Mike Stevens | Nov 7, 2011

The latest round of ANCAP-approved crash safety tests has seen the Skoda Yeti awarded 5-Stars, while the HiAce has had its rating boosted from three stars to four.

The Yeti's 5-Star ANCAP rating is based on assessments from Euro NCAP tests, which are produced under the same criteria used in Australian crash tests.

Standard safety features across the range include ABS, electronic brakeforce distribution, ASR and Hill Hold Control. Seven airbags are featured.

The HiAce has come in for its second ANCAP crash test since it arrived in 2006, when it was originally given a 3-Star rating.

At the time, ANCAP said that the van's passenger compartment held its shape "reasonably well," but limited foot and knee protection was a concern.

2011 mercedes benz vito 02

With the addition of improved knee protection, ANCAP has upgraded the HiAce's safety rating to four stars, making it one of the highest-scoring vans available in Australia.

For now however, the Mercedes-Benz Vito is the only van in Australia to carry a 5-Star rating, thanks largely to the availability of side curtain airbags.

All new HiAce models have the added safety of ABS anti-skid brakes as standard equipment.

Let us help you save time and money on a New Toyota Hiace
Name required
Last Name should be a hidden field. Please delete if you are a real person.
Valid Phone required
Valid Email required
Valid Postcode required
Thank you for your enquiry.
One of our accredited supply network will be in touch in the next 24 hours.
Or Call 1300 438 639
To get a great deal from our national accredited supply network.
Follow Mike Stevens on Google+