Steane Klose | Dec 27, 2008

Subaru’s recent decision to pull out of the World Rally Championship series in 2009 had left our very own Chris Atkinson without a drive. Thankfully, the folks over at Citroen know a talented driver when they see one.

Chris Atkinson will join the Citroen World Rally Championship Team for the first round of the 2009 World Rally Championship, opening up the possibility of a stint at the wheel of 2008 World Championship winning Citroen C4 WRC at more events in 2009.

chrisatkinsonAtkinson has been a consistent performer for Subaru since joining the team in 2005, and his move to Citroen has been made possible by Citroen’s decision to expand its motorsport programme with a ‘Manufacturers 2’ team.

The ‘M2’ team will run alongside the main team of Sebastien Loeb and Dani Sordo.

“We are absolutely thrilled to be able to confirm the Citroën Junior Team as an M2 entry in the 2009 World Rally Championship. As required by the regulations, the Citroën Junior Team will contest at least eight events in order to qualify for Manufacturers' points. Conrad Rautenbach, Evgeny Novikov and Sébastien Ogier will form the mainstay of the line-up, while Chris Atkinson is due to take part in the first round of the New Year, the Rally Ireland, in a Citroën C4 WRC," said Citroën Sport Director Olivier Quesnel.

Citroen is hoping that its new ‘program’ will become a breeding ground for new drivers to develop their skills at the highest level of the sport behind the wheel of the all-conquering Citroen C4 WRC.

"It is no coincidence that we have chosen to employ the word 'Junior' in the team's official name. It is an M2 team which will predominantly run drivers who are currently learning the sport, and their average age will be 22. Our aims are to develop the commercial side which we began in 2008 and also enable our crews to benefit from our expertise. The programme will allow them to gain valuable extra experience which will put them in good stead for the next step of their career," said Citroën Sport Technologies Manager Benoît Nogier.

The Citroën Junior Team drivers

Conrad Rautenbach: born November 12, 1984, in Zimbabwe.

Rally debut: 2001 (Group N Toyota Corolla)

WRC debut: 2004, Monte Carlo (Ford Puma, retired)

WRC starts: 43.

Starts in a WRC car: 16.

Best result: 4th (Argentina, 2008, driving a Citroën C4 WRC).

Sébastien Ogier: born December 17, 1983, in Gap (France).

Rally debut: 2006 (Peugeot's Volant 206 single-make series). Member of the Rallye Jeunes FFSA team.

WRC debut: 2008, Mexico (Citroën C2 Super 1600, 8th overall, 1st J-WRC).

WRC starts: 8.

Starts in a WRC car: 1 (Wales, 2008, driving a C4 WRC, 26th overall).

2008 Junior World Champion driving a Citroën C2 Super 1600.

Best result: 8th (Mexico, 2008, driving a Citroën C2 Super 1600).

Evgeny Novikov: born September 19, 1990, in Moscow (Russia).

Rally debut: 2005 (as a co-driver sitting alongside his father).

Debut as a driver: 2006.

WRC debut: 2007, Wales Rally GB (Mitsubishi Lancer, retired).

WRC starts: 7.

Starts in a WRC car: 0.

2006 Russian Champion. At the age of 16, he led the opening leg of the 2007 Rally Russia before retiring with engine failure. 13th, 2008 Production World Rally Championship.

Best result: 11th (Japan, 2008, driving a Mitsubishi).

Chris Atkinson: born November 18, 1979, in Bega (Australia).

Rally debut: 2000 (Toyota Corolla).

WRC debut: 2004, New Zealand (Subaru Impreza, retired).

WRC starts: 66 (all in a Subaru Impreza).

Starts in a WRC car: 62.

Best result: 2nd (Mexico and Argentina, 2008, driving a Subaru Impreza).

Get the best deal on this car!
Get a great deal from our national accredited supply network. Fill in the form or call 1300 438 639
Name required
Last Name should be a hidden field. Please delete if you are a real person.
Valid Phone required
Valid Postcode required
Valid Email required
Thank you for your enquiry.
One of our accredited supply network will be in touch in the next 24 hours.
Follow Steane Klose on Google+