2012 Ford Ranger XLT Auto Review

Tim O'Brien | 125 Comments

2012 FORD RANGER REVIEW

What’s hot: Bigger, stronger, quieter, car-like refinement with big ute payload
What’s not: Wheel that only adjusts for rake (not reach), more expensive than HiLux
X-Factor: Looks tough, is tough; but it’s not only tradies who are gonna love this truck

Price: $55,390 (XLT auto), $43,890 (XL manual)

Fuel Consumption (claimed): 9.2 l/100km (auto)
Fuel consumption (on test): 9.9 l/100km (auto)

This is the one. Ford's 2012 PX Ranger is the new benchmark and the one to take the battle to Toyota's dominant HiLux.

Of all the pretenders to the HiLux throne - the Amarok, Mitsubishi's Triton, Navara, Colorado, Isuzu's D-Max - none have the armoury of the Ranger.

Strong, tough, refined, and quieter than all, the Ford Australia-designed and engineered new Ranger is a generation ahead of each.

And with optional six-speed auto, 470Nm of torque and a 3.35 tonne braked towing capacity for the 3.2 litre diesel tested here, it is perhaps two generations ahead of the HiLux (its recent update notwithstanding).

But will it outsell the HiLux? Only the brave would make that call. As we commented in reviewing the updated HiLux, its reputation as a tough, reliable work-companion is deserved. That's why it has ruled the segment for 14 years.

We put the new Ranger XLT and XL twin-cab 4x4s through their paces on the highway around the Adelaide Hills, and off-road into some challenging tracks and trails through the Flinders Rangers.

It was impossible not to be impressed. We were expecting the Ranger to be good, but few could have expected how good. For engineering, for practical work-horse capability and refinement, Ford has leap-frogged every other contender in the sector. Bar none.

INTERIOR

Quality: The XLT Ranger's interior is both well-designed and well put-together. But while it's good, it doesn't kill the opposition. I would give the nod to the Amarok over the Ranger for interior feel.

The new Ranger does however beat the HiLux, Triton and Navara for trim quality and for the clean lines and shapes of the interior: from the stippled sloping dash to the brushed metal centre stack, instrument bezels, and satin metal highlights to the doors.

It’s a pretty nice place to be, whether in XLT or XL configuration.

Comfort: With wide-opening doors, well-padded seats and appealing tactile surfaces - like 'cold-feel' door handles, appealing seat fabrics, padded door-rests – the Ranger XLT feels more like a modern sedan than a ‘fourby’ ute, both for the snug ambience of the interior, and for its isolation and refinement.

And, front and back, it’s roomy. The B-pillars have been moved forward in the twin-cab to create larger rear-door openings and larger rear glass. The doors open ‘square’, at close to 90-degrees, to make getting in and out easier.

And, in the back, there’s ample room for Lenny, Dags and Gino (we put a 6'2" guinea-pig in there for a knee and headroom check), and oodles of room for the young family.

A debit is that the steering-wheel adjusts for rake only, and not reach, and the carpets are commercial fare (for those who care about carpet).

Features: Besides the obvious like bigger tyres, alloy wheels, three-bar chrome grille and stepped rear bumper, the XLT carries a higher grade of trim, metal garnishes to the interior and doors, and a much longer feature list.

The XLT comes with steering wheel mounted audio and cruise control and Bluetooth with voice-control. There is a 4.2-inch colour screen, rain-sensing wipers, a clever ‘joy-stick’ control in the centre-stack, iPod and MP3 CD audio system, and automatic locking doors on driveaway.

There are other smart touches like regenerative charging when decelerating (common to all models) and alarm with motion sensors (to keep the tools better secured).

Storage: The double-cab tub is 1549mm long, 1560mm wide, 1139 between the wheel-arches and 511mm deep. This makes it one of the biggest in its class for cubic capacity and capable of taking a payload of 1148kg.

For trade buyers, or those looking to tow something seriously big, the new Ranger comes with a 3.35 tonne braked towing capacity which monsters most of its nearest competitors.

Lift up the rear seats and you'll find storage compartments (to keep valuables out of sight), fold the backs forward and you'll find more stowage space. The glovebox is designed to take a lap-top computer and the centre-console is vented to the air-con to keep drinks cool.

There are drinks holders in the console, bottle holders in the doors, and drinks holders in a folding arm-rest for rear-seat passengers.

ON THE ROAD

Driveability: Here, on road, this is where the Ranger crushes the opposition. Its 3.2 litre I5 diesel is simply a cracking unit.

With 147kW and 470Nm, it's strong, strongest of its natural enemies – only the Navara 3.0DT V6 diesel gives it any heat – but it's far and away the quietest and smoothest of all.

Mated to the six-speed auto, it pulls like a train on the tarmac. We did a looping run with 800kg in the rear tub; and quite simply forgot about it.

The Ranger barely knew it was there, it still pulled effortlessly, retained its on-road compliance, and only on tight corners was it apparent there was “something in the back”.

The 6R80 six-speed transmission has both Sport and Normal modes. It is simply a matter of flicking the lever and, if left in Sport, upshifts occur later, or you can paddle it up and down through the gears manually.

It also comes with ‘grade logic control’ which automatically downshifts on descents or into corners (making towing a safer proposition).

Refinement: Is this the most refined diesel in the commercial 4X4 class? We'd reckon it is. Clatter, that diesel thing, is all-but absent. Away from idle, at highway speeds, or grinding up a steep incline, it rarely sounds stretched or harsh and is more refined than what you'll find under the bonnet of a lot of up-market, expensive family sedans.

On-road, the interior is well isolated not only from road shocks and mechanical harshness (fluid-filled body mounts at work here) but also from road-roar and wind noise.

And, thanks to the tub design, even when travelling at well-above normal highway speeds, whistling or wind-shear that can occasionally be generated between the tub and the passenger compartment has been engineered out.

Suspension: With coil-over shocks double wishbone front suspension, rack and pinion steering, the Ranger drives more like a car than a commercial ute.

The turning circle is reasonably tight, and, while there is not a lot of feedback through the wheel on the highway, it's about right off-road.

Braking: That three-plus tonne braked towing capacity not only demands a strong chassis, but strong braking performance. While the pedal is more commercial underfoot than car-like, it's not heavy and has a progressive feel.

We found the braking fade free and, even when clearly working overtime on the longer looser descents (rattling on and off with the traction control), on no occasion were we left with a wooden pedal feel at the bottom.

Off-Road: You can flick between 2H and 4H at up to 110km/h. Great when belting along a gravel road, and the additional traction and control is felt instantly.

For 4L, it’s a matter of coming to a stop, slipping to neutral then engaging the transfer case via a switchable button on the console. Sure beats fiddling about with a lever.

Off-road, in four-low, diff-lock engaged, with those 470 Newton-metres all working quietly at your disposal, a rigid chassis and with long wheel articulation, you can pick your way up and over almost anything.

It’s so capable, it takes the challenge – and consequently some of the fun – out of it. But you’re gonna love it if you’re dragging a heavy boat up a slippery boat ramp or hauling a Bobcat out of a sodden building site.

Transfer-case, drivetrain, oil pan and fuel tank are tucked inside the side rails for better off-road protection. Minimum ground clearance is 230mm with 16-inch wheels fitted, more of course in the XLT with its 17-inch rims.

We found the bump-stops only once, and had no trouble stepping up and over some pretty steep, rock-strewn pinches.

Also, while we didn’t have the opportunity to test it out, with an 800mm wading line, the Ranger comes with the deepest water fording capability in its class.

SAFETY RATING

ANCAP RATING: Not yet rated.

Safety features: The Ranger comes loaded with all the expected safety features, and some unexpected.

The expected include front, side and curtain airbags, pretensioning seat-belts and child restraint anchorages. Also expected is electronic stability control, ABS, EBD and traction control.

Less expected is the adaptive load control, trailer sway control (using the ABS and ESC to stabilise and prevent jack-knifing when towing – a potential life-saver for those towing large caravans and boats) with roll-over mitigation control, and rear park assist and rear-view camera system.

It also comes with hill-descent control and hillstart assist.

In the manual, we tried the hill-descent control in ‘angel’. That is, we pushed it out of gear on a steep – like really steep – rock-strewn descent and took the foot off the brake. This messes with the head big-time: no trouble, gravity, traction control and ABS simply conveyed us to the floor of the valley. All we did was steer.

WARRANTY AND SERVICING

Warranty: TBA

Servicing: Capped-price servicing across the range, service intervals 15,000km.

HOW IT COMPARES: VALUE FOR MONEY

The update to the HiLux saw Toyota revise its pricing down across the range. Nissan and Mitsubishi also have some very attractive price discounts at the moment for the Triton and Navara.

The new Ranger is more expensive than most – it's priced more in line with the Amarok – but packages a lot more car into the money, and a lot more appeal.

VERDICT: OVERALL

Ford is building terrific cars at the moment. Can you find a dud in the range? And Ford Australia engineers have dropped two absolutely stand-out cars into our laps this year: The Territory, and now the Ranger.

Of those two, the Ranger is the greater achievement. Starting from a clean sheet of paper, and seven years in the making, this is one exceptional dual-cab ute - in both XLT and XL configuration.

Unless Holden has something absolutely magical up its sleeve with the new Colorado, Ford’s Ranger will remain head and shoulders above everything in the sector.

Everywhere you care to look, on every objective measure, where HiLux is good, Ranger is better. Ditto for Triton, ditto for Amarok and ditto for Navara. It’s that good.

HiLux deserves its four-star rating. It has pounded its usurpers mercilessly for nearly two decades. But Ford’s new Ranger is a game-changer.

This is the best dual-cab diesel 4X4 ute you can buy at the moment. But don’t believe a word of this review; when it hits Ford showrooms, go and have a look for yourself.

Filed under: Featured, review, diesel, ute, 4wd, ford ranger, Ranger, commercial, lcv, automatic, Manual, pickup, light commercial, ford, family, Advice, special-featured, 5cyl, 6m, 6a, tim o'brien, 2012 ford ranger review, ford ranger review

Leave a comment:

Required
Required
Enter comment here.
  • Luke says,
    3 years ago
    7 likes
    It's great to finally see the results of many years hard work by a talented and dedicated team.

    Best of luck to Ford with a great new AUSTRALIAN designed and engineered product.
  • cyclone says,
    3 years ago
    2 likes
    Why has it taken so long to knock the hilux off the thrown. Not taking anything away from the ranger but even the sr5, meant to be the hit top of the range us pretty damn basic and bloody expensive !!!
    • donald says,
      2 years ago
      3 likes
      SR5 at least has a GPS standard
      • winton devil says,
        2 years ago
        2 likes
        If you want a GPS download it for free on your phone. If you want reliability stay from Toyota
  • Gump says,
    3 years ago
    5 likes
    Wow...Just when I was convinced that the new Amarok was as good as it gets, the new Ford Ranger seems to be better.
    What I don't get is why the tub width in the Ranger is only 1139mm wide between the wheel arches. Meaning it will not fit a pallet. Surely this would have been an easy engineering solution.
    • Danny says,
      2 years ago
      If you measure a standard pallet they are 1100mm so yes they will fit
      • Mark says,
        2 years ago
        But it's the 1200 sheet common to most trades that won't fit ....I guess that's what racks are for.
  • Dave says,
    3 years ago
    3 likes
    It would help if you clowns (TMR) actually got your facts right. You quote the 5 cyl 3.2L diesel as having ".....127kW and 470Nm.....". Try 147kW and 470Nm!
    • Tim O'Brien says,
      3 years ago
      9 likes
      Yo Dave, yep, that'd be a typo... we miss 'em from time to time (too busy dodging cream pies, getting shot out of cannons and juggling cats and chainsaws and stuff).

      But thanks for the pick-up.

      Tim
      (aka the magnificent Bozo the Flatulent)
  • Monkey Fluff says,
    3 years ago
    2 likes
    The all-new Colorado hasn't reached Australia yet, but it is already winning overseas comparos. I've heard that it claimed the no 1 spot in a recent Thai magazine article, up against the Ranger and Hilux.

    Judged better off-road than both.

    Looks very cool as well.

    One to watch IMO, but for now the Ranger has to be the King of the 4WD Ute field. BT-50 is the better buy IMO and it's styling is unique, and growing on me.
    • David says,
      3 years ago
      3 likes
      The Mazda BT50 is the new boy on the block with a fresh bold look and competitive pricing...would be my pick....
      • MattW says,
        3 years ago
        6 likes
        "bold" is an understatement lol. There's a reason they are hiding how it looks under bullbars on the TV ads...
    • muscles says,
      3 years ago
      3 likes
      Wow, the light truck market has certainly improved over the years, the new Ranger and BT50 are pretty amazing. Though im not too sure about the Colorado, not so pretty (uglier than BT, lol) and very American styling which hasnt worked in Australia to date. Hopefully it performs and functions well and contributes to Holdens sales. It would have to have to be very good to beat the Ranger / BT50 and Amarok, interested whether it can get 5 star ANCAP safety. Time will tell smile
    • Dave Randall says,
      3 years ago
      1 like
      the bt50 is ugly Ranger in disquise
    • Valleys Diehard from Brunswick st. says,
      2 years ago
      GM/ Holden have no original ideas and both should be dead post the Wagoner era. Thai polls can be bought as fast as a pretty lass in Phuket so forget about their credibility. For the masses: If Ford or Subaru don't make it, move on... it aint worth it!
  • Maggot Chunk says,
    3 years ago
    1 like
    At the end of the day it is still a Ford, so likely the windows, door handles and everything else like that won't work after 5 years.

    The Amarok looks better, it has already proven itself, I'm VERY suprised the tester has rated it below the Amarok............
    • humble says,
      3 years ago
      6 likes
      Have you driven the Amarok? What most journos fail to mention is that it has no low-down torque, a crappy gearshift and an even worse clutch.

      Let's not get started on VW reliability either.
      • Glen says,
        3 years ago
        Where are the statistics to show VWs are not reliable? I have not seen any.
        • rick says,
          3 years ago
          3 likes
          well buy a VW,you ll be selling it before the warranty runs out. my bro and parents brought new ones 2 yrs ago very unreliable to say the least, well at least they have good relationships with the work shop staff at the local dealer... wanna know details id be more than happy to tell you.
        • HJJ says,
          2 years ago
          1 like
          I was driving only 400km and saw 6 VW`s next to the road with open bonnets ! must have beautiful engines lollaugh
    • OutbackOZ
      OutbackOZ says,
      3 years ago
      2 likes
      Keep in mind too, Australia is a big place. When you head places its easier to find a Ford/Holden/Toyota dealer unlike a VW/GreatWall etc. Plus unlike most others including VW i dont think you will find another car on the market that has been tested as much or as hard as the Ranger/BT50. Yes there will be little issues with them as any new car. Also if you go for a drive, the power from the engine gives the feeling it will last. not like these small engine putting out big power, take the new 550 Navara V6 Diesel. Yes great power but for how long and at what cost....
      • BJ says,
        2 years ago
        550 Navara engine is a low compression, low turbo boost diesel. How could it NOT be reliable. Ask Hilux drivers how reliable their diesel injectors are. biggrin
    • muscles says,
      3 years ago
      4 likes
      Bit harsh on Ford dont you think, they havent made XD,E, Fs in a while. FYi - VW have massive recent quality issues which will change public perception, mainly electrical (Tsi) that isnt supported by company. Looks are very subjective, but I think Amarok looks a little bland in my opinion and no auto or bigger engines as yet, though I like the sheer size of the Amarok, it is quite a bit wider than Ranger, BT and Hilux which would improve second row comfort.
    • fred says,
      3 years ago
      1 like
      You must lisen to all the complains on the copetision here, including the hilux,you will be surprised how many window lift fail after 3 months, inter cooler rubers,plastic door handels inside, break and all kinds of irritating things.Dont worry papa say it is normal in Thailand
  • Illinois Lemon Law says,
    3 years ago
    Its simple!.They "Ford" don't want to lose sales of the beloved F-150 that these "Good Ole Boys" here in Alabama love so much.Every day I see people riding solo with no cargo all over town here in the big trucks,burning gas,wasting utility.Ford wants to keep it that way!.Why reward you guys with a small diesel powered truck that gets 40MPG.They want that MONEY.

    http://www.illinoislemonlaw.com/
  • cussler says,
    3 years ago
    4 likes
    Hmmm...starting to hear about electrical gremlins with the Ranger. Issues with flat batteries, failing electric windows, accessories overloading the wiring, problems when running trailers with LED lights.sad

    Seems there is a teething problem or two. Typical of an all new model I guess.
    • OutbackOZ
      OutbackOZ says,
      3 years ago
      1 like
      There are a few little ones. As for electrical i.e. overloading etc you cant just wire in and power up thing like u use too. It needs to be done right e.g. In the XLT there is a modual under the driver seat to aid in accessories, and the XL u will need to get that modual. This is to stop the overload of the BCM. No more cutting in to a harness to get the power feed.
      • cussler says,
        3 years ago
        1 like
        Thats interesting Outback Oz. So more a case of owner education than actual vehicle faults.

        Gone are the simple days biggrin
    • parafrog says,
      3 years ago
      1 like
      Lots of comments now coming in about warranty issues for anything not Ford approved being added to the ranger. Electrical wiring thin and cheap, tow bar way too low. Whats the point of buying a 4wd if you cant accessorize it for just that purpose. Everyone knows any model of vehicle comes out stock standard for the wider buyers group, but to skimp on details like not having a relay that accepts replacing normal globes with LED's or even being able to tow a trailer etc with LED's, as well as dramatically reducing departure angle with an anchor of a tow bar, geeze, it makes you wonder. If I have to be more worried about what ISN'T covered by warranty by putting an accessory on this vehicle, then it just may not be the one for me sad
    • Ricky says,
      1 year ago
      1 like
      All of these problems have been caused by people dont know what they are doing
      Im an auto electician an owner of a 2012 ford ranger xlt, ive done everything my self an so far no problems
      Main cause is it modules, everyone over loading them causing them to malufunction an the battery is monitored by its current not voltage every 1 putting in smart sols the module see's the second battery thinks its the main an thinks its all charged so doesnt through anything into it,
  • Dennis says,
    3 years ago
    3 likes
    Good on you Ford, I can't wait to give it a test drive. I am still amazed that the Hilux is still given so much cred. It might be built like the proverbial brick outhouse, but it rides like one, it handles like one and it performs like one. I bought one about some years ago when they first bought in the 3.0 litre diesel. I only kept it a year and couldn't wait to get rid of it.

    I now have a Navarra D40 STX dual cab - servicing costs ridiculously high - finish mediocre - not happy Jan.
    • OutbackOZ
      OutbackOZ says,
      3 years ago
      1 like
      Dennis, interesting on the Navara. Spanish built one you have (Daul cab STX) is it the YD25 (2.5lt) engine??
      I hope for your sake you dont have any timing belt issues (very costly) EGR problems, electric windows, recall after recall (not on Thailand models)
      I know you'll like the drive of the ranger (ive drivin the ranger, navara, navara 550, and hilux)and yes the 550 has bullship, it makes you wounder how long the live and reliability is. As for the ranger, its smooth (manual a little different) enough power and the best thing is it feel effortless with its power. Good luck mate
      • Dennis says,
        3 years ago
        1 like
        Thanks Outback Oz. Fortunately I haven't had any of the dreaded problems so far reported, just expensive service bills - 1k for a 40K service. One of my work mates has an STX and at 90,000km it dropped the oil pump, stuffed the motor and he had a hell of a fight with Nissan to get some cost coverage. He ended getting some help but still a few K out of pocket.
        • OutbackOZ
          OutbackOZ says,
          3 years ago
          1 like
          No prob Dennis. Some people aren’t aware that Nissan do have capped price servicing. It hurt some dealers as they had to drop there labour rate to $120inc. But yes still not cheap. the 80km will be a little more expensive unfortunately.
  • Kiel says,
    3 years ago
    Hey outback, I have the previous model ranger and where I'm from utes are used for everything even though it isn't really much off roading. All the guys down here boasts and show off with the speed from lights to light with their navaras. I wanna upgrade and get this new 3.2 ranger, do you think this could take a navara from take off? We get the 2.5 navs here not the v6.
    • OutbackOZ
      OutbackOZ says,
      3 years ago
      1 like
      Kiel, i wouldnt think the 2.5 navara would have your 3lt ranger by much. As for the new ranger, i would say that you would have the legs (top end) over the navara and it would be close on take offs (i know they'll do 170+) smile. I have heard (but not driven yet) that the Auto ranger feels like it have more power then the manual. Plus im not the biggest fan of the PX ranger manual, it takes a little getting use too. Just laugh at the navara boys, they'll have many more problems with there navara then u will with either rangers. lol As for the Navara 550, ford hasn't got anything like the power it has, but i think thats a good thing. These arnt sports cars, there work/family cars so the power of the 550's concerns me as nissan havent had the best run of diesel's since the TD42.
      • Emma says,
        3 years ago
        I have heard the 3.2L is limited to 175 km/h the same top end as the smaller diesel. 0-100 about 10s.
      • WTR4CE says,
        3 years ago
        3 likes
        Ihave had a stx for the last 4.5years and had no problem what ever from it,its been serviced every 10k ,always loaded to max carrying capacity,3ton.
        This vehicle is now being changed,so went looking for replacement,
        The only one that comes close to this is the new ford ranger,took it for a test drive and was very impressed on how it performed on and off road ,ordered one about 3months ago but still waiting for it to arrive..
        Our company uses Toyota utes ,but will I think when they see the new ranger every one will be pushing to get one when their vehicle come up for replacement.
        Ps.. Can't wait for it to get here:-
        • john says,
          2 years ago
          i am in same boat as u ordered my new xlt about 2mths ago still waiting
      • BJ says,
        2 years ago
        Ha ha ha. Don't be so sure about that. I know from personal experience that the truth is much different. Those 2.5 Navaras have got some go. On private road, Ranger tops out at a limited 180 whilst Navara keeps going. And old mate bagging out the 550 reliability, well, 12 months down the track and still nothing coming up. Like I said about low boost, low compression diesel. Pretty brave to make sweeping statements like that.
  • Craig Hunt says,
    3 years ago
    7 likes
    For all the people who dont like Ford bleh I want one and going to order one cool
  • Rob says,
    3 years ago
    2 likes
    Wake up people!!! Learn some wiring techniques ,,, take a pos from the battery and some relays and you can run what you want.... Anything that the battery/ alternator can handle. ....... Biggest problem with the new ranger is the people driving them.... No idea at all .... I have one with 100 amps of accesories ...... No problem ... You just run your own new circuit/ relays ... Too easy!!
  • Rob says,
    3 years ago
    By the way champs!,, Just run a new cable to the 12vdc outlet in the tray ,, make it 4mm squared and you can run any fridge , compressor, inverter, whatever! You can do all this wiring properly and neatly covered in corregated plastic clipped and out of harms way in a lazy weekend! Including running wires for spotties driving lights , winch or whatever! And it's also pretty cheap.... Jay car is pretty good,,!heaps of other places to gate it from too!
    • OutbackOZ
      OutbackOZ says,
      3 years ago
      Doin you own wiring is no prob on the ranger as long as power is drawn from the battery. Don't cut into the harness for power or you run the risk of overloading the BCM. No biggy though....
      • Rob says,
        3 years ago
        Right on!!!!!
        • Rob says,
          3 years ago
          I wouldn't splice into any new car wiring anyway,,,, aside from high beam to power a relay for driving lights,,,,,,, it's not hard to run your own new circuit..... So why not. It won't effect anything so it's cool!
        • Rob says,
          3 years ago
          By the way I'm an electrician! But acc wiring is extremely basic . Just ask me!
  • Rob says,
    3 years ago
    One more thing! I own a 2006 d40 Navara 4 litre petrol. I purchased a supercharger kit from stillen USA and installed it. It ripped! But after 20000 kms the left bank blew the catalytic converter (primary). I still drove it for about 80 kms and then replaced both primary cats on each bank with metal matrix cats. ( Nissan stock cats are $ 3000 each yes $ 3000. Metal matrix race cats are $ 700 a pair. ) anyhow.... I now burn about 2 litres of oil per 1000kms. Compression test on 135 cylinders is 160 130 120 psi respectively. Cylinders 246 are dead on 190 psi. So basically the blown cat has ruined my left bank of cylinders through exhaust gas reversion when the engine is in coast ( injectors shut off in coast on vq40 engines) . So my point... If anyone wants to purchase a stillen supercharger kit...... Replace your cats at the same time wiith metal matrix. ( the stock ceramic cats can't handle the extra exhaust gases). Anyhow.. Stiff *** I'm having a beer! Cheers!
  • BARRY YOUNG says,
    3 years ago
    6 likes
    For all the people who don't like Ford bleh - blah - I want one and have ordered one already - cool rolleyes Can't wait till it arrives at the end of June .... biggrin
  • hypers2k says,
    3 years ago
    2 likes
    Hi all. just a few problems with my new XLT double cab, let be down on fwy, in the shop for over a week until they replaced the crank angle sensor, now the gear stick has come all loose, what next? not even 10K yet
    • Pete says,
      2 years ago
      2 likes
      Hey buddy,just had the same problem with the gear stick coming loose,bolts not loctite ,now I have a clunking noise when I release the clutch suddenly,just on 8000k when this *** happened.I also have condensation in my R/H mirror blinker and voice control not working properly.57000k I paid and this is what I get!!!
      • Carl says,
        2 years ago
        3 likes
        Hi guys, wish I only had your problems. 15k and broken flex plate, Easter break plus 4 weeks to fix. Then very next day after getting it back, I was off to a job 600 odd k's away and towing my tool trailer when gear box dropped its bundle again spewing oil everywhere. I have driven it for about 8 days of the last 8 weeks. No parts in OZ to fix these vehicles. Hope its not going to be another 5 weeks to fix cause it's sending me broke. mad
    • keithey says,
      2 years ago
      had a problem with mine as well stalling eng cut out took to ford 3rd time saying crank sensor needed adjustment hope this works now does eny one else had this problem over all love the ute rolleyes
  • Straddie says,
    3 years ago
    With the turning circle you say it is reasonably tight,What sort of technical term is that you have figures for everthing else,I drive my ute in carparks building sites in the bush etc.Making these utes bigger just because they can doesnt make them better.
  • Straddie says,
    3 years ago
    With the turning circle you say it is reasonably tight,What sort of technical term is that you have figures for everthing else,I drive my ute in carparks building sites in the bush etc.Making these utes bigger just because they can doesnt make them better.
  • Sceptic says,
    3 years ago
    I have a 3.0L diesel SR5 and don't think it is as tough as previous models I've owned. The new ranger sounds good but it could be like an orange off road bike I bought once rather than the good old Honda's I normally raced. All good when new but after a short time heaps of small problems and still a promise this is fixed in the current model. Five years down the track you have spent more time fixing than driving and you can't give them away. I might wait a year or two to make a final call. Hope I am wrong.
  • tony says,
    3 years ago
    1 like
    Hi folks, I am new here. Just about to purchase a new 2012 ranger, I would like to get the 2.2 diesel, which has plenty of power for 95% of my use, but for 4 weeks a year I need it to tow a 1100 kg caravan up the coast. So the question is, will the 2.2 pull the van, will I damage the car/engine in any way?, or will it be OK just a more slugihs?
    thanks. Tony
    • ace says,
      3 years ago
      2.2 will pull your van no problems

      the 3.2 litre manual has the torque truncated in the first three gears anyway so the 2.2 is about on even par for power in the first three gears.
  • Jake says,
    2 years ago
    1 like
    Rip off, rip off, rip off. Made in Thailand and I wonder how much it costs there? I don't see many poor Thai farmers splashing out $50k for a farm ute. In the US this sort of money would buy a very posh BMW or top of the range 4x4. The Ranger starts from $18k...Yes $18000 in the US.
    • muscles says,
      2 years ago
      FYI - economies of scale in the US means products will be cheaper, thats THE bonus with large populations. The US Ranger is built in US where they have minimum to mid wage in manufacturing. Also the US Ranger is the 2 generations old...nothing like Ford Australia's version. I would suspect that if this version were sold in US, it would compete against F Truck and take sales and also kill the US Ranger dead. It would have to be built in US to be sold there, as I don't believe Ford imports Fords into US these days.
      • Jake says,
        2 years ago
        1 like
        The Ranger (Oz market) is made in Thailand. I can assure you wages there are a fraction of those in the USA! All the utes on the Oz market are made in Thailand, which is the biggest light truck market in the world. Except the Amarok, made in Argentina. Good economies of scale that is why all the manufacturers operate out of there. Also has a free trade agreement with Oz so no import duties.

        We are being ripped off by the car companies. They are aided and abetted by the slavish motoring press in Australia who put absolutely no pressure on them over prices and do nothing to inform the car buying public.

        Ford products in the USA are imported from various countries but mainly Mexico and Canada. The Ranger is now discontinued in the US market because the F150 is so cheap. Economies of scale have little to do with it as I mentioned previously. Look up the autos section of the New York Times to see the origins of various models on the market in the US. Also traditionally car production jobs at the big three in the US paid $60 per hour including benefits. Even non unionised plants in the South pay around $30 per hour.
    • allison says,
      2 years ago
      18k?? terrible!! It is 100k in Malaysia sad
  • Jake says,
    2 years ago
    1 like
    Check out this link
    http://www.ford.co.th/en/trucks/new-ranger/specifications/price-list
    1 million baht is $32k Australian - any of you buyers felling clever now!!
  • Jake says,
    2 years ago
    feeling!bleh
  • Peter H says,
    2 years ago
    I recently heard that for all the towing capacity of the new Ranger, Ford will ONLY SUPPLY an 1800kg towbar and the rear suspension is only rated at 1800KG? You have to upgrade the vehicle suspension if you want to even tow 2 tonne. This seems to be false advertising - as our friend had to spend another $3000 to tow a 2.8tonne van. Ford wouldn't even talk to them once they had driven out of the car yard. These unsuspecting folks found this out by accident when the went to get the towbar extended out past the rear of the body.
    • OutbackOZ
      OutbackOZ says,
      2 years ago
      2 likes
      I dont think so Peter. I know the old PK ranger tow bar hitch was rated at 1800kg and you had to have a load levelling kit to tow 3000kg. As for the PX, i have many friends that have towed 2500-4000kg (i konw 4t, but farmers dont care about limits) So im not sure what your mates on about but i think he get ripped off.
  • ANdre Coetzeee says,
    2 years ago
    1 like
    Hi what about 2,2 diesel Ford Ranger that is a 4x4 and the XLT model. Best of both worlds - better fuel consumption and all the extras you need?
  • Andy says,
    2 years ago
    Now all Ford needs to do is bring the new F150 to Australia now that we have tasted a real pick-up lets take it to the next stagejavascript:;
    • Jake says,
      2 years ago
      That would be great but we already pay double the Thai price for the Ranger. (Wildtrack 4x4 3.2L is $32k over there). I reckon with Ford Australia we'd be looking at $60-80k+ here for a US$35k truck in the US!!
  • Michael says,
    2 years ago
    1 like
    Hi guys
    We have had 5 navaras super reliable with no problems , our latest is navrara stx 550 v6 deiesl , it is 550 nm of toque at 1750 coupled to the most Awsome 7 speed auto with manual mode , there is simply no other ute that gos near the ride and comfort and power , when you are traveling at 100ks and you want over take towing a 2.5 ton caravan it just gos , delivers 11 liters per 100ks that's towing , try that with any other ute they not even close . The ford should have a v6 , why put in a motor that simply dos not go like a v6 . You can also chip the the v6 550 to 656 nm that makes it crank .
    • OutbackOZ
      OutbackOZ says,
      2 years ago
      All in good time, the 550 is a great porformance car, there is no doubt about that. I would still put my money on the ranger. Try going bush in ur 550 and hold 1st or 2nd gear, the auto just won't do it, it will change weither you want it to or not. Plus watch that sump, it hangs low and is cast alloy!! Having said that, as a tow and cruiser it is a great car, but as an all rounder the Ranger ticks all the boxes. The 5cyl isn't relying on boost to give it power. I liken the 5cyl to the well know and very reliably TD42ti.
    • Mark says,
      2 years ago
      I would take it that anyone who had 5 Navaras hasnt had one past 40k or they were all Autos, as the twin plate flywheel generally fails between 40 and 100k. it will cost you well over 2k to replace. They use them to iron out small vibrations, however your better off with a solid (stronger and more relaible). Have you had to replace 1 injector, 1k, but this includes the pipe as its not reusable.(good luck in the bush). I have read all the comments on here and can i just say with regard to OZ pricing, LIB and LABOR gov fought over who was going to get to a zero tarrif first (LIBS won) so how does anyone expect OZ to design, build and compete with the imports, the only way OZ manufacturers can survive with such small numbers is with inflated prices. Now listen careful, the only reason our car prices are so high is because we are willing to pay it.If you had a 9k car for sale and some one offered 12k, would you take it? Don't be fooled by Gov crap and fools that we dont need a strong car Manufacture base, take a look at the yanks and what they drive now in abundance, and just watch Thailands economy and living standards rise along with Chinas in the near future.
      • BJ says,
        2 years ago
        I've had 2 D40, 2.5L Navaras, both manuals, both done 100 000kms, both towed trailers (boats and bike trailers) Have not had 1 clutch issue in 200 000kms of Navara ownership. I heard all the rumours, but they are simply untrue, or are by people that simply don't know how to drive properly. If that's you, sorry, but the truth hurts sometimes.
        • Phil says,
          1 year ago
          No clutch trouble with my ex d40 Stx 2.5lt....engine had to be rebuilt at 68.000ks..gearbox rebuilt at 90.000ks..then again at 105.000ks...front suspension recall..alloy wheels recall..bonnet catch recall...towbar recall due to damage to chassis...no clutch trouble surprise surprise....what a lemon. Now own a ford ranger xlt '13 model. Great vehicle
    • jak says,
      2 years ago
      if i were any of you guys i would stay away from any of these commonrail over turboed diesels coming out now and buy a petrol 4.0 v6 hilux less maintenace super smooth quiet and reliable.
      the worst are the small capacity navaras like the 2.5 and the v6 550 it still is only a 3.0 way over turboed but i think maybe this new 5cyl might be okay
  • James says,
    2 years ago
    I've driven both the PJ and PK XLT 4x4 around Cape York, in the wet and loved them both. The PK was the best looking exterior personally. And we put those trucks through everything. Bog-stock standard fleet cars. Water crossing up to headlights? No problem, sand? Again awesome. Corrugations, on loose red dirt, with patches of wet clay like mud? Easy. With stock tyres still a bloody good vehicle. With the long wheelbase, progressive changes in direction on loose surfaces make it so much safer. You can control the slide smoothly over bumps, ruts and dips. Some of the short wheelbase hunting rigs we had felt too flighty , a bump would have it changing direction, flicking around on the loose stuff. Off road I loved it, if you need something more than what this can do, your going to have to build it. Like an old zook with a v8, oversized mud tyres and a 6ft lift. As a day to day fishing, camping, weekend to weekday rig.On the paved stuff, just like a car, which is a good thing, I've driven big navaras on road and hated it. Like driving a unimog. Into a headwind. Only criticism? Rear seats were a little thin when on the rough stuff. But on the road, at 6ft, 110kg the back was really comfy. After 10 years driving everything ford and Holden have provided to the fleet. This is one I would buy. Heck I loved even washing the thing! Best Australian vehicle, pity it ain't built here. Keep them coming ford, I'm eagerly waiting for my wrx to sell so I can get my truck!
    • Rob says,
      2 years ago
      1 like
      New cars 4wd sedan whatever are ***. They are great on the showroom floor, but in the long run you are going to lose.... Big time. Why.... Over complicated, over automated, over priced, overpriced spares, under engineered , air conditioning is pretty good though !!!!!!
  • ron says,
    2 years ago
    I would love to know what other vehicles are running the five cylinder. How long has the motor been around.
    • OutbackOZ
      OutbackOZ says,
      2 years ago
      Ron, it has bee running around in production since 2006 in Europe. I believe the transit had it over ther from 2006 on. I have heard some people say its a Volvo due to it being a 5cyl, but I can not confirm that. I would assume Ford may have had it for some time as design of the ranger started in 2002 and I believe testing started in 2004-5. And I also believe testing in Australia started in 2010-11, as Ford Oz had a lot to do with the design and testing.
      • Fox says,
        1 year ago
        Hi outback oz I have got the new ranger and want it to charge extra battery's that I have in the front off my camp trailer do u no of any problems I may have and of any research I will me to do
        • OutbackOZ
          OutbackOZ says,
          1 year ago
          Fox, im no auto sparky. But I may be able to help.
          if u have a XLT you should have a constant 12v power in the 12pin plug, now just check if its still got power after the ignition is off. If so then u run the risk of flattening ur car battery.

          If it where me, I would get the Projecta dual battery kit (http://www.themotorreport.com.au/52543/2012-ford-px-ranger-xlt-xl-auto-manual-review) p/n: DBC150K and run an Anderson plug.

          Then if you have solar (like me) for your cmper u can just plug that straight into your camper Anderson plug too.

          Hope that helps a bit.
  • keithey says,
    2 years ago
    I bought the new ford territory when They hit the market I've just orded the 3.2 ranger with auto I just hope I'm as happy with the ranger as I am with the wife's territory pitty ranger wasn't built in aus would be great
  • Sheep estate says,
    2 years ago
    1 like
    I m in love with mine ...taking her on a holiday this weekend...just her and me and some serious terraine. Getting really really excited.
  • Nath says,
    2 years ago
    4 likes
    I had a for territory. What a mistake. Gearbox failed
    Brake problem. Interior fell to bits. The resale
    Was so bad too. Never buy a ford!!!!
    • James says,
      2 years ago
      Never buy an Australian built ford, over valued, under engineered dinosaurs for a tiny market within a marketsmile lol. Nah, the ranger is the best ford I've driven in 11 years. Hands down. Admittedly I've never used the cruise control in the pk/pj.
    • keithey says,
      2 years ago
      hi nath what model was the territory
      i bought the 2011 t/diesel 4x4 and not one thing has gone wrong must have got a good one built on the day lol
      anyway i prefer to (FORD)FixOffRoaDayley than drive a holden lolcool
  • Gary says,
    2 years ago
    I have been Toyota for as long as I can remember, 1994 hiace 2004 Hilux and 2007 Hilux turbo diesel, I'm now seriously looking at the new ranger for my plumbing business. Looks and sounds like a test drive is coming up for me.
  • Luke says,
    2 years ago
    Good truck, however blokes like a raised section in the bonet, why ford didn't put one on this vehicle I don't know.
  • Arthur says,
    2 years ago
    Great exterior and interior....TERRIBLE electronic parts, I just bought a a 3.2 manual transmision Double cab 4x4 model and with just 200km all the ABS system had to be change, the wheel sounds terrible on offroad and generally it just feel a plastic car, I really recommend that if you are looking for more than 50,000km problem-free pick-up truck look for other alternatives, It is just pretty from the outside but all the parts are not design for work or long term use. This is why there are no more ford ranger in the US, they are not design for hard work and long milage
    • OutbackOZ
      OutbackOZ says,
      2 years ago
      1 like
      Think u might just be unlucky. Got a few mats with them now, in the east and west. One is up to 80,000km never one trouble. The others are 40,000km ish. Some little issues, but nothing unexpected for a new car. All new models have little teething issues. I would take a ranger over a Navara or Hilux any day!!
  • Rob says,
    2 years ago
    Really... Don't honey coat The car. Of course most of them are ok. But what about the ones that arent. .... It looks like maybe 1 in 50 have a problem . That's not very good odds for a 50000 dollar car. So ..... What do you think about that, and please don't quote figures.
  • OutbackOZ
    OutbackOZ says,
    2 years ago
    1 like
    Find a new car on the market that doesn't have issues. All makes have issues and really that's pathetic for today's tech. I'm just saying out of what's on the market in this category, this is the car I would buy. You will always find bad comments about all cars and rarely find good comments.
  • Mick Harfield says,
    2 years ago
    Gday guys im seriously looking at the Ranger but i need it for two purposes A a work vehicle ( Sparky ) and B to tow the family boat a 3t Kevlacat 2400 BUT i can not find any one in WA with a new model with a two ball nether lone some one towing with one !! Please Help Can any body tell me what there like towing a similar Boat or Van ??????

    Cheers Mick
  • joh says,
    2 years ago
    Need to get the facts right. This is a really Mazda BT50 like the previous models. Just some superficial differences
    • OutbackOZ
      OutbackOZ says,
      2 years ago
      1 like
      Sorry to say Joh, but you are wrong! Yes all previous model rangers where basses off the Mazda built bt50. But that was turned around for this model. Ford designed and developed this car with some input from Mazda. And Ford is now designing this to bece an SUV!
      • edi says,
        2 years ago
        lala....still...i love my dmax 3.0.....always doing a good job without breaking a part.....pulling a truck weighting 4.5ton....with a palm oil bunches load behind.....effortless to my dmax.....and trough a road specialy for logging road ....i have been doing this for more than 5 year since i buy dmax...it durable...and its a full tanks of diesel can go 1000km...aredy tested..sory for my bad english
  • Haydz says,
    2 years ago
    Ordered my new XLT Ranger a week ago. Pick it up in a week, couldnt be happier smile
  • Clinton says,
    2 years ago
    3 likes
    Had my new XLT Range fit just under 20000kms and it ha done a auto Trans
  • Phantom says,
    2 years ago
    I ordered a silverlight wildtrak and have to wait till November 2013. All good things happen to those who wait.
    • Phantom says,
      1 year ago
      Finally the 12 month wait is over. Mine came lst week which put it at 1 month early. I know believe in love at first sight.
      Heated seats work great. Remember with the voice control if you get stuck for what option to use just ask HELP. The reversing camera is a god send for this big truck. Doesn't feel like a big truck to drive. Dragged off a new hilux the other day with ease. Getting an average 10.5lts per 100 but I'm a bit of a lead foot. So quite when driving. Audio system will blow yor mind. Roller shutter is very cool and gets a lot of admiration from others. I put a rubber mat in the tub and some door seals down the back tub door to stop dust cost 140 bucks from Clark rubber. Didn't even know about the volumetric alarm system so that was a bonus. Standard mags look very nice on the wildtrak. I didn't get my windows tinted but may do that a little later.
  • Chris says,
    2 years ago
    A proud owner of the new Colorado here, and I've always been a ford man....I only needed to drive the new ranger to realise its a piece of crap.....now all these stories about the gearbox, BS towing capacity, other electrical problems....the Colorado LTZ is an awesome vehicle, may not be the best out there, but it beats the ford hands down in every aspect.
  • mont says,
    2 years ago
    ute is great except the auto clunks when i come to a holt and when i take of it is as it cant find the right gear any one else with this problem
  • luke brown says,
    2 years ago
    1 like
    i have the new ranger and can not fault it i have owned nearly every other make of car and the ranger is the best and by far
  • Curtis says,
    2 years ago
    Where do you get accessories on the net for the 2012 Ranger.
    • Bernice says,
      2 years ago
      Try the ford website I think it has accessories.
    • Bernice says,
      2 years ago
      I waited about 6 months for my ranger 2012. they took sooo long that they finally gave me a upgrade instead the all new ford ranger xlt px model.
  • Andy Wynne says,
    2 years ago
    2 likes
    Hi, I have a Landcruiser 4.2 Diesel, I tow a 25ft Jayco caravan which weighs about 3t loaded. I am looking to buy the new 3.2 Ranger and am not sure if I should be buying the auto or man. I have had issues with my Landcruiser auto trans oil running hot and have had to increase the size of the cooler. Which Ranger should I buy auto or man? I have test driven the Mazda 3.2 auto as the ford dealer didn't have a ford and the Mazda auto 3.2 was impressive with a lot of get up and go.
  • BJ says,
    2 years ago
    'Everywhere you care to look, on every objective measure, where HiLux is good, Ranger is better. Ditto for Triton, ditto for Amarok and ditto for Navara. It’s that good.'

    Ok, I will look at engines. V6 diesel Navara vs Ranger. Sorry, but 550NM beats 470NM everytime. 7 speed auto beats 6 everytime. Smoothness and refinement? V6 Navara kills Ranger stone dead. Don't get me wrong, my next ute will most likely be the Ranger, but had you even driven a V6 Navara before you wrote this rubbish?
  • Ben says,
    2 years ago
    will the 17" wheels off the 2012 ranger fit my 2010 pk xl 4x2 high rider ? tyre size 265/65R17
  • CharlieOZ says,
    2 years ago
    bought my 3.2 Ford Ranger new in November 2012. Love my car, does what I need it to do but leans to left hand side 20ml lower than right. Have rang Ford Australia twice and both times they've told me it's designed that way but have seen other Rangers around that don't lean. Can anyone help me.... what to do from here as I'm sure Ford will give me the same answer if I contact them again.
    • Droid says,
      1 year ago
      1 like
      I've had my 2012 XLT 3.2 auto (company car) for nearly 12 months . Its just turned 60k .As a rep for a mining company I practically live in it . Heaps of grunt and had no dramas at all , masses of room and never get sick of driving it . It looks great can carry heaps of stuff and tows my boat and van like there not there. But The best thing about this ute by far is pulling up at the lights beside a hilux or navara , seeing there judgmental envious looks out of the corner of there eye , and then blasting away leaving them for dead ,wishing they'd spent there 60k on a ute that looks and goes as good as the new Ranger ,and not not one that looks as if it were 10 year old.

      Sighed Toyota convert
  • blackjack says,
    2 years ago
    Looking at purchasing the new Ford XLT. Does anyone know if there is enough room for a gooseneck hitch with the tub which the ranger comes with or do we need to opt for a tray.
  • Rodney says,
    1 year ago
    I am not sure if any one has driven the V9X Navara when comparing these vehicles. The power is just way above any of the others - and as for engine noise in my opinion it is quieter than the Ford. So yes depends what you are comparing it to. To the 2.5 Navara, yes much better, To the V9X, although it has been around a while and needs an update, even right now it compares very well - Bose sound system, full satnav, 40gig built in hard drive, 180kW and 550Nm from only a 3.0L. why bring out a 3,2L that does not match this? I am not an anything fan, but what urks me is over punting of vehicles. Can we please just have HONEST comparisons and stating of facts. Are car magazine writes afraid they will never be given another car to test if the tell it like it is? Every article you read about every vehicle tested is written up as the best and the next game breaker. Is an honest review too much to ask for?
    • Clinton says,
      1 year ago
      Rodney, you are right the V9X Navare is an amazing engine and drive. Yes it has a lot of get up and go over the Ranger.
      As a city/tradesman car the Navara is great, as on off roader/tow vehicle i would take the Ranger.
      V9X sump is way to exposed and its also cast alloy sad When towing the engine relies on that turbo to keep it going hard so the fuel is not the best.
      The Ranger is a low down grunty engine, its not a "pow and theres the turbo kicking in". The sump is around 2 inches above the cross members. When in sand you can crawl along and not have the boost kick in and sink (like the 3lt old ranger was)
      But this IMO
  • Luke says,
    1 year ago
    Ford is like an Apple..they brag about their company and producy but majority of the world use samsung..get the point? I love the look but i heard way too many bad consumers report from the ranger
    • OutbackOZ
      OutbackOZ says,
      1 year ago
      Believe none of what u hear and half of what u see. That is a good saying and wound that applies to the internet!

      Bad reviews/comments are found all over the internet for any and every car. But try looking for a good one is near impossible.

      Just a thought!!smile
      • Dman says,
        1 year ago
        1 like
        Hmm, The mining company i work for opted to go 5 star ANCAP, the decision was clearly made after a nice drive at a test track in Melbourne, the Ford Rangers are completely unreliable when it comes to hard work, 2 new ones we had didn't make it to the pit because the fuel pumps fell off. Gear boxes are falling apart everywhere. the local repairer has about 20 of them at any time from site parked waiting on warranty claims. I can see they might be ok in the builder market but after lusting over one for some time, i have now said to my wife, if i ever come home and ask to buy a Ranger... slap me!!

        We have to tow lighting plants around over broken rocky rubble, the rangers just spin their wheels, its as though they are too heavily sprung and can't get traction (regardless of what button you press). Before i worked in the pit i was an advocate for the Ranger and i didn't like the Toyota Workmate or Cruiser utes at all. After doing this job in the Wet slippery conditions, rough rocks, and sometimes deep water holes. there is only one decision, Toyota... V8 Diesels. They don't have traction issues, reliability is un questioned (you do get window rubbers that get jammed, indicators and lights on all vehicles fail due to the vibrations) We don't use the Hilux in the pit as far as production vehicles, they don't hold up either, Patrols couldn't stand up the same way the cruiser has in my experience. (all that said, i wouldn't buy one for a private car as i don't need to do any of that at home...) i have a 2003 100 series land cruiser and have been off road 4x4 ing once and broke the front diff...mad so i leave that or at work. rolleyes
  • Axe Togrind says,
    1 year ago
    Interesting looking back since this review and comments were first made that Toyota is still the market leader; and this in an environment where coal sector orders have been waning and vehicles like the Ranger and BT50 etc etc etc have come to market. Toyota doesn't muck around with their utes and 4x4's and when the next Hilux appears in 2015/16 it will blow everything out of the water, or off the road whatever the case. Good on Ford for raising the bar because prior to this they clearly didn't give a stuff.
    • Phantom says,
      1 year ago
      Finally the 12 month wait is over. My wildtrak came last week which put it at 1 month early. I know believe in love at first sight.
      Heated seats work great. Remember with the voice control if you get stuck for what option to use just ask HELP. The reversing camera is a god send for this big truck. Doesn't feel like a big truck to drive. Dragged off a new hilux the other day with ease. Getting an average 10.5lts per 100 but I'm a bit of a lead foot. So quite when driving. Audio system will blow yor mind. Roller shutter is very cool and gets a lot of admiration from others. I put a rubber mat in the tub and some door seals down the back tub door to stop dust cost 140 bucks from Clark rubber. Didn't even know about the volumetric alarm system so that was a bonus. Standard mags look very nice on the wildtrak. I didn't get my windows tinted but may do that a little later.
      • Axe Togrind says,
        1 year ago
        I hope it continues really. I'd be a bit miffed if the heated seats weren't working in the first 3 years let alone three weeks but you sound genuinly surprised.
  • Penny says,
    12 months ago
    Hi guys, I have a Ford Ranger XLT and I replaced my mags and selling the 17x8 Standard ones to a mate. He has and earlier model Ranger, would these rims fit his ute? Thanks
  • ROSCO says,
    11 months ago
    l purchased a new Ford Ranger 12 mths ago, xlt d/cab, so far they have replaced ring gear flexplate, engine block and the engine crank sensor, out of 52 weeks it has been in workshops for 10 weeks, i have been left on side of road with caravan while they towed our ute away ,under Australian consumer laws if a vehicle has a major failure or not fixed in a reasonable amount of time i am entitled to a replacement or refund, but no one can enforce this law,so Ford has rude uncompromising,and arrogant because they know if i want action i would have to go to vcat. If you are thinking of buyingone of these lemons think again, cheers
  • Carl says,
    11 months ago
    1 like
    Just an update to my post about the trouble I had with the flexplate in my px xlt ranger around 18 months ago. In my earlier post the flexplate cracked at 15k and Was then off the road for 90 days at 3 different dealers around the state. Well it now has 48k on it and it has cracked another 1. Was repaired last week & when they pulled the box out it was found that the locating pins that locate gearbox to engine we're never put in at the last dealer. I had had so much trouble by the time it was at the 3rd dealer that Ford Australia flew an engineer from Melbourne to oversee the repair, replacing the rear main seal, a brand new gearbox and a second flexplate. I have since seen the document the engineer signed off on for my repairs yet these pins were left out, I presume, leaving great strain on the drive train over the last 33k klm. I picked vehicle up on Friday with my 3rd flexplate installed but I only got 44k's before the same ticking noise was back. Mechanics are dumb founded. Looks like another 1 gone. So much for Fords slogans "Built Ford Tough" and "Because tough Is not enough" What a load of S!&@. Tough would be great. I like the design of this truck, comfort, power, it's quiet, great at towing, space, safety features etc but tough or reliable it is not. It has not been 4 wheel driving, it has towed about 2300kg's on 1 occasion for 3 hr trip and it also tows my tool trailer of about 1500kg's but that's only between jobs around every 3 months. I am now waiting around again for someone to ring me today to tell me what they're going to do. I am a tradie without my tool of trade.........again! There is no way this vehicle is "fit for purpose". I suppose it's back to Fair Trading & to my solicitor to see where I stand this time. Vehicle is sending me broke.
  • tew shau chen says,
    8 months ago
    1 like
    my 2013 ranger 4x2 5 speeds manual had strong vibration feel at 5000km.diagnosised 2 bottom engine mounts damage at 11000km and replace it.the vibration stronger before changing it.at 15000km,clutch in clutch out sound knocking,hard to shift gear and transmission lost power.then diagnosised the dual mass flywheel spin unbalance and the guibo or drive shaft mount damage.this is the ford Malaysia handling customer problems,always no spare parts and replace the parts for few months.
  • Steve says,
    8 months ago
    1 like
    having trouble towing 3ton plus. dropping the back. 2012 xlt ranger. have used haymen reece weight distribution bars on other cars, but the ford tow bar does not take the haymen reece.Also I have been told wiring to the plug has constant power and if the plug goes under water while towing it can short out the computer. any advise on using a haymen reece system and wiring
Get the Latest

advertisement