks
  • Zimgirl says,
    2 years ago
    Hi Maria, we are looking at the XV and CX5, and have test-driven both. If you want performance in the CX5, you have to go with the diesel, which makes it more expensive than the XV, especially if you don't do enough kms to warrant having diesel.

    Depends on what you want in a vehicle; stand-outs for us with the XV: extremely comfortable (impt if you spend a lot of time behind the wheel), excellent visibility all round, great dashboard layout, slightly better clearance than the CX5. Subaru also holds its value better.

    Weighed against that is that the diesel CX5 has much more boot space, double the torque (power) and claims better fuel efficiency. We also preferred the Mazda's back seat release mechanism, 40-40-20 back seat split, and the tonneau cover that lifts automatically when you open the boot.

    We've always been brand-loyal to Toyota but they seem to have gone to sleep, so we are still wavering - going to test-drive both again this weekend. Probably haven't helped you at all!! Good luck,
  • Jade says,
    2 years ago
    This model XV is great. I got it yesterday. It is so fantastic. I have XV L Auto.

    I would like to know more about the items below and the parameters they include:

    1- Xpack with Vinyl: $1800
    2- AHG premium Warranty $1000
    3- If I choose Suncorp or RACQ comprehensive insurance, do I need the
    above items (1 and 2)?
    Which Insurance company is better? I'm new here in Australia and Do'nt have any information about this.

    Thanks
  • brian says,
    2 years ago
    Do yourself a favor go buy one you will not be dissapointed
    • James says,
      2 years ago
      Hi all,

      Really like the look of the XV and everything I have read. And like them even more with the dealer demo deals near me at the moment, so going to have a look at a couple this weekend. Just a question on the limited boot space that I've read about in various reviews. How small is it?

      My wife is a photographer and needs to put a smallish box of gear (approx 600mm x 400mm x 500mm deep) and a medium sized camera bag in the boot for shoots. (But nothing major like light stands etc) Has anybody found the boot capacity to be an issue?

      Thanks in advance for your help.
      • craig says,
        2 years ago
        Hi, the boot space is similar to that of a medium to large sedan, I have a child and we easily fit pram, porta cot etc. in there. Your wife will find there is plenty of room, and the rear seats split fold individually all the way down. Cheers
  • Tony says,
    2 years ago
    At last after 8weeks of waiting. It seems the my XV has arrived in Australia, apparently in WA. End of this month I should have it! The heated seats will come in handy for the winter! smile
    • Tony says,
      2 years ago
      At last after 8weeks of waiting. It seems that my XV has arrived in Australia, apparently in WA. End of this month I should have it! The heated seats will come in handy for the winter!


  • craig says,
    2 years ago
    Had my XV s for three weeks now, having major porblems with the blue tooth and voice command features. Anyone else??? I have to delete my phone from head unit and re-add and connect manually every time I get into the car for it to work, and it intermittently loses connection after connection is supposedly confirmed. Same thing happens to my wife's phone, so i know its not a problem with the phones. Also have not been able to retrieve any text messages from our phones.

    Has anyone been able to use the voice command feature and if so for what? I have tried almost the whole dictionary and it always asks me to repeat the command, never been able to get it to do anything!!!

    Love the car, disapointed in the poor tech tho

    • Rick says,
      2 years ago
      Hi, our XVs (blue) is awesome as per all the comments here,albeit 1 week old.
      We too are having command issues and the non recognition of names streets etc. Sorted most of the other techo stuff but this seems to be a concern.Has anyone cracked a answer yet for this.
      FYI the iPhone 4s will not load or retrieve messages, because of its software. Apparently the IOS 6 newest software upgrade from Apple should have the goods to use this function in the Subi??? This is a little way off though.
      • dogstar says,
        2 years ago
        some of the command pronounciation in the xv is dodgy.

        for example, if you use the word 'Mum' in your contacts, say 'moom' instead or it doesn't find it.

        for sat nav, say 'navigation'.

        for mobile, say 'handsfree'.

        re iphone, since i updated to ios6 the phone does not connect the first time and says it failed. about 2 mins later, it tries again and connects normally.

        consider changing the way you list contacts in the iphone to make it easier for using commands in the car. for example, i once listed my doctor using his name but now just use 'doctor' so that this is all i have to say for the command receiver to understand it. ymmv, but this is what i do.

        another tip - don't play with the sd card "just to take a look". i've seen many problems due to the card being pulled out incorrectly, including frozen screens. if absolutely necessary, rtfm before pulling out the card. i have never had to do it yet.

        hope this helps someone...
    • sunny says,
      2 years ago
      Could be your phone's bluetooth compitible issues.
  • louise says,
    2 years ago
    I have a xv pearl white,its the best ever.I had 2004 outback,xv makes it look very plain.Thumbs up subaru you made a real beauty with the xv.
  • XV Owner says,
    2 years ago
    The live traffic updates on the Sat Nav do not work on the XV. A problem that Subaru Australia recognises but wont fix.
  • Marc says,
    2 years ago
    I am looking for a new car looked at XV yesterday all was great till the spare trye (space saver) this car should be not on the roads if this limits the speed here in OZ. The sales person is going to check with her workshop to see what would fit then directed to a Forester it has a full size spare.
    Now looking at other makers have to offer with full tyre.
  • Tracey says,
    2 years ago
    Does anyone think the xv is big enough for 2 small children? Or should I go the forrester
    • Andy says,
      1 year ago
      It is comfortable car for 2 adults an 2 children and it is one of safest car for children .
  • peter says,
    1 year ago
    Thought I would buy one but I like a full sized spare so no deal
Get the Latest

advertisement