2009 Suzuki Alto Road Test Review

Steane Klose | 28 Comments

SUZUKI IS NO STRANGER to little cars with big hearts. The LJ10 4WD from the late sixties is testament to its belief that good things can and do come in small packages.

This time around, Suzuki is returning to the ‘sub-light’ car category in Australia with its Indian built, three-cylinder Alto.

We’ve seen the Alto on these shores – off and on – since the late ‘80s, but the model name is no less than 30 years old. It is a genuine ‘world car’, with more than 10 million having been sold around the globe over the course of those three decades.

Currently a sales success in India and Europe, the Alto’s combination of European styling and impressive efficiency is ensuring that demand exceeds supply. But how will it fare here with its sharp, but compact, new style and tiny engine?

To find out, we put in some wheel time with both the manual and auto versions of the Alto GLX around Melbourne.

Styling

In developing the all-new Alto, Suzuki’s Chief Program Designer Tatsumi Fukunaga said the design team’s key aim was to build a “sporty and European-inspired” small car.

We agree that the Alto’s styling has a European flavour, but we see a more generous dollop of ‘feel good’ rather than 'sporty' in the exterior sheet metal.

2009_suzuki-alto_road-test-review_02

There is more than a hint of ‘bewildered puppy dog’ in the wide-eyed and friendly face, thanks to the large headlights and prominent grille.

The rest of the Alto is a case of form successfully meeting function, with a hint of Barina in the squared-off rear end.

Ultimately, the Alto is easy on the eye and just as some hero cars can look fast standing still, the Alto looks light and nimble parked at a city kerb.

The interior

Two’s company, four’s a crowd?

Suzuki is expecting the Alto to be especially popular with young singles and empty nesters; those looking for a cheap and efficient commuter for one or two people, occasionally more.

Up front, both driver and passenger are well catered for. There is ample room for two well-built lads without bumping shoulders. The seats are reminiscent of those in the Swift and proved to be just as comfortable.

The back-seat accommodation is less commodious, but easily accessed as the Alto is a genuine five-door. It is possible to seat two adults in the rear if those up front are prepared to shuffle forward for short trips.

2009_suzuki-alto_road-test-review_21

The Alto’s dashboard is an attractive two tone design that features a large speedo in front of the driver and a reasonably sized open-top glovebox on the passenger side.

The centre stack houses the audio and air-conditioning controls with a small open storage area located under the audio system.

Two small side-by-side cupholders are built into the centre console. Unless travelling alone, coffee connoisseurs will need to think ‘small’ when ordering their morning caffeine hit as only one medium to large drink will fit at a time.

There are other storage nooks scattered around the cabin, with map holders in the front doors and single cup holders in the rear doors.

2009_suzuki-alto_road-test-review_10

With an open glovebox and a narrow centre console, the Alto lacks a covered storage compartment to hide phones or portable navigation systems from prying eyes.

Being a sub-light car, space is the one thing that is in short supply and nowhere does this become more obvious than when lifting the rear hatch.

The boot space (with the seats up) will swallow an overnight bag, two small ones at a push, but it did manage to deal with a week’s grocery shopping for two people.

2009_suzuki-alto_road-test-review_32

There is always the option of laying the 50:50 split fold rear seat flat of course, and this significantly increases the available cargo space.

Equipment and features

The Alto is available in two specifications, GL and GLX, with introductory pricing starting at $12,490 for the manual GL and $14,490 for the manual GLX.

An impressively calibrated four-speed auto is available at a $2,000 premium on both variants.

This pricing does not include dealer charges and on-road costs, and the introductory pricing is not expected to continue indefinitely.

Currently, you can drive-away in the manual GL Alto for $14,990; that’s a little more than we were expecting but the Alto comes comprehensively equipped.

In GL guise, it is equipped with air conditioning, a CD stereo system with MP3 auxiliary input, remote central locking, front power windows, tilt adjustable steering wheel and a full-sized spare.

2009_suzuki-alto_road-test-review_11

Impressively for a car costing so little, there is a comprehensive suite of standard safety features including, ABS brakes, Brake Assist and six airbags, including head protecting side curtain airbags.

This six-airbag package is unique to Australian-spec Altos and was enough to ensure a 4-Star ANCAP safety rating (up from a 3-Star Euro NCAP rating) for the GL and GLX.

The GLX adds to the GL’s range of standard features with 14-inch alloy wheels, front fog lamps, a six-speaker sound system, tachometer, a remote release lever for the rear hatch and ESP stability control.

Rear windows in both variants are operated manually, as are the rear view mirrors.

Mechanical package

With the heaviest Alto weighing in at a scant 920kg, big numbers are not needed for motivation.

The Alto is powered by a slightly lumpy, but ever-willing 1.0-litre three-cylinder petrol engine that produces just a handful of kilowatts and Newton metres: 50kW at 6000rpm and 90Nm at 3400rpm to be precise.

Sceptics may scoff, but the little Alto boasts a keen sense of adventure out on the road and being light on weight and cubic capacity means it is also very efficient and decidedly 'green'.

Suzuki quotes 5.5 l/100km fuel economy and 130g/km CO2 emissions for the automatic and 4.8 l/100km and 113g/km for the manual.

2009_suzuki-alto_road-test-review_09

The Alto's engine is Euro IV and V compliant. Some fuss has been made about its requirement for 95 RON unleaded but it is largely the press looking for a negative angle where there isn't one.

The reality is that the Alto runs more efficiently and produces less emissions running on 95 RON unleaded. Expect other manufacturers to follow Suzuki's lead as they bring Euro 5 compliant engines into the Australian market.

If you travel 20,000kms per year at an average of 5.5 l/100km then it would barely cost you $100 more to run the Alto on 95RON as opposed to 92RON unleaded. More to the point, higher octane produces better fuel economy (and hence savings) as well as less emissions.

2009_suzuki-alto_road-test-review_33

Two gearbox choices are on offer with the Alto; the standard five-speed manual and a four-speed automatic (but add the $2,000 premium).

Brakes are disc up front with drums in the rear and they have no trouble hauling up the pint-sized Alto 'on a dime'.

The drive

The Alto might be light on for cubic inches, but its willing little heart has a ton of personality.

The 1.0-litre three-cylinder has an interesting boxer-like beat, most noticeable in the manual at low revs. Far from being annoying, it adds a layer of character to the drive.

Accelerating hard from standstill, the Alto is not going to set any records, but its three-cylinders enjoy a rev and will give their all on the way to the redline. It copes surprisingly well with the cut and thrust of fast-moving city traffic.

The clutch has a good feel and progressive action, and the gearbox, like the well-weighted and direct steering, is reminiscent of the Swift (which is a good thing).

2009_suzuki-alto_road-test-review_01

High tensile steel used throughout the Alto's structure not only ensures a 4-Star ANCAP rating, it also pays dividends out on the road. This is no flimsy-feeling budget priced car.

Highway driving, surprisingly, is also a cinch, with the little three-cylinder proving its ability on test to readily motor along at the legal limit, though hills knock the edge off things.

Once you've adjusted to the little hatch’s power characteristics, mixing it with trucks on the daily commute is not an issue. Getting past simply requires a firm prod on the accelerator.

2009_suzuki-alto_road-test-review_04

It's quiet on the inside as well. The engine isn't buzzy at highway speed (yes, we confess to expecting lots of buzz), and tyre roar from the skinny rubber is minimal.

The ride is ‘firm-ish’ but compliant; coping easily with the lumps and bumps of Melbourne's inner city streets and not uncomfortable on the road.

It’s the Alto's remarkable manoeuvrability though that is the ace in its deck. With a tiny turning circle of 9.0 metres, it feels as though it could turn itself inside out.

City street u-turns, picking the gap in traffic and parking in tight spots is where the Alto is most at home. (In the traffic crush, you feel a sense of freedom in a car this size that drivers of larger cars will never experience.)

Surprisingly, it is the well calibrated four-speed auto that is the nicer drive. It's smoother, quieter at idle and quick to respond to throttle inputs - ensuring it’s rarely caught out in the wrong gear.

2009_suzuki-alto_road-test-review_31

The auto isn't as fuel-efficient as the manual though, with Suzuki claiming it will use 5.5 l/100km (0.7 more than the manual).

In our own 'real world' testing over a 117km round trip that included a mix of city driving and highway miles, we couldn't match Suzuki's claim. With two people on board and no luggage we achieved 6.1 l/100km.

To be fair, the press car was barely run in and this was a real world test, not an economy run.

The verdict

For the moment, the Alto has the sub-light small car segment to itself, but that won't be the case for terribly long. Hyundai's i10 and i20 are expected to hit Australian showrooms in 2010 and other manufacturers will follow.

Until then, the Hyundai Getz and Holden Barina undercut the Alto on price ($13,990 driveaway compared to the manual GL Alto at $14,990 driveaway), but the Alto is better equipped. You get a genuine five-door car with six airbags and ABS brakes.

The Alto is more frugal as well, the manual versions of the Getz and Barina returning 6.1 l/100km and 7.0 l/100km respectively, compared to a claimed 4.8 l/100km for the manual Alto.

2009_suzuki-alto_road-test-review_25

If styling matters, then again the Alto has a clear edge; its more modern Euro lines making the other two look dated in comparison.

The fact that the Alto is manufactured in India might be an issue for some. In reality, it shouldn't be - the Alto looks and feels as well-built as any Suzuki.

It was the drive that really surprised us most. At the wheel, the little Alto has character and a rarin’-to-go attitude that is really quite endearing.

If you are a daily commuter, a city dweller or just someone looking for cheap efficient transport, then the Alto deserves a very close look.

We liked it a lot.

LIKES

  • Fun to drive
  • Well built
  • Comfortable (for front seat passengers)
  • Frugal
  • Highly maneuverable
  • Plenty of safety equipment
  • Has genuine character
  • The Auto is a peach

DISLIKES

  • Boot is very small
  • Rear seat not really suited to adults
  • More expensive than we thought it would be
  • Lack of covered storage areas in the cabin
Follow Steane Klose on Google+

Filed under: review, Green, Suzuki, petrol, alto, suzuki alto, hatch, fwd, family, light, sub-light, sublight, 5door, 3cyl

Leave a comment:

Required
Required
Enter comment here.
  • FrugalOne says,
    5 years ago
    WOW, 10 million, that's a lot of sales how ever you measure it, and shows in most markets price is king!

    Needs PULP lol, what a joke, like it's price, should be well under $10k, as IT WILL, as soon as it comes under fire from the VASTLY superior i10 Hyundai [also built in India, WTF?]

    For this sort of coin buy a demo proper compact hatch, ie Fiesta, haonda jizz gli, Yaris, even a Swift, BIGGER stronger safer, *normal* if you will....

    Or SAVE your money and buy a NEW better car in the Getz.

    This has always been nowhere in Oz, don't see anything that will change, whats the saying about a polished utrd?

    Their is cheap and their is value, frankly this is NEITHER, i see it quietly dying again as it has in the past....

    PASS!

    Cheers,

    F-0
  • FrugalOne says,
    5 years ago
    Off Topic, NOT related to above Alto:

    When i visit this great website, and studying your good photos, it looks like you and CarAdvice are one in the same?

    A lot of photos taken in/around PortMelbourne/FishermansBend [blue] area..Weird! <>

    Don't be afraid to be HARD on a car, if it's a dog say so, Julian Edgar would, he has balls that guy [and hardly ever gets presscars now...lol]

    Cheers,

    F-0
  • Nathan says,
    5 years ago
    Like you said, price is king and at the moment people are looking at price and too so worried about product. I think the Alto will do well in Australia. I work at a Ford dealership and the little Fiesta is a great rig, but people are comparing it with, for example the Alto.

    Apple with Oranges? I think so, but they don't.
  • Maneesh says,
    5 years ago
    Frugal One, this Alto is MORE frugal than the Getz, Jazz, Swift, Yaris, Fiesta or i10. And when the global economy recovers, petrol will be back to $1.50 or even $1.70/litre, the difference will be even greater.

    You might say fuel efficiency is no big deal (ironic, considering your nickname!). But on the road and you will see small cars like Yaris with the word "courier" written on the side.

    The Alto will be the car of choice for couriers, due to its fuel efficiency and low purchase price, without compromising on safety.
  • Car Specialist says,
    5 years ago
    The Alto gets lots of interests from parents buying it as a first car for their daughters. Reasons being : Its the cheapest new car for sale in Australia (at RRP Prices, not withstanding Getz or Barina which are priced 'on special' at present). Its the most economical petrol driven car for sale, it has got 5 doors and has ABS/EBD/EBA and 6 airbags as standard, even on the base car or pay $2000 more and get the GLX which even gives ESP/TCS Stability Control! Air Conditioning, Power Steering & Windows, Remote Central Locking, plus a full size spare are all standard, of course. What more can you ask for at that pricing?
  • FrugalOne says,
    5 years ago
    @Car Specialist^

    "What more can you ask for at that pricing?"

    = Something decent? smile
  • IanR says,
    5 years ago
    2 likes
    I went for a test drive in one of these Suzuki Alto cars yesterday and I agree overall with the observations and comments in this review.

    I was impressed by how well the car drove and how comfortable it was... Much more refined than i had expected. Suspension and steering seemed pretty sporty to me, very direct & very little body roll. Seemed to be very solidly built. It was quiet & relaxed along the highway.

    Main disavantage I found was the tiny boot and very limited rear leg space. However, on the plus side, the rear seats do fold down almost flat to provide a reasonable cargo area. I would have liked larger side mirrors... they worked OK but they were a bit small for my taste.

    All in all a great little car i think. I am probably going to buy one as I very rarely have more that one passenger so the rear seat space isn't an issue for me.

    BTW i have also looked at the Getz & Rio... these seem to have more rear/boot space and a great warranty but i personally didn't think they were as good to drive as the alto.
  • Jonathan says,
    5 years ago
    The fuel economy finding is very interesting. I know the manufacturer's fuel figures are always optimistic, but a measured 6.1L/100km compared to a published 4.8L is a big difference! Was the car hammered on its test drive? Was this really a fair figure? If so that's disappointing. Even older vehicles like the Daihatsu Sirion can match 6L/100km.
  • Maneesh says,
    5 years ago
    Steane Klose, can we have clarification about whether the fuel efficiency figures shown on new car windscreens are government test results or manufacturer claims? Because I always thought that the electricity efficiency figures shown on new washing machines are EPA or government test results!

    So why would the figures shown on new car windscreens be manufacturer claims rather than government test results?
  • absi says,
    5 years ago
    @ Steane Klose - I know you mention in your article that the Alto was good to keep up with traffic on highway, but is there a chance if you could perhaps elaborate a little more... did you have to rev it really hard to get to a 100km/h? or was it a smooth acceleration, also the 0-100kmph figures from the manufacturers are more to the tune of 13.5sec, but some other testers have reported 11 secs, which is significantly better. Did you happen to perform this test too? I am mainly interested in the manual specs.

    As a city dweller, i would buy this car in a heartbeat if i was looking to buy a car in the next 6 months, but the ocassional highway trips worry me a little bit.
  • IanR says,
    5 years ago
    Hi Absi... I have signed up to buy a new Alto manual. I can confirm that during the my own test drive the car certainly didn't seem particularly slow... It's no sports car but it didn't have a problem getting to 110km/hr and then cruising along at that speed. In fact it I thought it was quiet and pretty relaxed on the highway... Most of my driving will be on the highway and i think it will handle this very well.
  • Jonathan says,
    5 years ago
    Just wondering where you got your driveaway price of $14,990 from for the manual GL? I went to my dealer today and they reckon their driveaway price is $12990 plus $475 for colours other than white.

    How did yours turn out to be $2000 more? Is there something my dealer is not telling me?

    In my test drive I found this car to be ok but rather boring to drive. It had nowhere near the character of some other 3 cylinder cars of days gone by such as the Daihatsu Sirion. It was very quiet and smooth ride, but the gear lever felt very notchy. The boot is tiny and if you have the front seats adjusted for a tall person like myself, there is hardly any room in the rear. Well worth a look and test drive though.
  • Jonathan says,
    5 years ago
    Yeah thanks, I contacted my dealer again and it appears they made a 'mistake'. It is $14,990 as you said. It seems very quiet in the dealers, The Alto doesn't seem to have attracted much interest yet. I haven't seen one on the road either.
  • Doris says,
    5 years ago
    Anyone bought this car? I haven't seen any on the road yet.
  • Andrew says,
    5 years ago
    Hi Doris, I've been looking for a small car to replace a trusty 80's Corolla! I took the Alto GL Manual for a drive last week, and put a deposit on one on the weekend. Came to $13990 drive away.
  • Michael A Buoy says,
    5 years ago
    Hi

    Just read all your comments I have just bought a GL for my partner its all she will need for a daily drive around Casino NSW.
    I drive a A170 Mercedes Benz although it's not a Benz it matches everything your review/verdict gave. Except for boot space and grunt. Enjoy the drive in the Suzuki Buzz Box.
    Michael A Buoy
  • Rob G says,
    5 years ago
    I believe the torque figures quoted aren't correct.

    Other publications list peak torque at 4800rpm.

    A good review. I've just purchased one. I wish a tow-bar option was available though. It seems in the UK there's towing weight listed - though none down under. Would be handy - even if it's only for a bike rack or a lightweight trailer.
  • Rob G says,
    5 years ago
    Wow, $13990?

    Mine was a GL with metallic paint, 5 year warranty and I got it for $11,950 drive away.

    First weekend with it, loaded up with camping gear, 2 people, mix of city and rural, not run in, AC on the entire time and I got 5.2 L per 100 (manual).

    Happy camper.
  • simmo says,
    5 years ago
    Rob G, sounds like you got a great deal, where did you get it from, what dealer ?
  • Jeremy Pritchard says,
    4 years ago
    I'd phoning a Suzuki GB dealer and ordering a replacement DS taillamp unit, so we then have the rear fog function for safety; hence 1 x reverse lamp on passenger side, 1 x rear fog on driver side. Have no need for twin reversing lamps - don't spend that much time going backwardsbiggrinsmile:

    Nice car though, great for tight parking spots.
  • says,
    4 years ago
    1 like
    Interesting to read all the comments on the Alto.
    I have been driving a Piaggio MP3 3 wheel motor scooter for the last few years.
    I sometimes use the wife's AU 1999 Fairmont.
    I have changed my life circumstances and wanted to swap the scooter for a car. This car is to replace the Scooter in essence.
    I looked at a Kia Rio, Hyundai Getz, Nissan Micra, Holden Barina and the Alto.
    BEFORE I started looking I thought the Getz was solid and I had driven the manual version as a hire car many times.The 5 year warranty was good too.
    The Rio was the first out. I liked it to drive, engine was a little noisy but dollar for dollar including the 5 year warranty it was a definite contender. The Auto on road was $14900. Safety - only airbags. Another 1600 for the "works".
    The Barina was only 3 door for the same price - no thanks, but I did like the look. (All other cars mentioned are 5 doors)
    The Getz was next - but the design was the same as I had driven some 2 years ago - boring and outdated. It drives well though. Same price as the Rio for an Auto. Once again - only airbags - another 1400 for the "works".
    The Micra was a "newer" if quirkier package. Nicer inside. Great to drive. Only airbags again !! What the! Price was $15400 drive away. What killed the deal was I couldn't get it out of my head it was a "chick" car !? Weird. The 3 year warranty was a bummer and it had to be services every 6 months as opposed to the others with a 12 month service interval.
    I left the Alto till last as it ticked a lot of boxes - but the 3 cylinder 1000cc motor was not a "real" cars motor. I expected to take it for a test drive and dismiss it.
    I was so sceptical I asked to sales dude if I could give it real world test (for me). Through Heidelberg, Greensborough out through Yan Yean Road (70 max with hills and traffic). On to Doreen and then the open road out the back of Yan Yean reservoir - on to the Whittlesea Golf course (100 most of the way). Back through real traffic, Bundoora, a stint on the Ring Road (100 again) and back to the dealership. Took about 90 minutes.
    They smiled - tossed me the keys and said no worries.
    This car will be used for me and sometimes my wife as well. The front seats have heaps of room, great seats.
    The back it for short hauls only or kids or golf clubs smile
    After 15 minute behind the wheel I was, well, bored ! I was comfortable and cruising stress free.
    So far the only hassle was it is almost impossible to keep the car in D and do 60. It wanted to sit on 80 around town.
    Auto Gearbox - it was the ONLY one to have a manual shift option for 2,3 and D. I love that !! You can really stir those 3 pots into some serious speed.
    When pushed a little I left all else for dead - kinda like the MP3 scooter. The Scoot had a 250cc motor and pushed around 250kg of weight. The Alto has roughly 4 times the weight and power to match it.
    Don't get me wrong - it is NOT like flooring a 6 cyl falcon, BUT if you need to you can take off like a bat out of hell and leave the "average" motorist for dead.
    The ride was tight - and I love that firm feeling - it sits on the road flat.
    Driving position for me was excellent and road noise was minimal - in fact I was surprised how quiet it actually is. Very similar to the Fairmont - which surprised me.
    If you push the motor it does get loud - but don;t most motors ?
    I dropped off in Doreen for a cuppa and show the wife the car (like she cares). I intended to take it to a stretch of rather bumpy road near Yan Yean Reservoir and give it a nudge to see how it performed.
    As I turned the corner into the "stretch" still sipping on the latte, I though - hear we go. I looked down at the Speedo and I was already doing 120 km/h !!! I couldn't believe it. I backed off and marveled how competent the car was at speed and over a rather lumpy stretch of road.
    At this stage I was impressed - really impressed.
    One comment that I read over and over again was it was lumpy at idle - I listened carefully but didn't pick it.
    I was driving a GL - so I did not have a Tacho. Maybe you could see it on the dial.
    The boxes it did tick was
    THE ALTO GLX AUTO WAS $13500 DRIVE AWAY . Yes - the top of the range GLX Yes it was an Auto and YES ON ROAD.
    That ticked some boxes !!!!
    PLUS these were standard - the other DID NOT have
    ESC and traction control
    ABS with Brake Assist
    6 airbags and
    Alloy wheels
    That great - a 4 star Ancap was excellent for a car of this size.
    Whilst there is heaps to like there are some negatives too.
    No day/night mirror
    Temp guage would be nice.
    3 year warranty as opposed to 5.
    But it has 12 month service intervals.
    The motor is a "next gen" hi tech affair that was tested over 250,000 km.
    So I found it impossible for me to dismiss.
    It is around 200mm smaller than it rivals but it is the same width within 100mm.
    This may be important to some but this, like the Barina, Rio, Getz and Micra are not family cars.
    They are all 2 people cars with room for more "at a pinch".
    Overall at that price it kind of a joke.
    If you are after a car for 1 or 2, live in the city but get out on the open road occasionally and want a fuel miser with great safety gear - then at this stage there really is no competitor.
    I did order one and hope to pick it up later this week.
    Summing up - "horses for courses".
    This car serves a purpose - brilliantly.
    So if your purpose is to find a nimble, fuel efficient, comfortable and safe small car for a single person or couple and you have a budget (don't we all) then check out the Alto. Right here, right now - impossible to beat money for value deal.
  • Rena Kladis says,
    3 years ago
    We purchased a Suzuki Alto 2009 model in January 2010 and just when we have reached the 15,000.00 km the front tyres are worn out. We took it to The Tyre Factory, and they advised us with this make of car there is a problem with the rear axle that Suzuki should repair free of charge or recall all of these cars as even if they repair the problem, six months down the track we will have the same problem again. We will have to change the tyres ever 6 months. Not Happy! Waiting to see what Suzuki will do about our problem!
  • San says,
    2 years ago
    Stay away from this car. I had an Alto for 14 monthes, except the motor running well, nothing else are. Door handle has been replaced 3 times, glove box handle snapped, side strips of the back windows were totally rusted, paint on top was fading, driver side airbag cover has been replaced twice. Just don't know why SUZUKI put its reputation on such a bomb!
    • No name says,
      2 years ago
      I agree with San. Stay away from this car I have had my car two and a half years now. Within the first year my side panels (black bits on the windows) rusted and my wheel bearings were completely worn out!!!

      I am now having a problem with the paintwork and small specs of rust are starting to appear all over the car. I took it back to Suzuki this week and they told me there was nothing they could do about it because it looks like a grinder has been next to my car? Is this the biggest load of crap you've ever heard or what?? Worst customer service and they will not be getting my business ever again!

      • Horrified says,
        2 years ago
        On what country did you buy your car?
  • Rob says,
    2 years ago
    Well, I have 60,000k + and it's going well (2009 model)

    I've had one wheel bearing replaced under warranty, and yes, the rear door window strips have surface rust, but it's very hard to see.

    Servicing is cheap, economy is great. When towing 3000k, two passengers + heavy esky in the back, I averaged 5.3l per 100k!
    • anon says,
      1 year ago
      Strange.. I had a wheel bearing replaced also .. Took 5 visits to dealer to figure out where the noise was coming from sad
      Nothing else has gone wrong.
      Now 2 years old .. 20,000 kms
      Averages 6.1L/100kms on E10 (cheap 95 RON) in mostly short trips with lots of traffic lights. About 5L on a trip. Never more than 2 people on board.
      Seems fine up to 110kms on freeway. No trouble keeping up with traffic. Dealer supplied cruise control gets confused by hills and over-speeds sometimes.
      Fun to drive. Bit noisy when revving but not painfully so.

      Overall, does what it was designed to do quite well. Not sad I purchased it.


  • Daniel says,
    2 years ago
    1 like
    What is it like though overtaking on freeways?
Get the Latest

advertisement